adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What started in the playground will finish in blood.

When a tragic farm accident turns out to be foul play, DCI Harry Grimm finds himself up against a murderer years in the making and out for revenge.

With the local community in self-imposed lock down, and the body count quickly climbing, Harry and his team are in a race against time to stop a killer as invisible as they are brutally effective.

But with some threatening to take the law into their own hands, and the wounds of his own past once again starting to bleed, DCI Harry Grimm is about to take a trip into Hell.

And beyond.

Best Served Cold is the second book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, , Adam Croft, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 David Gatward (P)2021 David Gatward

What listeners say about Best Served Cold: A DCI Harry Grimm Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

2nd installment in a new series

I’m always looking for an enjoyable mystery. I particularly enjoy those set in small towns and villages throughout the UK. I look forward to spending time with characters I like and find interesting. This series has all of that.

I also want to give a shout out to the narrator who did a wonderful job!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t say enough good things

At first I didn’t like the narrater but little way into the first book I LOVE him. He has so many voices. Each book is better than the last one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Grimm

Hey Dave, I love Harry Grimm. i also enjoy the cast of characters that surround him in his new home. I hope he is going to resolve his personal hell without it becoming his downfall.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Just a FYI to the author.

Well told story. Interesting. Please don’t punt put put the look how well I’m writing, mommy at the end.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-20-21

I’m hooked

I’m a huge fan of books where you connect with the characters and this has definitely happened with this series.Great storylines fantastic setting and even better characters- I’ve devoured two this week and am about to order the next-I just hope the series is with us for a long time

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam Wiltsher
  • Sam Wiltsher
  • 03-17-21

Brilliant

Really enjoyed, warmed to characters, especially Grimm who was brought to life brilliantly by the narrator. Looking forward to next book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-13-21

Enjoyable listen

I have listened to both Harry Grimm stories, and am so pleased I did. The narration is amazing, the stories are clever and funny. Really looking forward to the next one x

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 05-24-21

amazing book


What started in the playground will finish in blood.
When a tragic farm accident turns out to be foul play,
amazing storyline

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Broomfield
  • Andrea Broomfield
  • 05-23-21

Excellent second book in the series.

I'm absolutely loving this series. Lovable characters and an absorbing plot for this second book. As a northern girl, now living in the south of England, I have particularly enjoyed listening to the Grimm series on audible ...the fabulous northern accented narration, has really added to the experience for me and mentions of pint mugs of tea and cake with cheese bring back fond memories.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 05-11-21

Grimm is still up north!

DCI Harry Grimm is still up north in beautiful Wensleydale. However, since he arrived the crime rate in this sleepy rural area seems to have gone up considerably! This time he is called to what seems to be a farming accident, but which turns out to be something much more sinister.

The story is well plotted and sufficiently complex to keep me interested till the end (I listened in one sitting!) The setting is beautifully described, and the characters are brilliantly drawn and are beginning to feel like old friends, and I have a bit of a soft spot for Harry.

As with the first book, Aubrey Parsons was brilliant as the narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 05-10-21

Another Grimm piece of work

Second in the series and another winner! Well done Dave! Gritty, humourous and brings back welcome memories of the Dales and not so welcome memories of school! Bring on the next episode of Mr Grimm!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanne v.
  • joanne v.
  • 05-06-21

Brilliant

Fantastic listen, the narrator brings the characters to live with the accents.
Love all the books in this series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna
  • Anna
  • 04-28-21

think I'm falling in love with dci Harry grimm!

rattled through this, love the fact Grimm shoots from the hip, love the backdrop of wensleydale definitely would love to plan a trip after listening to the authors note. love the quirky eating cheese with fruit cake only northerners understand. a bit like a my grandads miners breakfast a sour apple and cheese lol southerners just don't get it ha ha
can't wait to spend the next credit I get on the next instalment. a breathe of fresh air during this pandemic is bliss! thankyou

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-22-21

Loved it

I don't write reviews for many in fact this is just the second time, the first was David's first book Grimm up North but I am hooked on these now. I love these books not only for the serious story of the crime and the twist that come with it, but the adjustment Harry has had to make moving from South to North and how he has found the funny thing people do and say. I look forward to listening to David next yarn.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 04-13-21

Very sad at times

Great writing and a marvellous story. Love the narrator Aubrey Parsons. David J Gatwards bit at the end of this book is well worth listening to.