adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Interview: 'The Only Good Indians' Are Not What You Think They Are

'I hope people stay up late reading it. That's what every horror writer wants.'
-0.00
  • The Only Good Indians
  • 'I hope people stay up late reading it. That's what every horror writer wants.'

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times Best Seller

From USA Today best-selling author Stephen Graham Jones comes a “masterpiece” (Locus Magazine) of a novel about revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from tradition. Labeled “one of 2020’s buzziest horror novels” (Entertainment Weekly), this is a remarkable horror story that “will give you nightmares - the good kind of course” (BuzzFeed).

From New York Times best-selling author Stephen Graham Jones comes a novel that is equal parts psychological horror and cutting social commentary on identity politics and the American-Indian experience. Fans of Jordan Peele and Tommy Orange will love this story as it follows the lives of four American-Indian men and their families, all haunted by a disturbing, deadly event that took place in their youth. Years later, they find themselves tracked by an entity bent on revenge, totally helpless as the culture and traditions they left behind catch up to them in a violent, vengeful way.

©2020 Stephen Graham Jones (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

Featured Article: Looking for a Fright? Here Are the Best Contemporary Horror Authors to Listen to Right Now


When it comes to horror, there’s no shortage of unique tales. Horror authors have a talent for mining our deepest fears and insecurities, then using them to tell fascinating, engaging, and horrifying stories. While there are so many classic horror authors to explore, this list focuses on a selection of current, contemporary writers whose works are as enthralling as they are terrifying.

Editor's Pick

A horror revenge saga rooted in Blackfeet culture
Recommending a horror novel in a collectively dark time is a bit of a dog whistle. While many are turning to more lighthearted fare, there are those of us who will always lean into the thrill of being scared—even more so when times are tough. But though accomplished horror author Stephen Graham Jones’s hotly anticipated new novel will definitely give you the shivers, its appeal goes beyond genre fiction. Beautifully written, funny, and packed with sharp societal insight, the story follows four Blackfeet Indian men being tracked by a supernatural entity hell-bent on revenge after an elk hunt 10 years prior. Rooted in cultural identity and told from four compelling POVs (all voiced by Native performer Shaun Taylor-Corbett), this atmospheric horror packs a bloody yet literary punch. —Kat J., Audible Editor

What listeners say about The Only Good Indians

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,265
  • 4 Stars
    620
  • 3 Stars
    281
  • 2 Stars
    111
  • 1 Stars
    71
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,410
  • 4 Stars
    424
  • 3 Stars
    153
  • 2 Stars
    31
  • 1 Stars
    33
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,109
  • 4 Stars
    518
  • 3 Stars
    248
  • 2 Stars
    102
  • 1 Stars
    68

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this is the best book I've listened to maybe ever

you can smell the res in this book. you can absolutely feel the allegory wrapping it's way through the pages. I'd love to buy the author a coffee. the guilt, the pain, the savagery, all summer quietly to the conclusion. well worth the credit, and I'll be relistening very soon.

40 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Knocks it out of the park

With "The Only Good Indians", Stephen Graham Jones knocks the ball so far out of the park, it's punching through the Earth's atmosphere. It's that good. The writing is exceptional. Jones makes even the most horrific of prose sound beautiful. But what I love about his writing is how he does a lot with so little; a few words paint a very detailed portrait of what we're looking at. TOGI is part slasher-part mythology-part monster movie, and every bit of it is a wonderful exploration of traditions. Jones masterfully builds suspense and keeps the story moving forward with increasing dread. Highly, highly recommended.

Shaun Taylor-Corbett's narration is inspired and spot-on. The PERFECT narrator for this macabre masterpiece.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This Novel is OK

This novel, while not being trash, is in no way worthy of the praise some reviews heaped upon it. It's a decent novel but it shouldn't be described as cosmic horror as it doesn't even come close to fitting into the genre. Furthermore, I had a hard time accepting the premise. The punishment doesn't really fit the crime and the "monster" kind of makes you say out loud to yourself "seriously?". Again, it's not a bad novel. But it's not really all that good either.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

can't say it's the right kind of horror

I want to enjoy this book, but the rate at which you start to lose characters who's perspectives you value due to their deaths is a major slowdown.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Incredible Prose Amplified by Excellent Narration

Had I read a synopsis of this book (which I would not recommend doing) I probably would have passed on reading it. While the focus of the story is not what I typically find myself interested in the execution and presentation of the story is incredible. Let me start with the prose itself. The writing flows so well and smoothly that I can clearly picture the scene set before me and the events taking place within them. This smoothness also serves to keep the pace moving in what would otherwise seem like a dull moment. Additionally, the author's use of foreshadowing and his long play set ups were high caliber. Not your typical horror movie set up of a camera lingering on the woodchipper as if to scream "someone's going in here". More subtle and nuanced and worth the wait. Even if this story is not your typical choice, the writing style and narrator draw you in and make it worth it.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

BORING

it's too boring and over detailed to even follow. Narration is no good. I couldn't follow it within the first 5 minutes and lost all interest.
This book may be better read than heard.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow wow wow

This novel is gorgeous. Try to hang in there through the violence, it’s worth it. Just gorgeous. Can’t wait for the next novel from Stephen Graham Jones.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

How can this story be this good?

If someone had said that a story about an Elk god, monster, ghost (??) could scare, bring tears to my eyes, and leave me not wanting the book to end, I would've laughed. It does all that and more. I hope there are more books and tales coming.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Damn....

Never done anything but give 5 stars and hit submit but this one is special. Truly remarkable

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the worst but not the best either

This book tries to be scary but never succeeds.
I went through it slowly and laborously.
Yet it isn't so bad that it could be ignored completely.
Average is the way I'd describe it.

9 people found this helpful