The Guilty Wife

Narrated by: Victoria Fox
Length: 7 hrs and 11 mins
4 out of 5 stars (51 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Wife. Mistress. Murderer.

If you were being framed for murder, how far would you go to clear your name?

The debut psychological thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard, Behind Closed Doors and Double Jeopardy.

I'm not guilty of murder.

Bethany Reston is happily married. But she's also having an affair with a famous client. And no one can ever know.

But that doesn't make me innocent.

When Bethany's lover is brutally murdered, she has to hide her grief from everyone. But someone knows her secret. And then one day the threats begin. With an ever-growing pile of evidence pointing to her as the murderer, the only way she can protect her secrets is to prove her innocence. And that means tracking down a killer.

An incredibly taut, tense game of cat and mouse - with a twist you'll never see coming.

©2017 Elle Croft (P)2017 Orion Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The speed is fine.

I don’t know why everyone says the narrator reads too fast. I still sped it up to x1.25. It was a good book, it didn’t blow me away, but I stayed up late and finished it in less than I day.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen!

finished this in 2 days. was hooked from start to finish. the narrator reads a little too quickly but i got used to it after about an hour in. i enjoyed the plot and didn’t expect the ending whatsoever!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wow ending

This really was a great book. The narrator did an excellent job bringing it to life. I definitely didn't see the ending coming....at all. Worth the money. 😀😀😀

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

1 more chapter

This was a good book and story was capturing and held my interest but it needed just one more chapter and it would’ve went from great to amazing

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great suspense, hooked from the start

Loved the plot and the characters. Narrator was a little fast for my liking but I got used to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The Guilty Wife

Finally gave up about a third of the way through. It appears that the writer had a thesaurus handy and decided to make the sentences as long and flowery as possible. I could have choked on the stupid metaphors. However, there is no substance. I didn't like the main character. Narrator was okay, but the words made me dislike her, too.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Natalie
  • Natalie
  • 12-13-17

loved it

took me 3 days! I just wanted to find out more! full of twists to keep you listening!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 12-10-17

A Sparkling Little Jewel of a Thriller

The Guilty Wife is a short but very well-formed psychological thriller that crackles along at a quite electric space. An illicit affair turns into a nightmare scenario for a young professional photographer and her situation unravels at a bewildering pace. It’s full of twists and turns without ever really getting too complicated. It never worries too much about detail or any great levels of character development. It’s a book that I wanted to keep reading and enjoyed very much with a very good narrator to boot.

It’s just about perfect if you want a quick-fire piece of escapism and are happy to overlook a few plot holes that do appear, especially in the last part of the book. Possibly not so good if you’re looking for something a little more deeper and well-developed. Just have fun with it.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-13-20

loved it

This was so gripping listen to it in one day loved it wish there was a second book on it

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sj
  • sj
  • 03-05-20

Dreadful

I could not warm to any one character, they were all so shallow. The ending was ridiculous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 02-26-20

So good, but...

Some of the narration was annoying especially the simpering women. And there was only on character that I liked. It was a really good story but I knew quite early what happened. However, it was still enjoyable waiting to see how it played out.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kayla
  • Kayla
  • 07-10-19

Meh

Always been a bit sceptical about the “whodunnit” genre of books. This story was ok but quite predictable and anticlimactic. Thoroughly disappointed with the whole “killer reveals all in a lengthy over-detalied diatribe right at the end”, cause it just seems like no real craft or complexity went into the structure of the overall plot. The book was highly recommended to me but it didn’t live up to the hype. I liked the setting and particularly enjoyed that it was set in my own everyday suburbs of London, including where I live and work, but that was just a coincidence and not something I could expect everyone to take extra interest in. Again, it was ok, not a long book but heaps of room for improvement!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Prisqua
  • Prisqua
  • 02-20-19

Loved the story

But unless there is a sequel coming out soon the end is a tad bit disappointing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cll13
  • cll13
  • 10-13-18

Awesome!!

Really gripping story! I had a different suspect almost every chapter. Did actually guess the killer but got the motive slightly wrong. Basically kept on my toes until the epilogue!! Will definitely try another of this authors work

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for linda prescott
  • linda prescott
  • 10-02-18

Predictable.

Predictable and a disappointing end. Took 10 weeks to listen too so not very gripping!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jo Wellbelove
  • Jo Wellbelove
  • 05-30-18

great

it was an amazing book it Drew me in every chapter and near the end I was very surprised of the outcome.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-14-19

If you buy one psychological thriller buy this one!!!

Fantastic story, great twist, fabulous narration, honestly my favourite audible listen in months. Completely hooked and wanting to know what next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fiona Jones
  • Fiona Jones
  • 03-31-18

The Guilty Wife

Very interesting read - I did guess the culprit but not until near the end. Enjoyed the narrator - very intriguing voices 😁

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz
  • Liz
  • 03-29-18

Don’t waste your time

Badly written, repetitive and with extremely unlikable characters. The main character is so self-indulgent and irritating that I found myself hoping she’d be found guilty. Complete waste of time and money.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Richardson
  • Jan Richardson
  • 03-04-18

excellent audio

loved this book great story ...keep you guessing all the way through.

well read love good narrator's

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 02-03-18

Yeah... it’s was ok

I mean I enjoyed the book an all that but the twist was pretty obvious as there were not enough characters delved into .... the ending was dumb and didn’t explain everything...
the narrator did well and I guess I’d kinda recommend it ...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Holly
  • Holly
  • 01-29-18

Wow! Finished it in two days!

I downloaded the audiobook, planning to get through it over the next few weeks, but I was so consumed by the story that I couldn’t pause and I listened to the whole 7 hours over two days!! Bravo encore so good!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Marchant
  • John Marchant
  • 12-05-17

Wow

Loved it! Hopefully there will be more from Elle Croft to come. An ending not to be missed!