Your audiobook is waiting…

Grace After Henry

Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart
This Story Is Sweet

Publisher's Summary

A quirky love story set in Dublin that's perfect for fans of PS, I Love You and Jojo Moyes, Grace After Henry is a funny, heartfelt debut novel about one woman learning what it means to move on and to let go.

"A poignant love story . . . Bittersweet and charming, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes." (Shelf Awareness

When the love of her life, Henry, is killed in a freak biking accident, Grace feels like she's lost her own shadow. In his absence, she must put her world back together: she moves into the Dublin dream house they bought together, she returns to work as a chef, she watches TV with her nosy elderly neighbor. But, through it all, she's ever aware of the growing Henry-shaped hole in her life. Until his long-lost twin brother knocks on her door. Newly arrived in Ireland on his own search for answers, Andy is Henry, and yet not quite. Soon Grace isn't sure if she's learning to let go or becoming desperate to hold on. Grace After Henry is a funny, tender, and bittersweet story about love, loss, and second chances. 

©2019 Eithne Shortall (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"An engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I'd known them forever." (Jill Santopolo, best-selling author of The Light We Lost)

“Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? Shortall’s extraordinary debut is about the kind of shocking tragedy that shatters your life, about the ghosts and people we cling to for solace, and about how, when we truly open our lives to loss, life actually becomes deeper, richer, and all the more precious. A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost.” (Caroline Leavitt, New York Times best-selling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World)

“This book is a poignant and touching account of one woman moving on after great tragedy. Shortall’s American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it.” (Booklist, starred review) 

“Insightful...Shortall’s thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader’s mind for a long time.” (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0