Regular price: $24.82

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of White Lies and Wishes by Cathy Bramley, read by Colleen Prendergast.

What happens when what you wish for is only half the story?

Flirtatious, straight-talking Jo Gold says she's got no time for love; she's determined to save her family's failing footwear business.

New mother Sarah Hudson has cut short her maternity leave to return to work. She says she'll do whatever it takes to make partner at the accountancy firm.

Bored, overeating housewife Carrie Radley says she just wants to shift the pounds - she'd love to finally wear a bikini in public.

The unlikely trio meet by chance one winter's day and, in a moment of carpe diem madness, embark on a mission to make their wishes come true by September.

Easy. At least it would be if they hadn't been just the teensiest bit stingy with the truth....

With hidden issues, hidden talents and hidden demons to overcome, new friends Jo, Carrie and Sarah must admit to what they really, really want if they are ever to get their happy endings.

A feel-good romantic comedy that's guaranteed to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

©2017 Cathy Bramley (P)2017 Penguin Random House

Critic Reviews

"Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns." (Trisha Ashley)
"Engaging characters and a sweeping romance. This is delightful!" (Katie Fforde)
"A witty, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy." (Miranda Dickinson)
"The perfect romantic tale, to warm your heart and make you smile." (Ali McNamara)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • DBS
  • 06-21-17

Fun story, perfect for summer beach reading

Listened to this on audible but would have loved the read too. Super narration. Fabulous characters. I listened on the beach, in the car, on my phone. Couldn't ' put it down!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • aishachu
  • 08-19-17

Poorly written

Writing is full of cliches and such a dire narrative. Blue eyes shining bluely is not far off. Can't understand how it got published. Although I tried valiantly I couldn't bring myself to listen to more than 2 chapters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Angela Aldous
  • 12-10-17

Lovely story

This was my first audible book.
The narrator was a pleasure to listen to, and a really great story.
I would highly recommend

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jo
  • 10-22-17

loved it

loved it could not wait to find out what would happen next they became friends