1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms.

But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire - a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation - and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought - and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms - and each other.

©2016 Audrey Coulthurst (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: Young Adult Romance Audiobook Series That'll Leave You Starry-Eyed


Some of the best young adult romance books come in series, with characters you can fall for, and then follow from book to book. If you’re looking for the best YA romance audiobook series for marathon listening, we’ve got a list of series with heart-thrumming romance stories to give you all the feels. Get ready to have a twinkle in your eye. These sweet YA romance series will give you butterflies all over again.

What listeners say about Of Fire and Stars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    532
  • 4 Stars
    123
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    552
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    464
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A nice change of pace

So many stories with Lesbian lead characters are all about lust and sex and carry a ridiculous storyline that is quite repetitive and boring. Not this book. I enjoyed the change of pace and journey into a new world. This book is about so much more than a relationship between two women. A mix between Game of Thrones and Frozen.... and performed extremely well by the readers!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely earnestly romantic fantasy romp.

Overall a fantastic book. The fantasy world is interesting and has egaging political and social drama. The friendship turned romance is handled well and the tension is a slow burn to a beautiful payoff.

Pros:

Sweetly romantic and full of feel good moments.

Tons of political intriuge as cultures and Alliences clash.

Two great protagonists with unique viewpoints on the plot

A well structured and executed metaphor using the protagonists acceptance of her forbidden magic to parallel her coming out story.

is very gay

Towards the end the obstacles grow larger and the tension pays off beautifully.


Cons:

Pacing issues towards the middle

Some characters are developed right before dying and the deaths are sometimes trivial.

Some characters are one note and do not meaningly impact the plot.

The fantasy names get a little wordy and they start to get confusing.

tone is not consistant during some key scenes.


Overall a phenomenal story that hit just the right spot for me. A fun gay fantasy adventure with likable characters. Would Recommend.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So much potential, but...

Let me start by saying, I think the reader did a damn fine job.

The book itself however, leaves much to be desired. The main characters don't feel real and are largerly unrelatable. The romance seems.... also unreal. This overwhelming love that they claim to have for each other is only shown in a couple of scenes (one being the final scene), otherwise the characters seem to be acting on... good knows what motivation, cause it's not love. All in all, I feel the story is too long for what it delivers. If it was about half the size and cut out alot of unnecessary scenes, it might be better (or at least an easier read to get through).

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but I did not like mares narrator

The story was great! But i just could not stand mares narrators voice. It ruined a lot for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Good

My first book with girls in love and it was amazing with a well developed plot and storyline. Great set up for the second book and a lot of unexpected turns. Also reader is British like you can’t get better than that!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

A really captivating tale! I was thrilled with the romance and adventure. A definite must read. The performance by the reader was also so very good! Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer Princesses

Queer princesses. Need I say more? Yes? The story was thrilling, the characters were layered and not too cliché, and the performance was delightful.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow burn, but burns so GOOD!

Ah, I just finished the book. The narrators are amazing, they really do a great job bringing these characters to life. It’s been a long while since I listened to such a captivating story. The chemistry between the two main characters from the very beginning was wonderfully written. At times I could feel the true excitement and sorrow the characters felt. An amazing world with magic and political power struggles. I highly, HUGHLY recommend this book to everyone, and I’ll be starting the next book soon! An open ending leading into the next book, but with a solid ending. Might I add, gay friendly and being a lesbian myself it was such a great read to not just have male/female relationships.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely story and amazing narration!

Loved this book! The characters were so likable and well written, the plot was thrilling and the romance just way too adorable to handle. The narration as well was beautifully done.
This has earned it's place among my favorites!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE IT

This book makes my little gay heart so happy. 💜 I absolutely love it!! The twists in the end are absolutely shocking and 100% worth the read!