This title is included in Audible Escape

The Scarlet Letter Society

Scarlet Letter Society Series #1
Narrated by: Marguerite Gavin
Length: 5 hrs and 53 mins
Categories: Romance, Erotica
3 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)
This title is included in Audible Escape

$12.95/month ($6.95/month for Audible and Kindle Unlimited members). First month free for new Audible Escape subscribers. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $26.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

When you select “Confirm Purchase”, this title will be added to your library at no cost to you.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
This Story Is Red Hot

Publisher's Summary

Meet Maggie, Eva, and Lisa, founders of The Scarlet Letter Society. Named as such due to their various infidelities, both physical and emotional, the SLS is their refusal to be shamed like Hester Prynne in Nathaniel Hawthorne's classic tale of forbidden longing. Maggie is twice divorced and juggling three lovers - one of whom is her first ex-husband. Eva is trapped in a loveless marriage and has turned to her young intern and a seductive French chef for satisfaction. Lisa dreams of one day becoming a mother, but her husband has more romantic interest in her footwear than he does in her. Once a month these women meet at their local bookstore to discuss love, life and literature. Through their friendships and liaisons, they attempt to gain insight into the curveballs life has thrown their way and how each of them can find emotional and sexual fulfillment. Over the course of a year these women, plus several others who look to the Scarlet Letter Society for help with their own romantic dilemmas, will find lust and love, happiness and heartbreak, in the most unexpected places. A witty, insightful, and steamy novel about a group of women who have chosen to forge their own paths and must deal with the ramifications of their past and present choices, The Scarlet Letter Society will appeal to anyone who's found their fairy tale isn't quite what Disney had in mind. Contains mature themes.

©2014 Mary T. McCarthy (P)2015 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"In the tradition of Candace Bushnell and Jackie Collins, McCarthy has created a novel filled with razor-sharp social commentary and irresistibly dynamic, complex characters. At turns hilarious, scathing and seductive, The Scarlet Letter Society is not to be missed!" (Kyra Davis, author of Just One Night)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny, sexy, and so entertaining!

Would you consider the audio edition of The Scarlet Letter Society to be better than the print version?

Mary McCarthy is a great writer with a sharp wit and a naughty sense of humor! Marguerite Gavin really mines this book for all its worth. A definite must for those hot,summer days on the beach!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This could be a movie

I enjoyed this book- not super racy and easy to keep up with the characters and their different paths. It ended really rapidly and it would be fun to see a sequel.