Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This audiobook includes the first four thrillers in the Violet Darger series: Dead End Girl, Image in a Cracked Mirror, Killing Season, and The Last Victim.

Start at the beginning of the Violet Darger saga with Dead End Girl:

Her body is broken. Wrapped in plastic. Dumped on the side of the road. She is the first. There will be more. 

The most recent body was discovered in the grease dumpster behind a Burger King. Dismembered. Shoved into two garbage bags and lowered into the murky oil.

Now, rookie agent Violet Darger gets the most important assignment of her career. She travels to the Midwest to face a killer unlike anything she's seen. Aggressive. Territorial. Deranged and driven.

Another mutilated corpse was found next to a roller rink. A third in the gutter in a residential neighborhood. These bold displays of violence shock the rural community and rattle local law enforcement.

Who could carry out such brutality? And why?

Unfortunately for agent Darger, there's little physical evidence to work with, and the only witnesses prove to be unreliable. The case seems hopeless. If she fails, more will die. He will kill again and again.

The victims harbor dark secrets. The clues twist and writhe and refuse to keep still. And the killer watches the investigation on the nightly news, gleeful to relive the violence, knowing that he can't be stopped.

The serial killer thriller that "refuses to let go until you've listened to the last sentence".

A pause-resisting thriller series packed with heart-stopping suspense. Fans of John Sandford, Michael Connelly, Karin Slaughter, and Lisa Gardner should get to know Violet Darger.

Buy this omnibus audiobook edition now!

©2017 Smarmy Press (P)2019 Smarmy Press

What listeners say about The Violet Darger Mystery Thriller Box Set

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

29 hours of non-stop action

Sometimes characters get inside your head, Violet Darger is one of those characters. This box set is maybe the best way to introduce yourself to a very memorable character who is always neck deep in action and more than her fair share of sleuthing. Violet is one of the few characters that I have no problem revisiting time and again, having read the individual books, this was an opportunity to revisit her, and once again Kate Marcin brought the stories and characters to life.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

From the beginning book this series grabs you

Sometimes a characters in a series become real to you. Become friends. You begin to worry what's going to happen to them, in each story. That's what happens here with Violet and Loshak. With each story you become drawn further into their lives as investigators and as people. The writing is crisp and inviting making you want to linger over each tale told. Each word written making you excited for the next. Each new story is more in depth with more devious opponents each time. You'll find yourself longing to figure out how they come up with such clever villains. The narration is smooth and dreamlike keeping you completely entranced.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

struggled to finish

im not sure why. but I just never connected with this character nor the stories. I am going to return it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Creepy Good

If you like details, this book is not for the faint of heart! I actually shivered at the details so vividly described. If gore is not your thing go elsewhere. Mystery, intrigue, a little romance this is worth the read if you can handle it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Go violet!

I can’t get enough of Violet Darger and her partner Loshak. Both are incredible FBI profilers. This series is a must read.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

review

the first book was great except the ending, then there was a short story that could have been added to another book, and the last book wasn't even that it was like a teaser. the performance wasn't bad , kept saying gyro instead of Euro for the Greek sandwich,and seme, instead of sem-i . the story is great just needs more like the first one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Verry disappointed

I truly dislike the fact that this is an (abridged) box set. I am truly disappointed because I am not a fan of “abridged” books in any way. If I had known this was “abridged” I would have just gone and purchased the full-length books. I’m sure the performance and such was fine, but “abridged” books are not acceptable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

very immature

Narrator is good. Not his fault that writing and characters are not well done. It feels like it was written by teen for teen

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Thrillers

It was a little too much thriller for me, only reason it got a three star and not higher, too much for me

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gaile Griffin Peers
  • Gaile Griffin Peers
  • 07-18-20

This is NOT the first FOUR BOOKS of the series

The first book is surprisingly long - and the insights into the mind of the killer were interesting. The heroine does have feet of clay and does make mistakes - missing some obvious clues, at the beginning - but that makes her a lot more believable than if she was portrayed as a super-sleuth... It was read well and it was absorbing. So, as far as the first book went, I looked forward to the second... So I was more than a bit stunned to discover it was an under 49 page novella/ short story! OK, I thought - it was very, very short, but reasonably clever so on to the next two books... The Third "book" is a reasonable length thriller - and quite good... except that we were getting nearer and nearer to the end of the Audible downloads by the time it finished... The fourth book is. you guessed it, a 57 page novella... made infinitely worse by being a precursor to the next full book in the series... so it doesn't really finish... but hey, there was room for the first few chapters of the next real book to rub my face in the fact that The Last Victim is really a prologue and not a stand alone story... Yes, I am very irritated - yes, I feel quite cheated. I have given the first book a reasonable review on Goodreads, as it deserved it, but I feel quite cheated about the audible version of the book, because I was expecting four full books - as per the description - not two books with two 99 cent kindle novellas thrown in, only one of which was complete...

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wheelie26
  • Wheelie26
  • 02-15-20

A brilliant psychological thriller box set.

Violet Darger is a FBI profiler, but in the first book she is new to profiling but has a real knack for reading people understanding how they tick. She also has a knack for putting her foot in it, especially with her colleague which leads to some awkward moments. She partners up in the first book with Victor Loshak, a veteran profiler who has a reputation for being an amazing profiler but a prickly partner and as a result tends to work alone. The two of them work through serial killer cases alongside the local law enforcement. The books are very well research which leads to a read that is very realistic, with tense moments, twists in the story line, humour and you get to know the characters more and more. If you like serial killer, thriller, FBI profiling type books then give this box set a go, I don’t think you will be disappointed. It is well read by Kate Marcin who manages to bring all the characters to life, even the dead ones!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Demonica
  • Demonica
  • 04-04-20

WORTH IT!!

Really good value. Inventive and well crafted novels. Audible books are dependent upon skilled writing and a good to great narrator. This has both for me. Has my recommendation and I have problems with a lot of narrators, for what it's worth

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for viki
  • viki
  • 05-23-20

well worth it!!

had never heard of these books before they popped up on my recommended but I'm so glad I gave them a try. the box set is great, definitely worth the money and I will be listening to the rest in the series now this is finished. was a nice change to have a book written from the point of view of a profiler instead of the usual detective. really liked it and the narrator was excellent!