1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Twenty Years Later  By  cover art

Twenty Years Later

By: Charlie Donlea
Narrated by: Vivienne Leheny
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Lisa Unger and Allen Eskens won’t want to miss this thrilling new suspense novel from the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Girl Who Was Taken! Hiding her own dark past in plain sight, a TV reporter is determined to uncover the truth behind a gruesome murder decades after the investigation was abandoned. But TWENTY YEARS LATER, to understand the present, you need to listen to the past…

Avery Mason, host of American Events, knows the subjects that grab a TV audience’s attention. Her latest story - a murder mystery laced with kinky sex, tragedy, and betrayal - is guaranteed to be ratings gold. New DNA technology has allowed the New York medical examiner’s office to make its first successful identification of a 9/11 victim in years. The twist: the victim, Victoria Ford, had been accused of the gruesome murder of her married lover. In a chilling last phone call to her sister, Victoria begged her to prove her innocence.

Emma Kind has waited twenty years to put her sister to rest, but closure won’t be complete until she can clear Victoria’s name. Alone she’s had no luck, but she’s convinced that Avery’s connections and fame will help. Avery, hoping to negotiate a more lucrative network contract, goes into investigative overdrive. Victoria had been having an affair with a successful novelist, found hanging from the balcony of his Catskills mansion. The rope, the bedroom, and the entire crime scene was covered in Victoria’s DNA.

But the twisted puzzle of Victoria’s private life is just the beginning. And what Avery doesn't realize is that there are other players in the game who are interested in Avery’s own secret past—one she has kept hidden from both the network executives and her television audience. A secret she thought was dead and buried...

Accused of a brutal murder, Victoria Ford made a final chilling call from the North Tower on the morning of 9/11.

Twenty years ago, no one listened.

Today, you will.

TWENTY YEARS LATER, to understand the present, you need to listen to the past...  

©2021 Charlie Donlea (P)2021 Recorded Books, Inc.

What listeners say about Twenty Years Later

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    751
  • 4 Stars
    292
  • 3 Stars
    81
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    754
  • 4 Stars
    206
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    682
  • 4 Stars
    248
  • 3 Stars
    76
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Reads like an abridged novel

Just plot. No character development. No interesting dialogue. Nothing but a crazy plot that gets more and more convoluted as the book speeds along. I actually checked that it was not abridged at one point. It wasn't. First and last by this author for me.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Weak

I loved all of the authors other books, but this one just wasn't very good. It never really grabbed my attention. It was just ok.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing actually

The best way to welcome 2022, a surprising story that I really enjoyed. It’s a shame that it came to an end. Can wait for the next one.

The narrator did an excepcional job!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interest and unique storyline

Twenty years later approached the 9-11 anniversary in a very interesting way. Makes you wonder, what did some people do with the tragedy? Overall it was an entertaining book. You didn't have that "been there, done this" feeling as you listened. You'd figure things out about the same time the leads did but you didn't really know where the author was going with it. Good twists and turns. Only thing I didn't like was the date sequence and the calendar passing real time. But would recommend it.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love twists in stories.

I loved this story and never guessed the ending!! Now I am going to read more of his books.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soooooooooo Good!

This is my first Charlie Donlea book but it will not be my last. I can’t wait to read his earlier books. This combination of characters, including a strong woman, combined with a very strong plot development, deserves a long time in the NYT bestseller list.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent twists!

Love a last minute twist that I didn't see coming! These are the best kind of books!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My best listen in 2022

This book kept me on listening way past my bed time. It is written in such a compelling way that you think you know what will happen and then in a completely logical way the story takes another twist. In addition to an outstanding performance by the reader. I applause you for reading to us the best story in 2022 until now.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nonsensical, irritating plot devices

1) The lead character, coming from a scandalized family, decides to change her name so no one will know who she is. She then seeks fame and anchors a highly watched news program and never worries that anyone from her previous life will recognize her. Apparently - in at the least the first 48 chapters - no one did. Obviously, the millions of Americans who watched her show did not include the hundreds who personally knew her and the millions more who saw pictures of her family. Please.
2) An FBI agent who has been shot through the heart and neck is released from the hospital within 3 days able to care for himself. Come again?
2) The lead character drives from California to New York, using only cash or cashier’s checks so that no one will know what she’s doing or where she is going, and then meets with various people, including an ex-FBI agent, in her role as a newscaster, to discuss an old case. What? Why not just fly to New York since so many people will know you are there anyway? Really.

The outline of the story is intriguing enough that I wanted to know “who done it,” but it was so poorly executed - banal writing, an overacting narrator, and nonsensical plot devices - that I finally just flipped to the last chapter.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept my interest

This book had a little bit of everything. I was pleasantly surprised. I would highly recommend listening/ reading this book !

1 person found this helpful