Love on Lexington Avenue

The Central Park Pact
Narrated by: Tim Paige, Virginia Rose
Series: The Central Park Pact, Book 2
Length: 7 hrs and 28 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (77 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Lauren Layne comes the second delightfully charming installment in the Central Park Pact series, following a young widow whose newfound cynicism about love is challenged by a sexy, rough-around-the-edges contractor.

There’s never a bad time to fall in love in the city, right? Wrong. According to the recently widowed Claire Hayes, it’s very, very wrong. In fact, after finding out her late husband was a liar and a cheat, Claire’s convinced there’s never a good time for romantic notions. Determined to rid her home of anything that reminds her of her philandering husband, Claire sets out to redesign her entire Upper East Side brownstone and make it her own. But when she meets gruff and often-cantankerous contractor Scott Turner and realizes not all men are scumbags, Claire must decide if she’s ready to risk her heart again.

Scott needs a change of pace from the corporate offices and swanky hotels he’s been building lately and bluntly makes it clear to Claire that he only took on her house for that reason, adding that he has no patience for a pampered, damaged princess on his job site. But when long work days soon turn into even longer nights, their mutual wariness morphs into something more complicated - a grudging respect, and maybe even attraction? Scott knows he’s not one to settle down, but then why can’t he bring himself to put the finishing touches on Claire’s house and move on to the next job?

Filled with laugh-out-loud scenes that blend perfectly with the touching friendships Layne brings to life on the page, this “hugely entertaining” (USA Today) novel is perfect for fans of Lauren Weisberger.

©2019 Lauren Layne (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about Love on Lexington Avenue

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I loved Claire and Scott's story. This was cute and emotional with some steamy moments thrown into the mix. This group of friends have completely won me over. While I loved Naomi and Oliver, I have to say I think Claire and Scott have taken over as my favorite. I can not wait to see what comes next. Absolutely a must read/listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Claire's turn

This is the second book in the Central Park Pact but can be a stand a lone story since everything is explained from the first book.
Claire needs to have her home renovated to her liking after her cheating husband died. Scott is a friend of a friend who is recommended for the job. Both have been cheated on and don't want a relationship. As they spend more time together on the renovation, they start having feelings for each other even though they don't want to and their friends warn them not to get involved so they don't get hurt. Lauren Layne always writes wonderful stories and I like how this one evolves. I thought Tim Paige and Virginia Rose did a fantastic narration of the book and brought Claire and Scott to life for me. I'm anxiously waiting for Audrey's story next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love It

I feel in love with Clare and Scott before the first chapter. Another lifetime movie.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So corny and predictable.

This book made me want to cringe. The characters were not likeable at all. Very Sophomoric. Spare yourself the time.