Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A collection of Zandri's most popular short stories for listeners who want to get their thrill on! 

A gold-digging spouse who is also a serial killer.... The beautiful owner of a women’s dress shop brutally murdered on the floor.... A sexy dame who shows up unannounced at Dick Moonlight PI’s office claiming she’s about to be murdered.... Two numbskulls who decide to rob a home for the aged during bingo night.... 

These are just a few of the sexy, hard-boiled, and noir tales you’ll find in this first-ever volume of collected short stories by Thriller and PWA Shamus Award-winner Vincent Zandri. 

For fans of Michael Connelly, Robert B. Parker, Mickey Spillane, Charles “Hank” Bukowski, Charlie Huston, Josh Bazell, and more, you’ll want to binge Pathological: Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder and then indulge in your favorites all over again. 

©2018 Vincent Zandri (P)2018 Vincent Zandri

Critic Reviews

"Please believe me when I tell you that it really doesn’t get any better than this." (Bookreporter)

"Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting." (Harlan Coben, New York Times best-selling author of Six Years)

"Tough, stylish, heartbreaking." (Don Winslow, New York Times best-selling author of Savages

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good mixture of stories.

The Narrator is the key to any successful Audio Book and you have it here,


With every group of stories some are always better then others but the overall quality makes this
a worthwhile read.


This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

THE PERFECT RECIPE OF SHORT STORIES..

This collection of shorts by Vincent Zandri is awesome! It's my first introduction to Zandri, and I find his work right up my alley. Sex lies & murder, coming right up! I'm definitely a fan of his writing and style, and I will definitely read more from this author. Now to the narrator - Andrew Wehrlen is one of my favorites, I've listened to him before and it's always a pleasure to hear his voice. Definitely recommend it! :)
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great collection of short stories.

Pathological: Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder! (Volume 1). If you haven't read or listened to Vincent Zandri's work - then this collection is the perfect means to do so! Like a high class buffet.
I have have been a fan for quite some time, and the combination of the authors writing and Andrew's gritty narration make a perfect team.
A great read perfect for lunch times. or commuting.
I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Interesting & Different Listen

There are several short stories in this collection and I'm sure you'll find at least one or two you'll enjoy. I enjoyed all of them but my favorites were the ones with Dick Moonlight. I could see it all in my head...in black and white! I loved them!! The narrator did an excellent job and made the stories even better! If you haven't had the pleasure of listening to author Vincent Zandri's stories then you're seriously missing out!

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3.5* - mix of pulp fiction/noir stories

3.5* for story and performance. As with most short story collections, I enjoyed some more than others. I think I least-enjoyed the story about the werewolves, maybe because this story's supernatural element stood apart from the rest of the stories in the collection. Like some of the other reviewers here, I enjoyed the 'Pathological' story best. As suggested by the book summary/description, this book will appeal to fans of pulp fiction/noir stories -- the author does a good job of creating that atmosphere in his stories. I've reviewed Andrew Wehrlen (the narrator) before and would have no problem listening to him again in the future. He uses emphasis and emotion in his voice, making the stories easier to follow; sometimes it seems to me that he over-emphasizes phrases for effect, and it's a subjective preference of mine to be a wee bit more low-key. He has a voice that works really well with certain types of characters/stories, perhaps less so with others.

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TU
  • 08-02-18

Good short story collection

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was s great mixture of short stories full of murder mystery and some sex scenes. It is very well narrated which definitely held my interest throughout. Definitely worth a listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sex, Lies, Blood, and Murder

I have listened to several books written by Vincent Zandri and performed by Andrew B Wehrlen. This particular book is made up of several short stories. I really enjoyed those that featured Dick Moonlight the best. The imagery in these books is really well done. I requested this review copy audiobook and have voluntarily written this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Dee
  • LA
  • 07-15-18

Some really good short stories

I didn't like all of the short stories but I liked most of them, especially those that dealt with Dick Moonlight. He's one of my favorite eccentric PI's so it was a very pleasant jaunt to have these short stories feature him.

Andrew Wehrlen is his usual perfect self with narration that spanned the gamut of characters and styles. Time well spent.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Good Narrator, no so good Short Stories

I received a copy of this book at my request and agreed to review it.
Never has it been so apparent to me that there are two integral parts to an audiobook: The story and the Narrator. In this case, I did not like the story at all, but the narration was very good. It's not the narrator's fault that the material he narrates isn't very good. His accents were good, and the timbre of his voice was pleasant. The stories, though left a lot to be desired, at least for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Cindy
  • Splendora, Texas USA
  • 07-08-18

Lots

Lot's of sex, lots of lies, lots of murder, lots of blood and lots of action in lots of short stories. Fans of Dick Moonlight will get a kick out of these.
I listened to this audio because one of my favorite narrator's Andrew Wehrlen performed it. He can take any author's words and turn it into a masterpiece. He's done so again here.
This book was given to me free for my voluntary unbiased review.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Norma Miles
  • 07-27-18

In the end no one gets out alive.

A collection of seven stories from the excellent Vincent Zandri, all read by his arch interpreter, Andrew B. Werhlen, and including arguably the best of his shorts, Pathological. The majority of the others, but not all, feature the P.I. with a bullet fragment in his head, Richard (Dick) Moonlight. All are written in the first person, giving a presence and immediacy to these twisted and sometimes bizarre tales, made even more expressive by the slick talking, lagubrious narration.

A must for all Zandri fans, despite his longer novels being better, but as the title implies, some do persue a more salacious side of the characters, so not for those with more prudish sensitivities. My thanks to the rights holder who, at my request, freely gifted me a complimentary copy, via Audiobook Boom