Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms.

But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire - a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation - and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought - and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms - and each other.

©2016 Audrey Coulthurst (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer Princesses

Queer princesses. Need I say more? Yes? The story was thrilling, the characters were layered and not too cliché, and the performance was delightful.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely earnestly romantic fantasy romp.

Overall a fantastic book. The fantasy world is interesting and has egaging political and social drama. The friendship turned romance is handled well and the tension is a slow burn to a beautiful payoff.

Pros:

Sweetly romantic and full of feel good moments.

Tons of political intriuge as cultures and Alliences clash.

Two great protagonists with unique viewpoints on the plot

A well structured and executed metaphor using the protagonists acceptance of her forbidden magic to parallel her coming out story.

is very gay

Towards the end the obstacles grow larger and the tension pays off beautifully.


Cons:

Pacing issues towards the middle

Some characters are developed right before dying and the deaths are sometimes trivial.

Some characters are one note and do not meaningly impact the plot.

The fantasy names get a little wordy and they start to get confusing.

tone is not consistant during some key scenes.


Overall a phenomenal story that hit just the right spot for me. A fun gay fantasy adventure with likable characters. Would Recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Fun LGBT Romance

I can’t really understand why I enjoyed this book so much. But I really did! Even though the characters were a bit simplistic, the magic a bit overdone, and the plot and setting nothing new, I found myself listening to this book almost in one sitting - I was hooked! I definitely think the chemistry between the two main characters was well done, and even though they weren't the deepest characters, they were still pretty likeable. Note: I have a tendency to be much more lenient towards lgbtgi+ love stories, and thinking about it, if this book centred around a straight couple, I probably wouldn’t have given it a second glance!

#lgbtqi+ #fantasy #romance #femaleprotagotnist #princesses #magic #sweepstakes #tagsgiving

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I was enchanted from the start

Few audio books have narrators of this caliber; working in unison to tell such a great story. The story keeps one on edge, expecting, longing for various actions to occur. This is certainly a must read or listen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Soo angry

I've rarely been so angry after reading or listening to a story. Everything after Mare gets kidnapped was so rediculously non responsive. Dena sees everything and has ever oportunity to act and yet she does nothing. Just calmly leaves. she doesnt grab the nearest guard or rally anyone to action she just waits for a friggin audiance. then she takes the time to explain everything and takes sooo much time to rage inside and have magical episodes all the while doing nothing. When she finally does something she takes numorous detours and jerks. then with no reason for it she catches up and sneaks up on them. she has the element of surprise, she has a clear target with no way of hitting mare and does she take the shot? does she do anything? Of course she doesnt she waits to be discovered then has a stand off... a stand off. every decision afterwards is this long drawn out thing taking meaningless detours to reach the obvious.... anyway... spoiler alert.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gay book yes please

Loving it the cute banter between the two mare and deena is adorable. The premise is wonderful and narrators are perfect.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exhilarating

I could not stop listening!!!

I will be buying the hard cover copy to have on my bookshelf!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A horse girl and a magic nerd fall in love

Mare is every horse girl you knew in elementary school and she falls in love with a nerd princess who is basically the avatar.
I really wanted to love this because who hasn't been longing for w|w magic fantasy but I merely liked it. The main characters are interesting but are the only developed characters in the book. The plot starts out intriguing and mysterious and then meanders in the last half. The world building starts out strong and then only sort of goes anywhere. A fun book to listen to once but not one I'd listen to again.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolutly one of the worst books I've ever started

I'm so angry I paid money instead of just waiting for it to be available from the library.
Initially, I was so excited for this book. The main character has a same sex love interest, representation matters, this hasn't really been done before and it will help open more doors for this type of story arch.

BUT THE BOOK IS HORRIBLE. Absolutely dull. No character development, they are completely flat. Like a piece of printer paper. This book was banking on it's "edgy" arch and has nothing going for it in terms of actual quality writing. I wasted the money on it so I have to read/listen to it now, but I've learned my lesson.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

my lesbian heart

I love this book!!! a user on Tumblr recommend this to me. read/listen to this!