adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting novel about a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who brings her back to life.

Top 10 Kindle best seller

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her.

1981. When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than 40 years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.

Based on a true story, The Girl Behind the Gates is the raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting tale of a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who finally brings her back to life, perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter and Philomena.

©2020 Brenda Davies (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic Reviews

"Compelling. Poignant. Haunting. Heart wrenching. Just beautiful. Everyone needs to read this wonderful book." (Renita D'Silva, best-selling author of The Forgotten Daughter

What listeners say about The Girl Behind the Gates

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, but a little slow and boring

It wasn't too long ago when unwed pregnant teens were sent away to have their babies in unwed homes for mothers. This is the story of one such young girl who went to have her baby in the 30s but stayed in the home for over forty years. The story tells about her journey from life in captivity to going out into the real world.

The story is pretty heart wrenching at times but it's also long winded and gets rather repetitive and boring. It's worth the listen though, despite it's shortcomings.

-Wendi

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

EMOTIONAL FROM START TO FINISH.

It was a good book, excellent voice acting. I was hoping for a happier ending. I'm not a fan of crying, so if the book makes me cry it better have a great ending. the ending was meh, not worth all the tears I cried, in my opinion.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

What an amazing story of perseverance and strength. I enjoyed every bit of this book and the parallels between the two main characters. Truly inspiring!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tanya
  • tanya
  • 11-28-21

touching

this touched my soul. the story the true story of how so many were treated. I had to stop listening for a week at a time in some parts. Not to lack of interest but due to the pain and anonymity of life of Nora. I made myself finish it and glad I did. wonderful heart breaking thought provoking book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hannah Devereaux
  • Hannah Devereaux
  • 11-12-21

Addicting listen

Narrators accents were nearly all well done. Kit's (the stereotypical fat older Caribbean woman) accent was awful.

But great story.