Your audiobook is waiting…

The Hunting Party

A Novel
Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
4 out of 5 stars (201 ratings)
Regular price: $30.79
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect....

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, pause-resisting novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge...and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of 30-something friends from Oxford meets to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students 10 years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands - the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves. 

They arrive on December 30, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now, one of them is dead...and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

©2019 Lucy Foley (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Never written a review before but felt compelled after listening to this one. I love a good mystery but feel that it's hard to find one I'm not critical of. That said, I loved this one. Interesting characters that reminded me of real people I have encountered. Good use of going back and forth in time. At the beginning of each chapter they clearly state how many days pre or post incident which I find more helpful than dates. Great narrators. I especially loved the setting... This is a great book to listen to in the winter with a hot cup of tea or coffee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but not Gripping

for the most part I enjoyed the book - while overly long, the narrative managed to keep me interested with the changing POVs - overall it was a decent whodunit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An overload of red herrings

Just average - average story, average narration, average writing. It was annoying that the author felt that she had to include so many "red herrings" to generate tension.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspense novel at its' best!

I originally bought this novel because of the narrator Imogen Church and realized another narrator read Behind Her Eyes which is one of my FAVORITE stories! This was a great surprise. The storyline was great and the characters had depth. I would have liked more on Doug's back story and to see Heather and Doug continue their lodge journey. Maybe a second?? Read this book!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Obvious and too long

The plot was solid, that’s why the 3 stars, but otherwise it was disappointing

I had the full plot figured out along with who done it within the first quarter of the book.

It was also slow to unwind and I didn’t feel invested in any of the characters besides maybe Heather a bit. But not enough.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Old School, Well Done

A modern take on the classic “group of potential victims trapped in isolation” setup of so many wonderful Agatha Christie novels, “The Hunting Party” is a sturdy mystery featuring a crowd of characters with secrets and hidden agendas. Author Lucy Foley has a few of her own clever tricks up her excellent sleeves: this is not only a Whodunit, but also a Who’s the Victim-it right up until the last few chapters, not an easy feat to pull off as well as she does. I count this as a success and will be on the lookout for more from Foley. The cast of readers is terrific.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not Just a Thriller

I think this novel could fit into several genres but with that aside it has a unique "feel" that is very much it's own. The writing is first class and could stand up to many a classic. It is similar in style to other stories but stands alone due to subtle differences. I'm not trying to be vague but you really have to read it for yourself to see what I mean. It also doesn't disappoint and hits every note in the perfect thriller category. Haunting, eerie and over too soon!


Robin the Reviewer

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In a Dark, Dark wood?

Better story than A Dark Dark Wood but man, the similarities are lawsuit worthy. Kind of strange that it slipped through.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, but story has been done before

This story is VERY similar to a book called “In a Dark, Dark Wood” from 2015. That turned me off a bit, that it wasn’t very original. In the beginning of the book you have lots of characters thrown at you with very little description. I started getting lost on who was who, so I rewound it and listened ti the first 5 or 6 chapters over again. Aside from that, the performance was very good and the story enjoyable. It’s got a little mystery, small amount of macabre and a bit of romance -so to speak. Very good.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nothing like "In a Dark, Dark Wood"

I've seen it mentioned in a few reviews that "The Hunting Party" is very similar to Ruth Ware's "In a Dark, Dark Wood", which I have listened to multiple times. It isn't...at all. Well, they are groups of people gathered in snowy conditions. That's about it. This one is a good story, and although the "murder" identity mystery was fairly predictable, it was still worth the time. I liked the narration, with the exception of Miranda, whom I thought was overdoing the "pretentious" thing. My one big issue with it is this: (potential spoiler) The killer wasn't also tried for shooting Heather while attempting to kill Katie? I can't even use the "Well, it IS just fiction" on that one. One just can't go around shooting people and not being held accountable, especially when that same someone may have strangled someone else and tossed that someone over a bridge. Regardless, and since this omission was at the end, I enjoyed the book. This will be one that I re-read soon.