The Royal Ranger: The Red Fox Clan

Ranger's Apprentice
Narrated by: John Keating
Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (820 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Number one New York Times best-selling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, beginning a new story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger). 

Picking up where Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen.  

After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves?  

Best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!

©2018 John Flanagan (P)2018 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Royal Ranger: The Red Fox Clan

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    660
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    654
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    595
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Half a book!

Love the series but this one is somewhat disappointing it ends half way through the story. Not even a partial resolve leading up to the chase book that often comes with the ranger stories. And no suprizes in the plot to speak of. If you haven't bought it yet wait for the next books release before you get stuck waiting for an ending.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Time to wait

If you notice the only thing people can say about the book negatively is that it ends on a to be continued. Lets be honest, when it comes to a series like this it is always a good thing to know more books are on the way, especially when pt 1 is the same length as a typical rangers apprentice.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

this is only half a book.

if you're going to charge full price for a book you should tell the full story. There is nothing worse than investing time and money into a book only to hear the words to be continued at the end. I don't mind a story continuing along in a series but this is ridiculous. There is absolutely no reason to end this book where you did other than pure greed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 12-07-18

Disappointed - Missing the end!!!

This is a chapter book without all the chapters. Was the author not finished with the book? Why publish a partial book? I was enjoying the narrator and the book had enough perils and interesting characters. I just hate partial stories in the guise of a full book. I may not ever choose this author again because of this. This was my first book by John Flanagan. Does he always leave with the story unresolved?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little disappointed

I’ve been listening to this series for over 6 years. This is the first time I thought John Flanagan dropped the ball. One of the things that’s beginning to bother me is the increase of conversations with the horses. I know I know I like some of it too but a 1/4 of the dialogue came from the rangers just talking to the horses! Anyway I’m just not crazy about the way he wrote this one. Just doesn’t feel right and totally made me raise an eyebrow a few times. Cliffhangers ok when you do it right but this didn’t even land in a spot that makes sense. I’m not saying don’t listen to it! But be prepared for a weird ending!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

only half a story

wish I would of known only 1/2 of story I would of waited till next book was out

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this very much.

loved this book very much cant wait to listen to the next one. so awesome .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MC
  • 07-03-20

amazing!

another amazing book in the series another must read love the readers voice also brings the book to life

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Review

Excellent you should always give the title of next book! I really didn't want the story to end. It is the first time there was a continuation.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was awesome!

I and my family love these books. We really like the audiobooks for when we are in the car and we don't have to read it. I highly recommend this book.