Regular price: $19.60

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track, perfect for fans of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You.

Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her onetime love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She's tormented by her failed research - and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life.

But there's another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles and with whom she can't make a life before finding success on her own. Eventually the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future and herself behind. And for the first time, she's confronted with a question she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want?

Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry - one in which the reactions can't be quantified, measured, and analyzed, one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family.

©2017 Weike Wang (P)2017 Random House Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Having a tiger mother can really mess you up!

Where does Chemistry rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I enjoyed it...having been a chemistry major myself, I identified with the experiences and emotions that surprised and overwhelmed the nameless main character.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I liked Eric for his steadfastness and calm. We all need someone like this in our lives,

Which character – as performed by Julia Whelan – was your favorite?

Julia Whelan did a great job of expressing the everyday experiences and emotions of the main character in a straightforward manner without being deadpan.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I laughed out loud at the main character because she was so honest in describing her everyday experiences and the events that happened to her. Spoiler Alert. .... My heart broke for her when it became obvious that she would not achieve success in her chosen academic path and then the resulting emotionally devastating fall out. I loved that she discovered her true talent.....being able to foster understanding of math and science topics as a tutor.

Any additional comments?

Audible is the best thing since sliced bread.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jeca_b

This book was sharp and smart. I loved every minute of the story - I only wish it were longer!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SydSavvy
  • PARIS, TX, United States
  • 06-10-17

Sweet and Sour. Light and Heavy. Perfect.

Perfect book for summer-full of just the right contrasts. Sweet but sour. Both light and heavy at the same time. About nothing, about everything. About the Chinese, about Americans. Children and Parents, lovers and fighters. The yin and the yang, the push and the pull. Chemistry. Trying to figure it out and making a mess of it. Finding truth. Just perfect.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't put it down!

I listened with my girlfriend who is a chemistry PhD student and our hearts wrenched together, our voices laughed together, we awwwed together! Once it was finished we instantly stalked her own social media and was blissfully happy! 11/10! Would recommend!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Good thing this is a short book

There are no likable characters in this story. That is usually fine if the story is engaging enough and gives the reader something to think about. The only thing I am thinking about is what I would have read and enjoyed, instead. The performance is very good—delivery is deadpan which captures the main character’s spirit. That part I think was well done.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Momtastic
  • Wilmington, DE United States
  • 10-06-17

<br />Listened for book club

I could not decide about my feelings towards the main character. At times I felt really bad for her and other times I wanted to tell her to stop being so pathetic and self centered. There was so much self loathing from the main character and her mother. Though the dialogue made me think maybe we all are somewhat self centered....

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

very different

Different. Several moments were very insightful. Recommend! Jumps around but does not distract too much.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

What is chemistry without chemical reactions?

This book was very disappointing. It has a very dark character and a heroine who is lost and without love. Fortunately she has a very funny dark humor that has some redeeming value in the novel.

I would not recommend this book to anyone except for someone who appreciates the dark humor.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting book!

Enjoyed this book and hearing the struggle of a real woman trying to find her way. Would recommend!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Overrated and boring.

Quirky character plus lots of "facts" do not equal a good story. No plot here, and as a character study, I found it both predictable and incomplete. I guess if you know nothing about science this will probably be more interesting for you. But let's not be blown away by a decent writer also knowing a bit about science.