Your audiobook is waiting…

The Hiding Place

A Novel
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (174 ratings)
Regular price: $24.50
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling second novel from the author of The Chalk Man, about a teacher with a hidden agenda who returns to settle scores at a school he once attended, only to uncover a darker secret than he could have imagined.

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang - the betrayal, the suicide, the murder - and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe's sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault.

Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with former friends who are none too happy to have him back in town - while avoiding the enemies he's made in the years since - is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to that abandoned mine where it all went wrong and his life changed forever and finally confronting the shocking, horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister, and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn't the day his sister went missing.

It was the day she came back.

With the same virtuosic command of character and pacing she displayed in The Chalk Man, C. J. Tudor has once again crafted an extraordinary novel that brilliantly blends harrowing psychological suspense, a devilishly puzzling mystery, and enough shocks and thrills to satisfy even the most seasoned listener.

©2019 C. J. Tudor (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Tudor maintains a tone of creeping dread throughout the book, of something lingering always in the background, coyly hiding its face while whispering promises of very bad things to come. In the last quarter, however, she goes for broke with outright horror, giving readers an effective jolt of adrenaline that will carry them all the way to the terrifying conclusion. Readers won’t know what hit them. Tudor came out swinging with The Chalk Man, but this one puts her firmly on the map. Not to be missed.” (Kirkus)

“Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy." (Booklist)

"Some writers have it, and some don't. CJ Tudor has it big time - The Hiding Place is terrific in every way." (Lee Child) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Horror with a touch of wisdom

This is a wildly implausible story transformed into a very good one owing partly to clever writing, but mostly to the superb performance of Richard Armitage. It's good enough to make me want to hear CJ Tudor's next novel, whatever it may turn out to be, as long as Richard Armitage performs it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • cristina
  • Somerville, MA, United States
  • 02-16-19

Meh

The story only gets going towards the end, and then only briefly. Ultimately unsatisfying. Will look at reviews before reading the author’s next

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Interesting Twists

I kept waiting for more horror but by the end I had imagined all the horror necessary! I loved the plot twists, a few I can honestly say I didn't see coming. I didn't even try because the writing kept me engaged and there was no need to try to "jump ahead".

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Big disappointment

Another book about a tragic youth. Some of.these stories are good. They offer some mystery. Not this one. Endlessly gloomy ,never gets to the plot. Loved Chalk Man. ' .The Hiding Place doesn't measure up. Big waste of a credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Confused

So many unanswered questions. The main character was annoyingly surly, by which I mean that was his only emotion throughout the whole book. Some plot events were unbelievable and convenient. I listened to the whole thing hoping for an explanation but never got one.
I did like the idea of the story, and the performance was great!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Please Make This a Movie?!

I just finished listening to this book. This was my first time reading anything from @cjtudor I am very pleased. This was a fantastic book. I love the story, very compelling and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading more of her stories. I have heard her called the British Stephen King, but I think this book is better than most of his books. I really and truly hope that this book is made into a movie or a Netflix special or something. Now I just have to go back and listen to the Chalk Man, and wish it was narrated by Mr. Armitage. I was surprised by the prologue and epilogue, I know that Mr. Armitage is talented, but to change is voice so much that its hardly recognizable is amazing. I am in awe of his talent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Creepy and suspenseful

I I admit I only ordered this because it was recommended by Lee Child. However I could not stop listening. I usually figure out the plot long before the end but, I didn't figure this one out. Not a dull moment. I very much enjoyed the book and I am headed back for another by this author. Give it a try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

The narration was superb! The story on the other hand was a convoluted mess. I was looking forward to this after reading The Chalk Man. I’m having a hard time believing that CJ Tudor wrote this. Avoid this book!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gritty, dark and alluring

had no idea where this story was leading me, which is what I liked the most. I couldn't predict how it would end. who may die tragically or who was even a good guy. great twist at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Reminds me of Stephen King...Kinda

This book is told mainly from the viewpoint of Joe, who comes back to his hometown a broken man, trying to hide and restart things. He starts teaching at the same school he attended and rents a cottage where a gruesome murder had taken place. As the days go by, he gets caught up in the many strange deaths that have taken place over the years and this brings back a secret he’s kept since he lived there before. The girl he loved, the school bully, the weird “pit” outside of town, the gambling money he owes...all of these events join and intertwine together to make this a scary suspense story, and things are never what they seem. Full of twists and turns, narrow escapes and the supernatural. Good book, would recommend it!