Your audiobook is waiting…

Takeoff

Seth Walker
Narrated by: JD Jackson
Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
4 out of 5 stars (246 ratings)

Regular price: $24.49

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

High-octane action, celebrity glamour, and endless possibilities for danger meet in this fast-paced debut for fans of John Sandford and Lee Child.

Still reeling from a devastating personal tragedy, air marshal turned investigator Seth Walker embarks on his first case. All he has to do is accompany female pop star Max Magic to Los Angeles and deliver her to the FBI. But when their routine flight ends in a hail of gunfire at LAX, Walker has no choice but to take the frightened diva on the run.

After a second attack leaves him battered and bloody, Walker realizes he cannot trust the FBI. To keep his client alive, he must use a patchwork of trusted aviation contacts to get her home to Austin, where the key suspects await.

But as they race to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers, the biggest danger of all may be what they’re heading toward—the dark secrets that Max herself has been keeping…

©2018 Joseph Patrick Reid (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This debut novel Takes Off with a bang!

This is Joseph Reid's debut and first novel in the Seth Walker series. This is a fast paced thriller with a flawed protagonist. Walker is a tech wiz, former Air Marshal turned private investigation/security.
The publisher's summary sets up this book very well. There are a few parts where you really need to just go with the story and skip the reality check. I don't think that should be a problem for most because there are quite a few well known authors who require the suspension of reality. Hey this is fiction!
I thoroughly enjoyed this engaging book. I thought the protagonist was a likable character who has a lot of potential.
If you have kindle unlimited this audiobook is FREE to borrow with the kindle edition.
Better then some, not as good as others. I can easily RECOMMEND this book.
JD Jackson does a really good job narrating.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.


16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seth Walker, man of honor

This book is first in a new series. Can't wait for next one. Narrator is perfect, inflections good, emotionality great. The story of a man with honor, dealing with a young starlet stuck in a dishonorable situation. Usually character's "blindspots" can seem contrived or just ridiculous. Not Seth's. He expects the good in what should be good people, and the bad in what should be bad people. He's not cynical or hardbitten. But he does learn quickly, and what he learns doesn't stagnate..he makes changes that make sense. He's smart, inventive, practical and has a conscience. Max, the girl he's sent to protect, is indeed conflicted regarding her loyalties and suspicions..a teenager. Plot is fast moving and exciting beginning to end.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book from the first moment

Great book where the action starts from literally the first moment of the book. The book takes you on a great adventure with a new group and style of heroes. Highly recommend!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Joseph Reid gives Scott Turow a run for his money...

Well written and would make a great action movie. Reid is a captivating story teller and paints believable scenes especially action sequences. Great read.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RCH
  • Walla Walla, WA United States
  • 08-05-18

Good read .

Kept my intetest. Just right amount of suspense and intrigue. Enjoyed the audible performance too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

beginning and end are good

It got slow and boring around chapter 6. Otherwise the plot was pretty good and some of the action was exciting. Both the writer and the reader need to bone up on their Spanish, though. The pronunciation could use help, and saying, "Como te llamas?" for "What's MY name?" is inexcusable and caused a few moments of confusion at an important juncture.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

it keeps your attention from beginning till the end. JD Jackson really captures the characters in his readings.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twisty turny and heartwarming

Lots of action, some unexpected. Heartwarming but not soppy or overly so. Worth a read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Action Packed

I really liked this one. No sex scenes and the bad language was kept to a minimum. The deep rustic voice of the narrator fit perfectly. My favorite scene was the interrogation at the end. Recommended for action lovers.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

High - octane Action!

The story runs along quickly while the writing is very entertaining. It made me smile even while I was tense for the drama.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Carôle
  • 07-11-18

Potentially Good Story - Told Badly

The premise to this is great. The narration is ok. But the way the story is written is so unappealing to me. If there has been comparisons to Lee Child. They should be ignored. This author is currently not as good as Lee Child, he has the potential but he's not there yet. For example, it won't take you long to surmise who the bad guy is. That's a shame, because it then highlights all the 'errors' that you feel are being made.

Also, I really could feel no empathy for the teenager! None at all. So I really only cared about what happened to Seth... I really liked him, even though I thought that some elements of his thought process were irritating!

Finally - for now - the author did something that I associated with Tom Clancy in his earlier novels, but instead of guns, it was speaker boxes. I found it tedious. And unnecessary.

Notwithstanding all of this, I stayed the course. The last 4 chapters are good. Not brilliant, but worth hearing.
So, I hope that he gets better, I shall keep following him, it may be worth it some day!