Of Fire and Stars

Series: Of Fire and Stars, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (373 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms.

But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire - a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation - and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought - and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms - and each other.

©2016 Audrey Coulthurst (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    293
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    236
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely earnestly romantic fantasy romp.

Overall a fantastic book. The fantasy world is interesting and has egaging political and social drama. The friendship turned romance is handled well and the tension is a slow burn to a beautiful payoff.

Pros:

Sweetly romantic and full of feel good moments.

Tons of political intriuge as cultures and Alliences clash.

Two great protagonists with unique viewpoints on the plot

A well structured and executed metaphor using the protagonists acceptance of her forbidden magic to parallel her coming out story.

is very gay

Towards the end the obstacles grow larger and the tension pays off beautifully.


Cons:

Pacing issues towards the middle

Some characters are developed right before dying and the deaths are sometimes trivial.

Some characters are one note and do not meaningly impact the plot.

The fantasy names get a little wordy and they start to get confusing.

tone is not consistant during some key scenes.


Overall a phenomenal story that hit just the right spot for me. A fun gay fantasy adventure with likable characters. Would Recommend.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A nice change of pace

So many stories with Lesbian lead characters are all about lust and sex and carry a ridiculous storyline that is quite repetitive and boring. Not this book. I enjoyed the change of pace and journey into a new world. This book is about so much more than a relationship between two women. A mix between Game of Thrones and Frozen.... and performed extremely well by the readers!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

A really captivating tale! I was thrilled with the romance and adventure. A definite must read. The performance by the reader was also so very good! Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely story and amazing narration!

Loved this book! The characters were so likable and well written, the plot was thrilling and the romance just way too adorable to handle. The narration as well was beautifully done.
This has earned it's place among my favorites!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So much potential, but...

Let me start by saying, I think the reader did a damn fine job.

The book itself however, leaves much to be desired. The main characters don't feel real and are largerly unrelatable. The romance seems.... also unreal. This overwhelming love that they claim to have for each other is only shown in a couple of scenes (one being the final scene), otherwise the characters seem to be acting on... good knows what motivation, cause it's not love. All in all, I feel the story is too long for what it delivers. If it was about half the size and cut out alot of unnecessary scenes, it might be better (or at least an easier read to get through).

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer Princesses

Queer princesses. Need I say more? Yes? The story was thrilling, the characters were layered and not too cliché, and the performance was delightful.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A delightful surprise

I am very happy to have found this book. It's charming, interesting, and has complex and fun characters. The casual way that bi and queer characters exist in this world is very refreshing.

The narrators are lovely.

Will definitely be checking out other works by the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is everything I wished Frozen was...

There's a lot to like here. The story alternates perspective between the two main characters. This gives an interesting effect were you always know their true intentions and feelings as they themselves work through them and occasionally misinterpret each other. The story creates a lovely dynamic with nicely developed characters and relationships. That struggle of feeling the need to hide, to want to love, and the pain of lying to someone whom you do not. It's a beautiful take on what could've been a typical love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Do it!

Amazing book! I am excited to start the second one and hope there will be more after. I adore these characters and the world that Audrey has created is simply fantastic. Thank god for authors like her. Truly. The actresses are superb, have lovely voices and read the story beautifully. Sweet, exciting, just... do it! I can not recommend this book enough!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Fantastic

Incredibly engaging story with interesting and relatable characters, an interesting well built world, and an addictive love story (though for sure this is way more than just a love story!) One of the best fantasy books I've read in awhile, and one of the best queer fiction books I've read in a long long time