The Samaritan

The Carter Blake Series, Book 2
Narrated by: Eric Meyers
Series: Carter Blake, Book 2
Length: 13 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (383 ratings)

Audible Plus

$7.95 a month

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling sequel to The Killing Season, a new energetic crime saga featuring Carter Blake, a protagonist in the tradition of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD detective Jessica Allen knows she's seen this before - two and a half years ago on the other side of the country. A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for a decade, preying on lone female drivers whose cars have broken down. The press dub the killer "the Samaritan", but with no leads - and a killer who leaves no traces - the police investigation quickly grinds to a halt.

That's when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He's a skilled man hunter with an uncanny ability to predict the Samaritan's next moves. At first Allen and her colleagues are suspicious. After all, their new ally shares some uncomfortable similarities with the man they are tracking. But as the Samaritan takes his slaughter to the next level, Blake must find a way to stop him...even if it means bringing his own past crashing down on top of him.

©2015 Orion Publishing Group (P)2016 Blackstone Audio

What listeners say about The Samaritan

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    119
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    243
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    198
  • 4 Stars
    113
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Carter Blake series should not be missed...

Any additional comments?

I think Mason Cross has made it into my top ten authors with this second book in the Carter Blake series. I thought the first book (The Killing Season) was really good and hoped it was more then just a one hit wonder. With this book Cross has proven that he has more talent then just one good book. This book (The Samaritan) is an Excellent thriller, nonstop suspense right from the beginning. It has a surprise ending that I never saw coming and that doesn't happen too often. I checked Cross's website and saw he has a third coming out this spring, I sure hope it's coming out on Audible as well as print. Anyway, Carter Blake... He finds people that don't want to be found. He's been trained by one of the alphabet organizations and is the best at what he does. He also possesses other skills the average citizen does not. Getting in and out of places with out being noticed, self defense/offense, an ability to read people and a moral code he adheres to. He's not an assassin and will not take jobs from just anyone. We know Carter Blake is not his real name but also don't know much of his history. He gains the respect of law enforcement that he works with, he's loyal and he also doesn't want to easily be found. He's a mystery that looks as though a little bit will come to light with each new book.
Highly Recommended.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

from 5 tp a 3, but good

This writing started so oddly I thought I had purchasd the incorrect title. So stay with the introductory chapters until you knee deep in bodies. It holds together well until the closing. Next book neefs a tougher editor.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great action thriller!

What other book might you compare The Samaritan to and why?

I have no specific book in mind. The Carter Blake character has some shades of Jack Reacher, not in size but apparent lack of roots. He also reminds me somewhat of Mark Dawson's John Milton character.

Which character – as performed by Eric Meyers – was your favorite?

Carter Blake. Meyers is the voice of Carter Blake since Blake's portions of the book are written in the first person.

Any additional comments?

First, thanks to Shelley, one of the Audible customers whose reviews I follow, for her reviews which led me to The Samaritan as well as several other wonderful thrillers. The Samaritan is a great action thriller with constant suspense. I have not listened to the first book, The Killing Season, but will soon. I also look forward to the mid-2016 release of Winterlong which is Book 3 in the Carter Blake series.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

couldn't stop listening once I started. moving onto book 3. Books 1 and 2 were sit on the edge of your seat page turners. Great Author and reader alike

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

series is getting better

enjoyed this book. it kept me wanting more. can't wait to read next in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great Cross book.

All I want in a book is that it grabs me, keeps me entertained. Great story!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 04-25-17

Don't Cross Mason

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Outstanding series - character well developed with its secrets that lead to a hunt for one of its own

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Twisted Sister

First off I'll tell you it usually takes me about a day and a half or a little less to finish a 12 to 13 hour book... This one took me 4 days and multiple restarts.
The story was good, the degree of mystery was good, but I just could not connect with the book in such a way that made me care about the characters.
Sure there is plenty of blood and gore, the main two characters get captured and experience the said tic offerings of the villains. The story takes place in LA and I guess the author just wanted to showcase a twisted mind, and a super secret gov. Law agency working with a female law enforcement type with questionable prior performance of duty issue...maybe

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Giving up

There's four hours to go, but I'm giving up after the warehouse scene.. I think there's a good idea in here - But the story doesn't grab me and hold my attention. A lot of dialogue.

I'm bored

J

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth it

This is hsis second book I have listened to and really enjoyed it. My only complaint is that in my opinion the narrator should have used a more rugged or evil voice for the bad guy.