The Doll House

Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
4 out of 5 stars (47 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The number one eBook best seller! 

You never know who’s watching....

Corinne’s life might look perfect on the outside, but after three failed IVF attempts it’s her last chance to have a baby. And when she finds a tiny part of a doll house outside her flat, it feels as if it’s a sign.

But as more pieces begin to turn up, Corinne realises that they are far too familiar. Someone knows about the miniature rocking horse and the little doll with its red velvet dress. Someone has been inside her house....

How does the stranger know so much about her life? How long have they been watching? And what are they waiting for...?

A gripping debut psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of I See You and The Widow.

©2018 Phoebe Morgan (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A real page turner, I loved this story." (B A Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors) 

"Unnerving and spine-chilling in its sentiment." (Mel Sherratt, million copy best seller)

"Deliciously creepy, genuinely unnerving and incredibly confident, The Doll House is the stellar first outing of a major new voice.’ (Catherine Ryan Howard, author of Distress Signals

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can you say, Drama!

I'm 5 hours away from the end of this book, and it's only curiosity keeping me going now, the OCD side of me that drives me to finish anything I start. These women in this book are pathetic, I have never seen such Drama Queens, everything is blown out of proportion, you can't even get into the story for all the "Dramatics" these sister's throw out there. I'm constantly rolling my eyes and laughing, it's like those B rated horror films where the women in their night dresses are being chased through the woods, their screaming and they keep looking back and finally run into a tree. It's literally like that, I've rolled my eyes so many times at these sister's, some of this sh** is not real life, people don't act that way, or well nobody that I know anyway. So far the story is so poorly done, its kinda sad that this is what passes for good reading. I bought it on a whim because the Dollhouse intrigued me and i was really hoping it would be a good story but it's not, you can see the plot twist coming a mile away and the writing is so bad. Here is an example, on the chapter that clearly states it is about Ashley, in one paragraph you will see this constantly throughout the book, "Ashley hears Holly crying, so she walks up the stairs, and Ashley picks her daughter up, lays her against her shoulder and Ashley carries her daughter back down the stairs so she can wake the other children." Yes thats just an example but it's like that constantly and it takes away from the story. But anyway I'm going to push on and finish this book so I can move on to a story worth my time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Actually 4.5 This was a good book.

As always there will be no spoilers in my review
Ok. I really enjoyed this book. I thought I had things figured out but I was happily mistaken. Nice twists and plot was brought together nicely.
Narrator was Superb 😁

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dragged

I Didn’t like. Dragged on and on. Ending wasn’t worth the wait. Things were described for way too long.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good

The ending was confusing, and a bit disappointing. In some areas the story dragged out, especially in the end.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dragged on and on

I did not enjoy listening to this book, so I just kept it on for background noise.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jo
  • Jo
  • 10-08-18

Enjoyable but...

I bought this book as it was rated as a spine chilling thriller! It wasn’t!!
Without any spoilers it was obvious to me pretty quickly who the ‘mysterious ‘ 3rd person was but knowing that didn’t spoil it!
I didn’t find it at all creepy but a good story about family and anxiety and how it can take over everything!
However the very end was a massive disappointment to me and pretty much ruined the book! I do wonder whether the author has tried to set up a sequel? Not sure I’d be tempted into that!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anita Kendrick
  • Anita Kendrick
  • 01-20-20

Very good funny ending hope there is a dolls house 2

Brilliant book enjoyed every chapter lots of twists and turns great Audible reader well done