Takeoff

Seth Walker
Narrated by: JD Jackson
Series: Seth Walker, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (369 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.49

Buy for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

High-octane action, celebrity glamour, and endless possibilities for danger meet in this fast-paced debut for fans of John Sandford and Lee Child.

Still reeling from a devastating personal tragedy, air marshal turned investigator Seth Walker embarks on his first case. All he has to do is accompany female pop star Max Magic to Los Angeles and deliver her to the FBI. But when their routine flight ends in a hail of gunfire at LAX, Walker has no choice but to take the frightened diva on the run.

After a second attack leaves him battered and bloody, Walker realizes he cannot trust the FBI. To keep his client alive, he must use a patchwork of trusted aviation contacts to get her home to Austin, where the key suspects await.

But as they race to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers, the biggest danger of all may be what they’re heading toward—the dark secrets that Max herself has been keeping…

©2018 Joseph Patrick Reid (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved

What listeners say about Takeoff

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    125
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    105
  • 3 Stars
    52
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This debut novel Takes Off with a bang!

This is Joseph Reid's debut and first novel in the Seth Walker series. This is a fast paced thriller with a flawed protagonist. Walker is a tech wiz, former Air Marshal turned private investigation/security. The publisher's summary sets up this book very well. There are a few parts where you really need to just go with the story and skip the reality check. I don't think that should be a problem for most because there are quite a few well known authors who require the suspension of reality. Hey this is fiction! I thoroughly enjoyed this engaging book. I thought the protagonist was a likable character who has a lot of potential. If you have kindle unlimited this audiobook is FREE to borrow with the kindle edition. Better then some, not as good as others. I can easily RECOMMEND this book. JD Jackson does a really good job narrating. If you found this review helpful please indicate so. Thank You.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seth Walker, man of honor

This book is first in a new series. Can't wait for next one. Narrator is perfect, inflections good, emotionality great. The story of a man with honor, dealing with a young starlet stuck in a dishonorable situation. Usually character's "blindspots" can seem contrived or just ridiculous. Not Seth's. He expects the good in what should be good people, and the bad in what should be bad people. He's not cynical or hardbitten. But he does learn quickly, and what he learns doesn't stagnate..he makes changes that make sense. He's smart, inventive, practical and has a conscience. Max, the girl he's sent to protect, is indeed conflicted regarding her loyalties and suspicions..a teenager. Plot is fast moving and exciting beginning to end.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book from the first moment

Great book where the action starts from literally the first moment of the book. The book takes you on a great adventure with a new group and style of heroes. Highly recommend!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Joseph Reid gives Scott Turow a run for his money...

Well written and would make a great action movie. Reid is a captivating story teller and paints believable scenes especially action sequences. Great read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read .

Kept my intetest. Just right amount of suspense and intrigue. Enjoyed the audible performance too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great Narrator!

I feel like there were a lot of unanswered questions in the story. Not sure how to feel about the ending. it was a little flat. I did like the narrator and it made up for an otherwise disappointing plot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Joseph Reid has written a great novel!

The author has written a fantastic novel, full of intrigue and suspense! The narration is superb, bringing the characters to life!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Narrator

I previously read this in ebook format. The novel is even better with this excellent narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Good guy wins.

I enjoyed hearing this book. The main character is an Air Marshall who tries to do right even when it's, seemingly, impossible. Narrator hit just the right tones.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

Absolutely wonderful. No dragging- however I was left with a question regarding the circumstances of his GF’s death.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carôle
  • Carôle
  • 07-11-18

Potentially Good Story - Told Badly

The premise to this is great. The narration is ok. But the way the story is written is so unappealing to me. If there has been comparisons to Lee Child. They should be ignored. This author is currently not as good as Lee Child, he has the potential but he's not there yet. For example, it won't take you long to surmise who the bad guy is. That's a shame, because it then highlights all the 'errors' that you feel are being made. Also, I really could feel no empathy for the teenager! None at all. So I really only cared about what happened to Seth... I really liked him, even though I thought that some elements of his thought process were irritating! Finally - for now - the author did something that I associated with Tom Clancy in his earlier novels, but instead of guns, it was speaker boxes. I found it tedious. And unnecessary. Notwithstanding all of this, I stayed the course. The last 4 chapters are good. Not brilliant, but worth hearing. So, I hope that he gets better, I shall keep following him, it may be worth it some day!