We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Second Opinion Audiobook

The Second Opinion

Regular Price:$24.46
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dr. Thea Sperelakis has always been an outsider. She has a brilliant medical mind and a remarkable ability to recall details, but her difficulty in dealing with hidden agendas and interpersonal conflicts has led her to leave the complex, money-driven dynamics of a hospital and to embrace working with the poor. Her father, Petros, is one of the most celebrated internal medicine specialists in the world and the founder of the cutting-edge Sperelakis Center for Diagnostic Medicine at Boston's sprawling, powerful Beaumont Clinic.

When Petros is severely injured by a hit-and-run driver, no one thinks he will survive. Two of Petros's other children, both physicians, battle Thea and their eccentric brother, Dimitri, by demanding that treatment for their father be withheld. Meanwhile, Petros lingers in the Beaumont Clinic's intensive care unit, where Thea is his only advocate.

As Thea uncovers the facts surrounding the disaster, it seems more and more to be no accident. Petros himself is the only witness. Who would want him dead? The answers are trapped in his brain...until he looks at Thea and begins to slowly blink a terrifying message.

In The Second Opinion, Michael Palmer has created a cat-and-mouse game where one woman must confront a conspiracy of doctors to uncover an evil practice that touches every single person who ever has a medical test. With unforgettable characters and twists and betrayals that come from the most unlikely places, The Second Opinion will keep you guessing...and looking over your shoulder.

©2009 Michael Palmer; (P)2009 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (344 )
5 star
 (97)
4 star
 (130)
3 star
 (89)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (13)
Overall
4.0 (146 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (43)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.0 (147 )
5 star
 (55)
4 star
 (52)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Anonymous 05-26-09
    05-26-09 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    31
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    "great story line; unnecessary love affair"

    I liked the story line and underlying theme. Great suspense and drama, integrated with interesting medical and technical backdrop. But the whole thing was spoiled because of the totally unnecessary, woefully predictable, and wholly gratuitous love affair, between the intellient and wealthy protagonist and bumbling "hunk type" security guard. The "Sappy" love affair sticks out, and distracts from the interest and intrigue otherwise generated by the otherwise intreguing substance underlying the story line.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    psychdoc MN 03-27-09
    psychdoc MN 03-27-09 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    60
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A caricature of a detective novel"

    Very very very formulaic. But the premise of a detective hero with Aspergers is very interesting. Done much more effectively, however, in "The curious incident of the dog in the night." I kept hoping that the plot twists would be more than the inevitable, but alas they followed the googlemap route to a conclusion: Interstate whenever possible, no interesting diversions as that would add travel time and reduce gas mileage. The idea of the experience of sex from the point of view of Aspergers could have been particularly intriguing, but instead we get a blend of 50's sanitized romance and bodice-buster allegorical descriptions that was cartoonish.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dennis 08-07-10
    Dennis 08-07-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    233
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    122
    107
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    118
    2
    Overall
    "A heroine you are really rooting for"

    A plot that nudges you out of your world and lets you look into a window on another. I liked the twist on the lead character and thought the book built a steady tension around a truly sinister plot, whose finnish was unexpected and surprising in a good way. The story is a good one and worth listening to.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brendan westerly, RI, USA 03-22-09
    Brendan westerly, RI, USA 03-22-09 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    198
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not good"

    This is one of the three or four books I had to stop listening to because the narration was so bad. I can only comment on the first half, but the plot wasn't much better than the narration. It seems Asperger's is the new popular thing to feature in novels, and that's fine when done right. This wasn't.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna United States 12-08-13
    Donna United States 12-08-13 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    595
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent story"

    Excellent portrayal of two characters dealing with Aspergers syndrome. The story was not about their Aspergers per se, but instead the Aspergers made for fascinating characters in a medical mystery.

    I do have a medical background, but you don't have to be a medical person to follow the story, although the more you know, the more passionate you may feel about the storyline. Palmer explains everything in layman's terms so nothing is lost. His topics are generally hot buttons in the medical world, often on the injustices of insurance or medical politics.

    My imagination is a lot like Michael Palmer so I love his books. The narrator was great. I didn't feel like he was reading and there was a lot of expression in his voice.

    I highly recommend this book. Fun, interesting, suspenseful, page turner. :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth C. Bryant Washington, DC 04-26-12
    Elizabeth C. Bryant Washington, DC 04-26-12 Member Since 2012
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I kind of want my money back"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    No, the narrator is awful - her Boston accents come across as fake southern, the main character sounds like a robot and I can't tell the difference between male characters - they all sound like she's been eating gravel.
    No - the plot at it's most basic level is pretty good but as it pans out is just stupid. Aspergers or no would it be a good idea to place all your doubts and even your life in the hands of an apparently TDF ex-cop that you've had a 15 minute conversation with? And ex-cop or not would you take your life savings to research the fears of said dependent Asperger sufferer? The whole love-story part was just DUMB. Not to mention the rediculous breaking and entering scene. Um, yeah, steal a cherry picker, cut the glass and then get away with it all? Doctors without Borders? Video games? 100 year old family home? Carriage House? Really?


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Not really, I was too distracted by the voices and love affairs.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Oh yeah. The narrator just about ruins the book.


    Do you think The Second Opinion needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    No. I think the world has read all of this it needs to.


    Any additional comments?

    I'll probably finish it because, well, I bought it. But I will watch for this narrator and author in future purchases. I've read (in writing) some of Palmer's books before and they were - while far fetched - decent reads. But this one really falls flat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LaVonne BRENTWOOD, TN, United States 03-12-12
    LaVonne BRENTWOOD, TN, United States 03-12-12 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1327
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting read"
    Where does The Second Opinion rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Very good


    What did you like best about this story?

    It addressed an illness that is finally getting social recognition


    What about Franette Liebow’s performance did you like?

    She kept her characters in line


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I did not expect the ending, it startled me.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 03-06-12
    Rachel Atascadero, CA, United States 03-06-12 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    58
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    146
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpected twists"
    What made the experience of listening to The Second Opinion the most enjoyable?

    Hearing the truth about the medical profession.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    I really enjoyed the main Character... I found myself rooting for her!


    What does Franette Liebow bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Great job speaking for the different characters, varying speeds of speech, and accents brought this book to life!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The main character's refreshing honesty was wonderful, made me laugh and lifted my mood.


    Any additional comments?

    A very hard act to follow!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joanne Plainfield, CT, United States 04-23-11
    Joanne Plainfield, CT, United States 04-23-11
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    86
    8
    "Second Opinion / Michael Palmer"

    A real pet peeve.... male readers who try too hard on female voices, female readers who do the same with the guys AND......READERS WHO CAN NOT DO A BOSTON ACCENT! DON'T EVEN TRY! JUST READ. Story is not bad...reader is annoying.
    JW

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ML 02-21-11
    ML 02-21-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    20
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "What a surprise"

    I have to admit that when I purchased this book, I did not pay a lot of attention to its bit of write up. I thought it was a guide for second opinions. Well I am so glad to say not only was I wrong but that I loved the book and the performance of it was spectacular.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Leslie
    4/22/09
    Overall
    "Got me gripped"

    I have only just finished the first half, but so far i am gripped. from the start deep into the medical problems and mystery. cannot wait for the second half

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.