Your audiobook is waiting…

Pathological

Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder! (Volume 1)
Narrated by: Andrew B. Wehrlen
Length: 6 hrs and 41 mins
4 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A collection of Zandri's most popular short stories for listeners who want to get their thrill on! 

A gold-digging spouse who is also a serial killer.... The beautiful owner of a women’s dress shop brutally murdered on the floor.... A sexy dame who shows up unannounced at Dick Moonlight PI’s office claiming she’s about to be murdered.... Two numbskulls who decide to rob a home for the aged during bingo night.... 

These are just a few of the sexy, hard-boiled, and noir tales you’ll find in this first-ever volume of collected short stories by Thriller and PWA Shamus Award-winner Vincent Zandri. 

For fans of Michael Connelly, Robert B. Parker, Mickey Spillane, Charles “Hank” Bukowski, Charlie Huston, Josh Bazell, and more, you’ll want to binge Pathological: Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder and then indulge in your favorites all over again. 

©2018 Vincent Zandri (P)2018 Vincent Zandri

Critic Reviews

"Please believe me when I tell you that it really doesn’t get any better than this." (Bookreporter)

"Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting." (Harlan Coben, New York Times best-selling author of Six Years)

"Tough, stylish, heartbreaking." (Don Winslow, New York Times best-selling author of Savages

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good mixture of stories.

The Narrator is the key to any successful Audio Book and you have it here,


With every group of stories some are always better then others but the overall quality makes this
a worthwhile read.


This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

THE PERFECT RECIPE OF SHORT STORIES..

This collection of shorts by Vincent Zandri is awesome! It's my first introduction to Zandri, and I find his work right up my alley. Sex lies & murder, coming right up! I'm definitely a fan of his writing and style, and I will definitely read more from this author. Now to the narrator - Andrew Wehrlen is one of my favorites, I've listened to him before and it's always a pleasure to hear his voice. Definitely recommend it! :)
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great collection of short stories.

Pathological: Collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies, and Murder! (Volume 1). If you haven't read or listened to Vincent Zandri's work - then this collection is the perfect means to do so! Like a high class buffet.
I have have been a fan for quite some time, and the combination of the authors writing and Andrew's gritty narration make a perfect team.
A great read perfect for lunch times. or commuting.
I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Interesting & Different Listen

There are several short stories in this collection and I'm sure you'll find at least one or two you'll enjoy. I enjoyed all of them but my favorites were the ones with Dick Moonlight. I could see it all in my head...in black and white! I loved them!! The narrator did an excellent job and made the stories even better! If you haven't had the pleasure of listening to author Vincent Zandri's stories then you're seriously missing out!

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Short but good

The audio book is great reads there is lot of short story and they will tell the different one. Number 1 it a P I who hears a women running in the hall and runs into my office and then this hot chick. You see i was suppose to give a guy a divorce paper and then i followed her and then i got caught in trap with this broad. But now i got hit in head and tied up you see they wanted money but i did not have any then my gun was gone but you see what happen in the book i am the PI who is in some of the books.

@2
Dressed to kill and i was pumping iron with my buddy and now my x came in ans said i am suspect in a murder and then now i am at the police station and they now me good and then the story tell you how and why i get suspected because i am P I and get in to trouble .

Full moon light
The first night of the full moon and here i go again the grave yard undertaker hire me and find out what and why thing were going in the grave yard you see they say that the people were coming out of the grave but who or was it and was it or the thing going to do damage to any one,

I have found 2 dead at the grave yard and i found 2 dead it the undertaker and the Shepard and then now a couple of cops were killed then out pop there man a English man who was over 100 some years old bu t you see

Well let you check the book or the audio out and then you can have fun with the book

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

This book is disgusting<br />

Hard to believe that some ones mind is this warped and worse they'll put it in print just to make money

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read

Pathological: collected Short Reads of Sex, Lies & Murder was a great read by Vincent Zandri. This book followed some of Vincent’s great thrilling shorts; Moonlight Gets Served, Dressed to Kill, Full Moonlight, Bingo Night, Moonlight Breaks Bad, Pathological and Dog Day Moonlight. I loved reading this great book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narration killed these stories.

These stories reminded me of the old Mickey Spillane Novels. They were did not measure up to them very well. There was no real suspense and the stories were weak. I will admit that in listening to these short stories I got the feeling that they could have been helped a great deal with much better narration.

I was given the book in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3.5* - mix of pulp fiction/noir stories

3.5* for story and performance. As with most short story collections, I enjoyed some more than others. I think I least-enjoyed the story about the werewolves, maybe because this story's supernatural element stood apart from the rest of the stories in the collection. Like some of the other reviewers here, I enjoyed the 'Pathological' story best. As suggested by the book summary/description, this book will appeal to fans of pulp fiction/noir stories -- the author does a good job of creating that atmosphere in his stories. I've reviewed Andrew Wehrlen (the narrator) before and would have no problem listening to him again in the future. He uses emphasis and emotion in his voice, making the stories easier to follow; sometimes it seems to me that he over-emphasizes phrases for effect, and it's a subjective preference of mine to be a wee bit more low-key. He has a voice that works really well with certain types of characters/stories, perhaps less so with others.

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TU
  • 08-02-18

Good short story collection

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was s great mixture of short stories full of murder mystery and some sex scenes. It is very well narrated which definitely held my interest throughout. Definitely worth a listen.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 07-27-18

In the end no one gets out alive.

A collection of seven stories from the excellent Vincent Zandri, all read by his arch interpreter, Andrew B. Werhlen, and including arguably the best of his shorts, Pathological. The majority of the others, but not all, feature the P.I. with a bullet fragment in his head, Richard (Dick) Moonlight. All are written in the first person, giving a presence and immediacy to these twisted and sometimes bizarre tales, made even more expressive by the slick talking, lagubrious narration.

A must for all Zandri fans, despite his longer novels being better, but as the title implies, some do persue a more salacious side of the characters, so not for those with more prudish sensitivities. My thanks to the rights holder who, at my request, freely gifted me a complimentary copy, via Audiobook Boom