Regular price: $24.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Earl of Wrexford possesses a brilliant scientific mind, but boredom and pride lead him to reckless behavior. He does not suffer fools gladly. So when pompous, pious Reverend Josiah Holworthy publicly condemns him for debauchery, Wrexford unsheathes his rapier-sharp wit and strikes back. As their war of words escalates, London's most popular satirical cartoonist, A. J. Quill, skewers them both. But then the clergyman is found slain in a church - his face burned by chemicals, his throat slashed ear to ear - and Wrexford finds himself the chief suspect.

An artist in her own right, Charlotte Sloane has secretly slipped into the persona of her late husband, using his nom de plume, A. J. Quill. When Wrexford discovers her true identity, she fears it will be her undoing. But he has a proposal - use her sources to unveil the clergyman's clandestine involvement in questionable scientific practices and unmask the real murderer. Soon Lord Wrexford and the mysterious Mrs. Sloane plunge into a dangerous shadow world hidden among London's intellectual enclaves to trap a cunning adversary - before they fall victim to the next experiment in villainy.

©2017 Andrea DaRif (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    396
  • 4 Stars
    317
  • 3 Stars
    147
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    483
  • 4 Stars
    231
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    12

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    355
  • 4 Stars
    269
  • 3 Stars
    146
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    18
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great new series!

Fascinating incorporation of Regency scientific developments coupled with believable characters you'll love to root for. Steeped in the historical period, the story has the perfect balance of plot, action and suspense. Fans of Anne Perry, Will Thomas, and Victorian Thompson will be delighted, This is a must read.

46 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic English Mystery!

Excellent story. Mystery was tight and just the right pace for an old-fashioned English mystery. Loved the characters and their interactions. Romance was no more than a whisper of possibility. I so look forward to the next book by this author!

82 of 85 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Tedious

I just could not warm to this book--especially the Earl of Wrexford, the main character. It began with a rather hard to follow prologue, but it did get better after that. For a while it was fairly engaging, till it began to sag in the middle. There are many books where the protagonist is not particularly likeable, yet they are interesting characters, which keeps me connected. I didn't feel that way about this one. I believe the author had some good ideas, and much of this book is a good listen, but I found myself with flagging attention too often, so I finally gave up about three quarters of the way through. I did try to like it, but guess it was simply not my personal cup of tea. Your taste may be different.

82 of 88 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julia
  • Natick, Morocco
  • 10-16-17

Gaslight thriller

Loved this book! Less than half way through I was looking to see if there were others by this author. I'm hoping this was the first of a series. Great characters and perfect narration. Thank you!

42 of 45 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good story, a little long, and a little too predictable.

I enjoy a good historical thriller. This is a good solid thriller. It’s a little too long for my taste, and it’s a little too predictable. Anyone who’s read enough of these types of stories can see where the stories going from the very beginning. Overall because this is the first of what looks like a series, I think it was a very good first attempt. I definitely am going to read the follow up book due out in March

35 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Intriguing mystery with sub par characters

The best part of this book was the set up, up to the point where the main characters meet. After that, I felt as though the author was just parading her dark and moody aristocrat back and forth to prove how dark and moody he was.

I liked Charlotte a lot, but I think she was under used. It didn't seem she could do anything without it being validated by Wrexford. I did appreciate that she contributed, but at the end, it was the Wrexford show.

The conclusion of the book wasn't terribly satisfying and should have wrapped up an hour sooner, it was very slow going and didn't really add to the plot. As soon as Charlotte and Wrexford figured out who the culprit was, the book lost steam and tried to make up for it with overbearing sentimentality over characters.

I don't regret reading this book, but I do regret buying it.

Minor gripe: The Earl of Wrexford is never told Charlotte Sloane's first name, but refers to her as Charlotte in his head. This bothered me more than it should have lol

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bethany
  • PHOENIX, AZ, United States
  • 08-09-17

Great story

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, both because of the author's skill and the flawless narration. Intelligent, compassionate, and learning about themselves by learning about each other. There is more than Knight meets the eye with this mystery

19 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Has potential

I wouldn’t say this is a fantastic novel, but I do like the concept. It is similar to other series (e.g. the Sebastian St. Clair series), but it is lacking some polish in terms of character development in particular. I would read another in the series to see whether it gets stronger.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Promising Prequel to new series

What did you love best about Murder on Black Swan Lane?

Promise of learning more about interesting characters.

Would you be willing to try another book from Andrea Penrose? Why or why not?

Yes, I want to find out more about Charlotte and Rexford's back stories.

Have you listened to any of James Cameron Stewart’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The use of the term man child seemed anachronistic.

Any additional comments?

Hopefully alchemy has been exhausted.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wickedly Awesome

I had to Google quite a number of things, as my history books didn't contain all the rich data of this era. It's well written, and, by my Googling, seems well researched and accurate for the timeframe.

I learned quite a lot, simply by listening to this tale of murder, drama, deceit, & scandal.
Wonderful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful