Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the USA Today best-selling author of Loch and Solomon Key comes a brand new, action-packed Dane Maddock Adventure!

A treasure lost in the desert. A notorious unsolved murder. A contest where the stakes are life and death.

When treasure hunters Dane Maddock and Bones Bonebrake travel to the Mojave Desert to help launch an adventure race, they make a baffling discovery - a dungeon room hidden high in the desert hills, and beyond, a previously undiscovered network of caverns that seem to go on forever. But someone will kill to protect the secrets that are hidden there.

When an attempt is made on Maddock's life, the assassin's trail sets the former Navy SEALs on a search for one of the greatest legends of the southwest. But to find it, they must unmask the notorious Black Dahlia killer!

Classic archaeological adventure for the modern reader! Fans of Indiana Jones, Dirk Pitt, and National Treasure will love the Dane Maddock Adventures!

©2019 David Wood (P)2020 Gryphonwood Press

Critic Reviews

"David Wood has done it again. Within seconds of opening the book, I was hooked. Intrigue, suspense,monsters, and treasure hunters. What more could you want? David's knocked it out of the park with this one!" (Nick Thacker, author of The Enigma Strain)

 

“Dane and Bones.... Together they're unstoppable. Rip roaring action from start to finish. Wit and humor throughout. Just one question - how soon until the next one? Because I can't wait.” (Graham Brown, author of Shadows of the Midnight Sun)

“With the thoroughly enjoyable way Mr. Wood has mixed speculative history with our modern day pursuit of truth, he has created a story that thrills and makes one think beyond the boundaries of mere fiction and enter the world of 'why not'?” (David Lynn Golemon, author of the Event Group series)

What listeners say about Contest: A Dane Maddock Adventure

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another Great Dane and Bones Story

4.5 out of 5 stars

Contest is the eleventh book in the Dane Maddock Adventure series and (without looking) easily the twentieth book in this entire series (since Wood has multiple spin offs with Maddack and others). I believe it’s got to be close to the tenth book in this series that I’ve read from Wood. It was a slight change of pace from some of the other books but most similar to Loch (Dane and Bones where there to help out but it wasn’t a specific adventure with just them).

Contest tells the story of Dane and Bones’ adventure into the Mojave Desert trying to help launch an adventure race (unrelated here are some cool looking Adventure Races I found when googling them). They stumble upon a previously unknown network of caverns and also onto a set of secrets that someone would hope died with the dead.

Contest was one of those books that I didn’t see coming. It was as much about an old serial killer story as it was about the Indiana Jones like adventure. I love that Wood doesn’t shy away from the Indy references either from Bones and Maddock. They mention him numerous times and even talk about certain scenes, because obviously they are very similar to Indy when they are trying to find the next treasure.

The love-aspects that Wood sprinkles in are always interesting and add a nice layer to the already enjoyable stories. I won’t go into who or what happens, but it caused some moments of laughter that I didn’t expect.

Overall, this was another enjoyable Maddock Adventure narrated by the great Jeffrey Kafer. He voices the characters so well and really makes these stories.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-20-20

Contest. A Dane Maddock Adventure

My first Maddock and Bones Audible adventure and I loved it! Narrator excellent. Story enjoyable! Really enjoyed it and I'm looking for more in the Audible store.