We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress Audiobook

The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress

Regular Price:$24.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In what is considered one of Heinlein's most hair-raising, thought-provoking, and outrageous adventures, the master of modern science fiction tells the strange story of an even stranger world. It is 21st-century Luna, a harsh penal colony where a revolt is plotted between a bashful computer and a ragtag collection of maverick humans, a revolt that goes beautifully until the inevitable happens. But that's the problem with the inevitable: it always happens.

Winner of the 1967 Hugo award, this novel marked Heinlein's partial return to his best form. He draws many historical parallels with the War of Independence, and clearly shows his own libertarian political views.

©1965 Robert A. Heinlein; (P)1999 Blackstone Audio Inc.

What the Critics Say

  • Hugo Award, 1967

"Adrenalizing, mind-stretching, conviction-testing...unmatched by any contemporary!" (Theodore Sturgeon)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (5604 )
5 star
 (3240)
4 star
 (1618)
3 star
 (525)
2 star
 (145)
1 star
 (76)
Overall
4.4 (4235 )
5 star
 (2583)
4 star
 (1125)
3 star
 (380)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (43)
Story
4.5 (4211 )
5 star
 (2692)
4 star
 (1048)
3 star
 (334)
2 star
 (89)
1 star
 (48)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    S. Leland 12-24-15
    S. Leland 12-24-15

    library lady

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging even in 2015!"

    By focusing on people this novel manages to stay engaging and fun! This has aged very well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazonian 12-23-15
    Amazonian 12-23-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You don't always get what you pay for"

    You don't always get what you pay for...
    Occasionally, you get far more.

    This is the case with most all of Heinlein's fine works. Adventure with a constant balance of danger and intrigue is what you'll find within this marvel. Perhaps one of Heinlein's most realistic pieces of fiction, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress never once requires the reader to make a stretch of logic nor reality to accept the liberating tale of man's bond with machine in a truly luny fight for freedom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JB 12-18-15
    JB 12-18-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another classic Heinlein with great performance"

    A fun and compelling story of political intrigue in a fairly scientifically realistic future.
    The reader did a great job with the many voices and accents of the main characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Dodd 12-16-15
    E. Dodd 12-16-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Don't buy."

    Don't buy this book, like I did, and I can't it to download beyond the book icon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin 12-16-15
    Justin 12-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic book,"

    The narrator was great, kept the characters straight by the slightly different voices. I loved the story, just not sure how I feel about the ending.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joshua Guttman Atlanta, GA United States 12-15-15
    Joshua Guttman Atlanta, GA United States 12-15-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The audiobook adds so much"
    Where does The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I liked the book but I love the audiobook. I don't mean I like the book and I want to add emphasis. I mean I love the audiobook, the characters, the language, and accents, the families. I listen to it time and time again when I want to be back at the Davis's dinner table.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress?

    The beginning where where Manny introduces himself and the ending which I won't discuss, Gaspadine.


    What does Lloyd James bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The choice of a Russian as narrator adds at least 50 % to the book.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    "The Moon is a Harsh Mistress" - I don't mess with fantastic books.


    Any additional comments?

    Some of the beatnik speak was hard to understand but added color.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nothing really matters Ottawa, Ontario, Canada 12-07-15
    Nothing really matters Ottawa, Ontario, Canada 12-07-15 Member Since 2016

    Rob Thomas

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1155
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    175
    161
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    93
    35
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A political hotdog in a sci-fi bun"

    I did not know what to expect when I started this book. I discovered it contained is a sci-fi tale where the sci-fi bit is really just a vehicle to tell a certain type of story. The book tells a tale of revolution and contains a big dollop of the author's political philosophies. I can't say I found the political noodling convincing, though.

    That said, it's a good story overall, if a bit long. Mike is a particularly neat character and I liked the human-computer team up element.

    This is my fourth Robert Heinlein novel. He is not my favorite sci-fi author, but I will still recommend this book, especially to fans of 1960s’ sci-fi.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 11-27-15
    Michael 11-27-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    385
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    18
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not my anticipated Heinlein"

    I usually expect Heinlein science fiction to have some fun and adventure. While this novel is set on the moon that leads to a science fiction patina, it is really a social science novel. The story has a lot more to do with subversion and rebellion than science. The colonies of the moon are being oppressed by the huge consolidated powers of the earth. The moon is not going to take it any more. This leads to subversive conspiracies and resistance leading to outright rebellion for independence. Sound familiar?

    Even though I was disappointed in the story, I thoroughly enjoyed the performance of Lloyd James. His accents for moon-speak seemed very natural.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Glenn 11-21-15
    Glenn 11-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good read of a classic"

    I first read this book in the 60s. I didn't envision the lead character as Russian. the narrator captures the sense of Russian in the same way ensign Checkov did for Star Trek.

    Heinline is a master of his craft, pulling characterization and differing viewpoints together in a belivable whole.

    I enjoyed it thoroughly and recommend it to anyone wanting a good read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David I. 11-17-15
    David I. 11-17-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb Performance... A real standout!"
    If you could sum up The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress in three words, what would they be?

    Rand for readers


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Mannie was well-developed with a sarcastic wit. He's a reluctant freedom fighter more passionate about his family and friends (including HOLMES IV "Mike") than any political ideology or objective. As with all the characters in this audiobook, the voice acting is incredibly good bringing Mannie to life for the listener.


    What does Lloyd James bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    James is the absolute best narrator I've encountered in many years of voraciously consuming audiobooks. This book is worth getting just to experience his performance!


    Any additional comments?

    Great forward looking political fiction in the tradition of Orson Scott Card, George Orwell, and Aldous Huxley. An intriguing take on the power of individual liberty versus collective organization with an acceptance of the compromises inherent in political change.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.