adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms.

But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire - a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation - and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought - and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms - and each other.

©2016 Audrey Coulthurst (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: Young Adult Romance Audiobook Series That'll Leave You Starry-Eyed


Some of the best young adult romance books come in series, with characters you can fall for, and then follow from book to book. If you’re looking for the best YA romance audiobook series for marathon listening, we’ve got a list of series with heart-thrumming romance stories to give you all the feels. Get ready to have a twinkle in your eye. These sweet YA romance series will give you butterflies all over again.

What listeners say about Of Fire and Stars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    417
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    436
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    366
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A nice change of pace

So many stories with Lesbian lead characters are all about lust and sex and carry a ridiculous storyline that is quite repetitive and boring. Not this book. I enjoyed the change of pace and journey into a new world. This book is about so much more than a relationship between two women. A mix between Game of Thrones and Frozen.... and performed extremely well by the readers!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely earnestly romantic fantasy romp.

Overall a fantastic book. The fantasy world is interesting and has egaging political and social drama. The friendship turned romance is handled well and the tension is a slow burn to a beautiful payoff.

Pros:

Sweetly romantic and full of feel good moments.

Tons of political intriuge as cultures and Alliences clash.

Two great protagonists with unique viewpoints on the plot

A well structured and executed metaphor using the protagonists acceptance of her forbidden magic to parallel her coming out story.

is very gay

Towards the end the obstacles grow larger and the tension pays off beautifully.


Cons:

Pacing issues towards the middle

Some characters are developed right before dying and the deaths are sometimes trivial.

Some characters are one note and do not meaningly impact the plot.

The fantasy names get a little wordy and they start to get confusing.

tone is not consistant during some key scenes.


Overall a phenomenal story that hit just the right spot for me. A fun gay fantasy adventure with likable characters. Would Recommend.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

A really captivating tale! I was thrilled with the romance and adventure. A definite must read. The performance by the reader was also so very good! Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely story and amazing narration!

Loved this book! The characters were so likable and well written, the plot was thrilling and the romance just way too adorable to handle. The narration as well was beautifully done.
This has earned it's place among my favorites!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So much potential, but...

Let me start by saying, I think the reader did a damn fine job.

The book itself however, leaves much to be desired. The main characters don't feel real and are largerly unrelatable. The romance seems.... also unreal. This overwhelming love that they claim to have for each other is only shown in a couple of scenes (one being the final scene), otherwise the characters seem to be acting on... good knows what motivation, cause it's not love. All in all, I feel the story is too long for what it delivers. If it was about half the size and cut out alot of unnecessary scenes, it might be better (or at least an easier read to get through).

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer Princesses

Queer princesses. Need I say more? Yes? The story was thrilling, the characters were layered and not too cliché, and the performance was delightful.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a cute story

This book was such a lovely journey of two young women figuring out their feelings for each other, deconstructing the roles society had planned for them, and finding their own way. The story burned slowly and steadily, truly ending in an explosion of fire and stars. Can’t wait for the second book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

such a good romance

the plot wasn't anything out of this world but the character development rlly was the star of the show

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful sapphic slow burn

Very entertaining! The romance plot was well done, and the timeline felt realistic. Will definitely be purchasing the sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Good

My first book with girls in love and it was amazing with a well developed plot and storyline. Great set up for the second book and a lot of unexpected turns. Also reader is British like you can’t get better than that!