1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Book Club  By  cover art

The Book Club

By: C. J. Cooper
Narrated by: Mary Woodvine
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Everyone is hiding a secret. One of them is murder.

The book club was her idea, of course.

It was her way into our group. A chance to get close.

I knew from the day she arrived that she couldn't be trusted.

And I was right.

Alice didn't come to the village for peace and quiet.

She came for revenge. 

A deliciously addictive psychological thriller about a book club that unravels dark and scandalous secrets between one circle of neighbours. The perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Rumour.

©2021 C. J. Cooper (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"I raced through it - edgy, tense." (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

"I for one am terrified of the woman next door!" (Louise Candlish, author of The Other Passenger)

"Tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping." (Sophie Hannah, author of Haven't They Grown)

What listeners say about The Book Club

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent read!!!

one of my favorite books by far!! such an experience! The performance has a great voice actor

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AK
  • 11-11-21

Like a bad horror movie

I can’t believe this book has any good reviews. It’s like you’re watching a bad horror movie. Bad decision after bad decision. Characters don’t even have common sense about a stranger coming into their lives and they continue to be oblivious to the red flags. Do yourself a favor and don’t waste a credit on this book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow this was an AMAZING BOOK

It was a slow start but omg this book will have you guessing to the end. One of the best I’ve listened to!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fun Listen

I liked everything about this book. Great story, great character development, really good narration. I listen in the car and had a hard time stopping when I got to my destination!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping from start to finish

This is the best book I’ve read in a long time. It literally pulls you in from the very beginning, almost impossible to stop. The narrators accent can be difficult at times but the story is so good that it’s worth the effort. A heart churning, racing experience.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Torturous!

A ludicrous plot. Another asinine psycho female revenge porn " thriller" featuring a misguided antihero who in the end doesn't get her comeuppance. Characters who are clueless and/or just plain stupid, eager to trust the word of a literal stranger over friends. The only good thing about this book was the narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Difficult Read

It was difficult to finish. Very slow. Many times I had to rewind because my thoughts wondered off. I just couldn't keep my attention on it. As soon as there was hope for excitement, there wasn't any. Toward the end it started to pick up just a little. I would not recommend for anyone looking for suspense.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

wasted a purchase on this one

I never got drawn in to the story and felt like I was just using it as background noise.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it!

This was a very good story...very original. I did not see the twists coming. The narration was very engaging too.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good listen…ending not so great.

Great characters and story. Narration was good too. However ending could’ve been way better. Feels like the author just phoned it in at the end. But it leaves the book open for a series I guess.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gina
  • Gina
  • 02-15-22

Loved it!

Kept me guessing right to the end, found it really gripping, listened well past my bedtime to get to the end which is always a good sign! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-26-22

not the best

ok read but not the best. I enjoyed the ending but it lost it's way for me in the middle.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicolle
  • Nicolle
  • 01-05-22

Enjoyable

Enjoyed the story
Guessed the motive mid way perhaps but appreciated the final twist
Didn't relate to any of the characters but Id say thats for the best 😂

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melle
  • Melle
  • 06-12-22

Utterly dreadful

I would not have persisted with this one, if I wasn't reading it for my Book Club. It is totally banal, heavily cliched ideas and poorly executed, with very little to keep the reader interested.

There are one or two interesting ideas here but they are not explored. The rest is tedious cliche which unfolds exactly as you expect it to, with nothing new or interesting or clever brought to the table. The characters are inconsistent and some of their decisions ridiculous. The uncovering of one major secret at the end is handled by the other party in a way that absolutely defies belief. Beyond an eye-roll, it's just silly.

Lastly, why are depictions of book clubs so absurd and unrealistic in books and film? This is another example of it being so far from any possible reality of such a group, it's impossible to engage.