adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Gary Burns thought he’d created a masterpiece. Instead, he’d created a prison for his friends - and himself.

Gary Burns just wanted to create the greatest RPG campaign of his gaming career. But a freak magical accident sucks him into the very world he created - as himself.

Surrounded by heroes who look and sound like his friends, Gary is forced to play out the story he wrote. Worthless in a fight, Gary must prove himself valuable even if it means feeding the team insider knowledge.

Because he needs to keep his friends close - and himself alive - until he can solve the puzzle he never designed: how to get everyone back home.

Metagamer Chronicles puts the RPG into LitRPG, taking the ever-growing GameLit genre back to its tabletop roots. If you miss the rattle of dice and gaming at a table with your friends, the Metagamer Chronicles are what you've been craving. Fans of Dungeons and Dragons and old TSR novels will love Metagamer Chronicles.

©2018 Xavier P. Hunter (P)2020 Xavier P. Hunter

What listeners say about Metagamer Chronicles

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh, Rather Watch a Twitch Stream

This book isn't very exciting. The premise is a GM of DnD game gets put in his own campaign. He then decides he "just wants to tag along".

So for the first few HOURS of the book it is just him walking behind everyone and talking to himself in his head going "Hmmm I wonder how they will handle this!?" over and over... Then finally something exciting happens!!! Well, then it is ruined because the party is stupid, like dumber than a 5th grader stupid. So the MC decides to save them by giving them some life saving info so they wont die and have a party wipe. Then after he saves their lives and earns them hundreds of gold.... they are ungrateful dicks and continue to treat him like their btch (not exaggerating on that) and he just takes it like one. They treat the wolf pup better than him, to his face and he just goes "OK"......... Sigh. The MC then continues to be lame and mediocre for the next 4 hours, the side characters are STILL annoying as all hell, not to mention uninteresting and dumb (like just do dumb things for no logical reason and even contradictory to common sense), and at about 9ish hours in I just stopped listening because it is so boring.

I really feel that this was someones real life and not that great DnD game that they decided to turn into a book. At no point in this book was I worried about the group, did I feel like they had something they needed to overcome. They either steamrolled through situations or acted like idiots just so that the MC could show how "useful" he is by giving them inside information. It feel like the Author in those situations purposefully dumbed down the party members so that the MC could "shine". If you want to read a story that has actual adventure, this isn't it. There is never a sense of danger because the MC can just give the answer. Hard pass on this, I will be getting my credit back.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this was amazing to say the least

the ending was perfect and everything that happened in-between was fantastic I hope to see more sometime

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

wish there were more

if you are into heavy role playing dungeons and dragons or even just familiar with it the way i am. this book will keep you listening and entertained Naramore does very well in his performance of this title.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I wouldn't want to get sucked I to my campaign hah

Really makes me think if Crafting a violent world of monsters fighting massive wars and fighting to survive was really the best use of world building. Metagamer chronicles is a the dream of any D&D player or GM and executes it's self flawlessly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the greatest love story ever told

I said what I said! listen to the whole book in you'll understand. I guess they want me to put spoilers?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good

Imaginative and well thought out. it is quite annoying how many times the character sheet was read out even for the smallest change to a single stat or EXP. The ending was nice and well told.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I’ve ever read! Listen and learn!

Listen and learn what it is to be a true metagamer and live in another world. It may not be what you envision, but it sure gives a look into what it would be like to be transported into another realm. To the author, Xavier P Hunter, thank you for sharing your vision.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

This was way better than I expected it to be, and worth way more than the single credit I paid for it. It's about 5:30am (I've been listening while pulling an all-nighter), so I'm a bit too drowsy to write that much of a review, but this book definitely deserves a glowing one. I'm not going to say it was the best story I've ever heard, but I found it engaging, relatable, and interesting at every turn. The ending was predictable, but not in any way that took away from how satisfying it was.

On top of a solid story and characters for whom I'd developed a fondness, the narration was quite well done. Kudos to Mikael for the bits of singing, too. While singing isn't necessarily his strong suit, I think the book would have been just a touch weaker without those bits.

Needless to say, I strongly recommend this book - especially if you've only got one credit to hold you over for a bit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book series of all time.

That is how I want a dnd game session to be in real life to play out.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interesting Idea, Poor Execution

The narrator was what kept me listening to the story, they were that good. Unfortunately I was having to force myself to keep listening to the story.

It had all the aspects that I usually enjoy in a story, but I could never really get myself to connect with the characters and kept finding myself bored, and uninterested.

I was only able the finish the first book in the pack and a third through the second before I stopped forcing myself to listen.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for fred dredd
  • fred dredd
  • 03-16-20

Enjoyable D and romp

I have to admit that I am quite new to the litrpg genre and wasn't sure if it would work but it fits this series so well. The story line is engaging and the humour shines through the whole book. Well worth reading.