Regular price: $21.31

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The first in an addictive fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass.

Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies....

Ruby is a Fireblood. In a land ruled by frost, her very existence is a crime. She's spent her whole life in hiding.

Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.

She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus - a Frostblood rebel - by her side. But with alliances between flame and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?

Ruby will have only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot her fire will burn....

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Critic Reviews

"Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue." (Lori M. Lee)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ms. E. L. King
  • 03-13-17

Great fantasy story

I really love the fantasy genre, but it can get a little same-y at times. I felt like this story was original. I really like how the characters enteracted and grew with the story and I can't wait for the sequal. The performance given by Jennifer English was fantastic, she has a real talent with accents and bringing characters to life.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • NickE
  • 04-06-17

Very gripping!

A really good story that held you from start to finish, brilliantly read, definitely recommended

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lis
  • 09-14-17

Well paced enjoyable read

What did you like most about Frostblood?

I expected this to be your typical YA fantasy book and to an extent it was but it was so well written with great characters that I fell in love with it.

What did you like best about this story?

I really liked seeing the views of the characters challenged and that they were willing to look at things from a new perspective.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I loved all the scenes where the frost and fire magic went up against each other. They were always well written and descriptive.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Fan74
  • 07-19-17

A good listen for teens, not YA

I good story with an interesting perspective and a lot of potential. But where SJ Mass manages to make her books a fun read for a slightly older audience too, Frostblood has many obviously fairytale sequences that make the characters unbelievable and made me cringe.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Melody
  • 11-01-17

Such a good book

Throughly enjoyed this book. So many twist and turns. I was really invested in the characters. Narrator was great at changing and being diverse for each of the characters. The book is very captivating. I can not wait to listen to the next book!!!