• Pathological

  • Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder! (Volume 1)
  • By: Vincent Zandri
  • Narrated by: Andrew B. Wehrlen
  • Length: 6 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A collection of Zandri's most popular short stories for listeners who want to get their thrill on! 

A gold-digging spouse who is also a serial killer.... The beautiful owner of a women’s dress shop brutally murdered on the floor.... A sexy dame who shows up unannounced at Dick Moonlight PI’s office claiming she’s about to be murdered.... Two numbskulls who decide to rob a home for the aged during bingo night.... 

These are just a few of the sexy, hard-boiled, and noir tales you’ll find in this first-ever volume of collected short stories by Thriller and PWA Shamus Award-winner Vincent Zandri. 

For fans of Michael Connelly, Robert B. Parker, Mickey Spillane, Charles “Hank” Bukowski, Charlie Huston, Josh Bazell, and more, you’ll want to binge Pathological: Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder and then indulge in your favorites all over again. 

©2018 Vincent Zandri (P)2018 Vincent Zandri

Critic Reviews

"Please believe me when I tell you that it really doesn’t get any better than this." (Bookreporter)

"Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting." (Harlan Coben, New York Times best-selling author of Six Years)

"Tough, stylish, heartbreaking." (Don Winslow, New York Times best-selling author of Savages

What listeners say about Pathological

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good mixture of stories.

The Narrator is the key to any successful Audio Book and you have it here,


With every group of stories some are always better then others but the overall quality makes this
a worthwhile read.


This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great collection of short stories.

Pathological: Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder! (Volume 1). If you haven't read or listened to Vincent Zandri's work - then this collection is the perfect means to do so! Like a high class buffet.
I have have been a fan for quite some time, and the combination of the authors writing and Andrew's gritty narration make a perfect team.
A great read perfect for lunch times. or commuting.
I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

THE PERFECT RECIPE OF SHORT STORIES..

This collection of shorts by Vincent Zandri is awesome! It's my first introduction to Zandri, and I find his work right up my alley. Sex lies & murder, coming right up! I'm definitely a fan of his writing and style, and I will definitely read more from this author. Now to the narrator - Andrew Wehrlen is one of my favorites, I've listened to him before and it's always a pleasure to hear his voice. Definitely recommend it! :)
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Interesting & Different Listen

There are several short stories in this collection and I'm sure you'll find at least one or two you'll enjoy. I enjoyed all of them but my favorites were the ones with Dick Moonlight. I could see it all in my head...in black and white! I loved them!! The narrator did an excellent job and made the stories even better! If you haven't had the pleasure of listening to author Vincent Zandri's stories then you're seriously missing out!

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Some good & others not so good

Some of the stories were much better than the others. Warning - there is explicit language and descriptions of sex in some of the stories. Although I don't mind some of that, I found it a bit excessive. Some of the stories I just couldn't follow or had too many characters to keep up with. I don't think I'll listen to any other volumes of short stories like this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

From the very beginning these stories grabs you. The Dick Moonlight ones were my favorite. The narrator did a wonderful job and made the stories even better.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

From the beginning, this story draws you in. It’s a definite breath holder type of book. Loved the narrator who made the story come alive.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good book

good book, im sure you will enjoy it, kinda a no frills but still enjoyable

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Something different

This is the perfect definition of pulp noir. The story got a little weird--especially in the middle, that's okay. Totally didn't expect it. Really enjoyed the narration. His rich tones and inflections matched the story so well and really pulled me in and kept my attention. The twists, turns and connections continued to boggle the mind as the story lines flowed into the satisfying ending. Absolutely recommend.
This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Noir Story

Good Noir short stories , there is still depth to them and enjoyable
Given audio for my voluntary review and my honest opinion

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 07-27-18

In the end no one gets out alive.

A collection of seven stories from the excellent Vincent Zandri, all read by his arch interpreter, Andrew B. Werhlen, and including arguably the best of his shorts, Pathological. The majority of the others, but not all, feature the P.I. with a bullet fragment in his head, Richard (Dick) Moonlight. All are written in the first person, giving a presence and immediacy to these twisted and sometimes bizarre tales, made even more expressive by the slick talking, lagubrious narration.

A must for all Zandri fans, despite his longer novels being better, but as the title implies, some do persue a more salacious side of the characters, so not for those with more prudish sensitivities. My thanks to the rights holder who, at my request, freely gifted me a complimentary copy, via Audiobook Boom