adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author John Flanagan returns to world of Ranger's Apprentice in the fourth installment of the Royal Ranger series starring Maddie, Will Treaty's fearless young apprentice.

Will Treaty and his apprentice, Maddie, have been urgently summoned to Castle Araluen. When they arrive they learn a shocking truth: the prince of Gallica is missing - and the king of Gallica has asked for help. All reports suggest that the young prince has been taken prisoner by the dangerous and powerful Baron Joubert de Lassigny. King Duncan knows that sending troops to Gallica to rescue the prince could start a war, as could openly helping Gallica resolve internal convict. But there's another way to save the prince: the Ranger Corps. 

Soon, Will and Maddie are on the road to rescue the missing prince, disguised as father and daughter jongleurs. Maddie will have to use her knife-throwing skills to keep up her disguise, and her ranger's apprentice training to complete the mission. But going undercover is dangerous - and the road presents its own hazards. Can she and Will use all their talents to save the prince, or will the arrogant Baron uncover their plans and put their lives, and their kingdom, at risk? 

Internationally best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating next installment of the Royal Ranger series: The Royal Ranger: The Missing Prince. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques's Redwall, and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones

Praise for The Missing Prince:

"Flanagan builds suspense with well-practiced skill.... Tension increases right up to the last page." (Booklist)

©2020 John F. Flanagan (P)2020 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Royal Ranger: The Missing Prince

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    400
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    402
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    340
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!!!

This is such a great book and I definitely recommend it. I am an eleven year old girl and I have read every book in the Rangers Apprentice series and even though this one is not my favorite it is , as always, funny. I must comment that Will is not has sarcastic and grim as he was in The Royal Ranger. That being said, it did have Halt, Commandant Gilan, Sir Horace, King Duncan, and Princess Cassandra in the beginning. This is a very clean series with nothing inappropriate or in modest in it. Not the most violent book so far. All in all this is a fantastic series and I definitely recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mundane story with a great performance

John's getting lazy with his writing. The ranger books slowly keep getting less interesting and more about detailed descriptions of mundane tasks. Thankfully Mr Keating does a superb audio performance as always.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lacking substance compared to rest of the series

A decent book, but leans more towards boring filler than actual story. As sad as it is for me to say this it almost feels like it was part of a story rushed for a release date, just when you think its about to begin it ends with "To be continued"

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It has it's shortcomings, but it's still awesome!

The past Royal Ranger books have been thoroughly critiqued by the RA fandom, and not without valid reason. They're all good books, don't get me wrong, however they aren't as good as some of the older ones. The Sorcerer of the North & Siege of Macindaw come to mind, in my opinion they are better than this 'spiritual' successor. Nevertheless, I feel that this is a great story worth your time and an improvement on the past Royal Ranger stories.

The chemistry between Will and Maddie really shines through with their idle conversations, especially where Will talks about the significance of last names to him. Their journey through Gallica as well, and when they finally have an audience with the king. Their interaction is great and the characters of the King and Prince are fantastic. Flanagan does what he does best here and he did it very well.
Nothing feels dry or played out. All the characters we meet are interesting, not cliche or unrealistic/flat.

There are some flaws though. The reasoning behind Will and Maddie going to Gallica is a little lackluster, and the explanation only comes when they reach they speak to the Gallic King around halfway through the book. King Duncan doesn't like lending Ranger's out as mercenaries but does so anyway. Only half way through the story does Will explain that they aren't going to tell the Gallic King they are Rangers, rather that they are just ordinary spies. If that had been explained at the start the plot would have felt much more convincing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Didn't Like the Ending!

I am an avid reader of John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice and now Royal Ranger series. For the most part I have loved his writing and his stories and the performances by John Keating on Audible have been absolutely brilliant. But I absolutely hated the ending of "The Missing Prince." So much so in fact that I probably won't read any more of The Royal Ranger series for several years until the series is complete. When he takes a year between books and he leaves a cliffhanger ending I feel it is distasteful on the author's part. He doesn't have to have a cliffhanger ending for me to read the next book in the series. Please Mr. Flanagan stop this practice.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing!!

We LOVE this series by John Flanagan but this one was for the most part boring. It was definitely not up to par with all of the previous stories. It seemed like it literally was hours for Maddie to learn to juggle. Not a lot of action!! Hope this changes in the next book!!!!!! We look forward to it:)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

ONLY 50% OF A STORY

DON'T GET THIS BOOK IF YOU WANT A WHOLE STORY wait for the next book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

More

Make more books love it. it’s the best!lovvvvvve it I mean it so much

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BB
  • 09-10-21

Great book!

Can’t wait for the next book to come out! Really looking forward to listening to the next book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I really enjoyed the Rangers Apprentice series and the Brother Band series and thought this would be another great series. However I am not happy with the endings being carried over into the next book. When I finish a book I don’t want to feel that I “have” to buy the next one rather I would like to “want” to buy it.