adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or TheTender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of "Brando Skyhorse", the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican American neighborhood of Echo Park,California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over 30 years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery onlineleads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his"indelible storytelling" (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one and is destined to become a classic.

©2014 Brando Skyhorse (P)2014 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Take This Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The focus seemed off to me.

Any additional comments?

Look, it is a memoir. The story of the guy’s life. If I am disappointed, is it with the story or the life? His life is memoir worthy – no question! But they focus of the story seemed off to me. I had many questions about things he breezed right past and was bored to tears by the detail given about some situations. I guess I am disappointed with the editor.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Book

I love to read memoirs, I enjoyed this book and Brandon Skyhorse’s story. This was an enjoyable and interesting read. The narrators voice was great.