The Bucket List

A Novel
Narrated by: Lauren Ezzo
Length: 13 hrs and 40 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (63 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.99

Buy for $29.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the critically acclaimed “lively and engrossing parable for women of all generations” (Harper’s Bazaar) The Regulars­ comes a deeply funny and thoughtful tale of a young woman who, after discovering she has the breast cancer gene, embarks on an unforgettable bucket list adventure.

Twenty-five-old Lacey Whitman is blindsided when she’s diagnosed with the BCRA1 gene mutation: the “breast cancer” gene. Her high hereditary risk forces a decision: increased surveillance or the more radical step of a preventative double mastectomy. Lacey doesn't want to lose her breasts. For one, she’s juggling two career paths; her work with the prestigious New York trend forecaster Hoffman House, and her role on the founding team of a sustainable fashion app with friend/mentor, Vivian Chang. Secondly, small-town Lacey’s not so in touch with her sexuality: she doesn’t want to sacrifice her breasts before she’s had the chance to give them their hey-day. To help her make her choice, she (and her friends) creates a “boob bucket list”: everything she wants do with and for her boobs before a possible surgery.

This kicks off a year of sensual exploration and sexual entertainment for the quick-witted Lacey Whitman. The Bucket List cleverly and compassionately explores Lacey’s relationship to her body and her future. Both are things Lacey thought she could control through hard work and sacrifice. But the future, it turns out, is more complicated than she could ever imagine.

Featuring the pitch-perfect “compulsively delicious” (Redbook) prose of The Regulars, The Bucket List is perfect for fans of Amy Poeppel and Sophie Kinsella.

©2018 Georgia Clark, Inc. (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. Recorded by arrangement with Emily Bestler Books/Atria Books, a Division of Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What listeners say about The Bucket List

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

page turner

I cannot say enough about this book. At first the graphic content through me for a loop, not in a bad way, just surprised. However because of this, I could easily put myself in the narrator's shoes. It was witty, charming and sad. I found myself rooting for the main character, and at one point I was angry with her, just to turn around and love her and cry with her. to top it off, it shed light on a topic that is often pushed aside. She didn't just discuss her test result, but explained it in detail and taught the reader about the dangers of not only breast cancer but BRCA. i cannot wait to recommend this book to everyone.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CS
  • 10-19-18

Great!

I finished this book feeling satisfying and grateful. It was hard at first to listen what the main character was going through, but in the end I'm happy I did. As a woman in her mid-20s I appreciate this story and think other women should read this too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BRCA 1 Postive & Loving This Book

I was curious how they would do this book but it’s amazing in every way. A few things were off but other than that it was perfection.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spot-on take on being a BRCA carrier

I usually read books from more diverse authors, but I had to read this right away when I saw it in FORCE’s (Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered) newsletter. I loved it! Funny, sexy, and serious, all in one. I was a little older and not in New York when I thought about doing a boob bucket list of my own more than ten years ago when I had my mastectomies. I was thrilled to read a book where a pre-vivor actually did one! Lacey’s confusion and fear were authentic. I loved both Steph and Coop and wish I hadn’t listened at 1.25 speed so I could live in their world a little longer.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

😒

appears to be another 50 shades of grayish story. there is even an elevator exit scene. Man what missed potential, it ckd have still been fun and quirky without being a raunchy rip-off. the fact that women in their 20s and early 30s actually have to face such a decision is not discussed enough, the thought that this book would actually provide fun relatable material was intriguing . after 15 chapters, it was a major let down.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Immature and hard to listen to

Not without a few redeeming qualities (a good message on asking for help and relying on your community), the writing of this book is inarguably bad. Cringeworthy at times. Also, could have been the same book with one third the length. Pretty hard to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen!!

wonderful, entertaining and informative story. I laughed out loud often and felt emotional a few times.

1 person found this helpful