Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the "sparkling and impish" (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime.

The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama, but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be those of Tommy Burke - a former lover of two different inhabitants - the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.

In this darkly comic, touching and, at times, heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters and explore - with searing honesty - the complexities and contradictions that make us human.

©2016 Graham Norton and Hodder & Stoughton (P)2017 Simon and Schuster Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rani
  • Henderson, NV, United States
  • 11-01-17

Sublime, Simply Sublime and Dripping with Cynicism

I love Graham Norton. I loved “The Casual Vacancy.” So how could I not love this book. Then to have Graham narrate it was exquisite.

I loved the story. I loved the twists. Small town happenings that reveal the seedy side of human interaction and dysfunction all wrapped up in a murder mystery. What’s not to love? So well done!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Deborah
  • HOUSTON, TX, United States
  • 09-20-17

Very enjoyable

If you could sum up Holding in three words, what would they be?

Old fashioned mystery

What did you like best about this story?

Interesting setting and characters each of whom are totally relatable, Graham Norton is a keen observer of human behavior. For the most part, he avoided the clichés of the modern detective novel such as gory forensics and a flawed but impossibly bright detective who solves the mystery in the last page. It's also a welcome relief from the Scandinavian noir mysteries with their gratuitous sexual violence.

What does Graham Norton bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He's a great narrator- he knows how to tell a story in the usual Irish tradition.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No, but I imagine there may be some triggers for overweight people, victims of sexual abuse. As a single woman, I did not care for the depiction of the spinster sisters, but it didn't offend me.

Any additional comments?

I will look for Graham Norton's other books! I understand his next novel will not be a mystery.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

Fresh and original. I loved the sense of place, loveable and not so loveable characters, and a plot that did not cheat the reader. Graham Norton is very much in command, writing with humor and great literary talent. I will recommend this book highly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent mystery in a small town...

I really enjoyed this book. An original mystery in a small town....I haven't heard something like this in a while....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pleased!

Very happy finding this novel. Had no idea Graham was a writer. Was looking for something light but interesting and found this book.
Thoroughly enjoyed the story for which Graham narrated it so very well. Not a surprise knowing his comedic and bubbly personality.
Enjoyed every minute of it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

it was a great listen. I was captivated the entire time. Graham is a wonderful story teller.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Myra
  • Pasco, WA, USA
  • 04-01-18

Loved it!

Okay, I will admit that I initially was drawn to this book because I am a huge Graham Norton fan, but was not sure what to expect from a novel. Sorry Graham. Having said that, I don't know why he has be fiddling around with TV all these years when this author was trapped inside!

Holding is well written and builds all characters just enough to keep you going and the narration is AWESOME! A few days later, you will be wondering what the characters have been getting up to since you stopped listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loooooved this book!!!!!

So enjoyable. And Graham Norton is OUTSTANDING in his reading. I think it’s the best book I’ve read on Audible. The story and the presentation were both 10 star!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

I loved this book. I found it to be an enjoyable and engaging small town mystery. The real treat was the wonderful characters who were both funny and touching. Graham Norton reading the story made it even better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please Mr. Norton!

Excellent story, captures the complexity of life, love and human interaction. All with a sly and witty dialogue.