Regular price: $5.69

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Faye Kellerman delivers an electrifying crime novel of suspense as a young man's obsessive investigation into his sister's death draws him into the path of a sadistic serial killer.

He went searching for the truth. Now a killer has found him.

The more you know, the more there is to fear....

Three years ago, 15-year-old Ellen Vicksburg went missing in the quiet town of River Remez, New Mexico. Ellen was kind, studious, and universally liked. Her younger brother, Ben, could imagine nothing worse than never knowing what happened to her - until, on the first anniversary of her death, he found her body in a shallow grave by the river's edge.

Ben, now 17, is relentlessly driven to find answers to Ellen's homicide. Police believe she was the victim of a psychopath known as the Demon. But Ben's analytical mind sees patterns that don't fit, tiny threads and clues that are derived from other unsolved murders he has researched. Despite his all-consuming push for a real solution to the crime, Ben has hit a wall until he gains an unlikely ally - the school's popular new girl, Ro Majors, who has secrets of her own. As the body count rises, a picture emerges of an adversary who is as cunning and methodical as he is deadly. And uncovering the truth may not be enough to keep Ben, Ro, and their loved ones safe from a twisted and fixated killer who has nothing left to lose.

©2017 Plot Line, Inc. (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Young adult. Simplistic. Central character too perfect, no tension, too obvious girl, the teens are not monitored by parents (i.e. Mom lets girl stay in boyʻs bedroom for two hours with door closed - what?) Not what I expected from Kellerman. Wonʻt buy the next two.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 10-02-17

I'm enjoying this novel, but wait until...

October 17, 2017 when all three parts will be available. The full book will also be released on that date.

Part 1 reads like a Young Adult (YA)/teen novel which is fine with me because I really like the genre. The protagonists are both 17 years old. I strongly suspect the YA nature of the novel will not change in Parts 2 & 3. Listeners who do mot like YA fiction probably will not enjoy this novel. Fans of Kellerman's Decker & Lazarus series will likely enjoy Killing Season.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Better for younger audience

The story was intriguing, but all the teenage angst was not interesting to me. I think a younger reader could relate to the book more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Young adult fiction

I didn't realize this was young adult fiction genre--very simple, uncomplicated-an ok listen but not much of a story for adult population

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • Flower Mound, TX, United States
  • 09-23-17

Better then imagined

The narrator is absolutely WONDERFUL and I hope does not change in the next 2 parts. The main character...Ben...is a wonderful character and the narrator makes him more so. I am completely enjoying this book and cannot wait..even though I am not done with Part 1...for the rest in the hopes Faye does not change the narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mixed bag...

I'm amazed at some of the interpersonal details. The character of Ro is a horrible example of a teenage girl. She has no integrity. If a teenage boy wanted to use me for "arm candy" and screw around with two other girls at the same time, he'd be history FAST. I have no respect for her and, I have serious reservations about Ben being complicit in that. If Ro is so smart and gorgeous, she doesn't need to settle for this foolishness. The mystery, in the final third of Part I, is totally overshadowed by this foolishness. I'm also insulted that she's constantly unable to drive because she's angry/sad/otherwise incapacitated by hysteria. She's no heroine.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Fun!

I teach high school English so perhaps that’s what draws me to these characters. Also, Faye Kellerman makes me feel every ache their young hearts experience. Plus, the suspense of the main mystery is quite compelling. If you were able to enter into the lives of the quirky middle schoolers of Stranger Things or the young leads of Twilight and you also love suspense, you’ll want to hop right on board to help this cast of characters catch a killer! (I am saving part 3 because I don’t want this case to be over so soon!)

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

5 hours to go and I want to kill my self boring boring boring boringness bored

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Part 1

This is one of the best books I have listened to in a long while. The story keeps you guessing and makes you want Part 2 right away. Hope you enjoy this as much as I have

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poorly written

For teenagers?? The dialogue is bad. Very ... basic. Narrator weird! His voices are odd and silly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful