Your audiobook is waiting…

The Uninvited

Narrated by: Sophie Wardlow
Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
2.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A brooding and suspenseful thriller that will appeal to fans of Rachel Abbott, Mark Edwards and Shalini Boland.

Faye and her husband, Hugh, have had a traumatic year. Wanting to start again, the couple decides to buy a large run-down property in North Yorkshire, hoping to leave the past behind them.

However, the tranquillity is soon ruined when Faye begins to awake, every night, to the sound of somebody creeping around the bedroom. She tries to explain it to Hugh, frightened for the safety of their children, Aiden and Poppy, but Hugh dismisses her claims, thinking she is heading for another breakdown.

But when Faye discovers some diaries that contain secrets about the family that lived in the house before them, she starts to wonder if the intruder might be closer to home than she first thought.

©2018 J.A. Baker (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

More from the same

Author

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Milly63
  • Milly63
  • 05-11-19

Weak plot with no suspense

This was my first experience of this author. I try to be fair with my reviews but there is no escaping that this was a long tedious listen.The story is told entirely in the first person by the main character Faye whose intense and exagerrated reactions and emotions to everything throughout the entire book made me think of a neurotic drama queen. I found myself not caring about the characters or the outcome. For me the plot is very weak and the reveal at the end is equally as weak and uninspiring. The writng style is OK although there is unnecessary use of the f word and the author fails to create any suspense. The narrator had a tough job bringing this story to life but I also found the narration monotonous and lacking in any real emotion. The narrator also made occasional pronounciation errors throughout the book which is surprising for a professional narrator. I cannot recommend this book at all and wished I had given up and returned it to Audible for a refund.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful