adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

John Beck is the hero we don't deserve, but he's exactly who we need when the world falls apart.

When a surprise EMP attack kills the power grid across most of the United States, the nation crumbles - but a hero rises. John Beck makes it his mission to help the weak against the strong in a new, lawless wilderness. All the while, he fights the demons of his past as he searches for the only family he has left.

Best Laid Plans is book one of The Crusader EMP Post-Apocalyptic Survival Series and is perfect for fans of Franklin Horton, Ryan Schow, Kyla Stone, Jack Hunt, and AR Shaw.

©2021 Piton Press LLC (P)2021 Piton Press LLC

What listeners say about Best Laid Plans

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not really an EMP story, more of a western

Spoiler ahead… Yes, this starts out with an EMP destroying the power grid, but the odd 4+ year time jump very early on (VERY early on) quickly turns this into just a book about a man on a mission taking on evil along the way in a land without power. After 4 years in, most seemed to be adjusted to that way life, only having to occasionally deal with lawless individuals or groups. That’s where the protagonist (John Beck) jumps in to clean up the evil-doers. I also have a strong feeling that Beck’s main mission won’t be complete until the series end. Not sure I’m going to follow along with the rest of the series if it’s just more of the same until the end. Maybe…

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Start to A Great Series

Tom Abrahams really knows how to create a story of doom and gloom. Kevin Pierce can bring that doom and gloom to to your ears like no other audio narrator. Love the start to this new series. Go get em’ Beck.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Battle-like But Darker. So Good.

I will start this one off by saying that this isn’t anywhere close to my first book by Tom Abrahams. Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the Traveler series with Battle as the main character. I wanted to preface this review by pointing that out because a lot of my post-apocalyptic best memories (what a weird phrase) have been in the worlds that Abrahams has created. So, knowing that and diving into another PA world – I had my hopes sky-high. I know that Abrahams knows how to write a great story and interesting characters.

Something else that he’s really good at is writing about situations that I wouldn’t have thought of, but would be completely normal for some Americans. Best Laid Plans was one of those circumstances. What would happen if you were stuck on an offshore oil rig when the power went out? That’s exactly what John Back and the crew have to deal with in the opening of this book. I also find it funny that Abrahams is always able to always put callbacks to his other books in these stories. One of the characters talked about how he read PA books and that being stuck on the rig reminded him of the character that got stuck on the ISS in SpaceMan. Which was right where my mind was going at the time.

Best Laid Plans is a story in two parts (and I respect Tom for not making it two different books). The opening is around getting to know Beck, who he is, a little about his demons, and then about the first few days post-attack. The second half is some years later as he continues on his quest for vengeance and revenge. They don’t feel disjointed at all and I’m actually happy that the author decided to tell some of the prior year’s tales via quick flashbacks or additions to normal chats the characters were having.

The first half was interesting and new to me (which is pretty hard to do in the PA genre). What would happen to the workers on the rig? How would they get to shore safely if the safety boats didn’t work? But the second half was pure Tom Abrahams Post Apocalyptic storytelling™. Beck reminded me a lot of Battle but even more damaged (I’m seeing a trend here, especially after reading about a super dark character in Abrahams’ last book, Buffalo Bayou. If you haven’t read the Traveler series – you’re missing out, but this reminds me of all of the good things that it had going but it’s even more unpredictable. Beck feels like he could go off the rails at any moment.

I also want to throw my hat in for a prediction here. Since I’m a bit of a TA superfan and I know how some of his stories go – I’m interested to see if one of the stories is 100% from his daughter’s perspective. If so, how much like Lou will she be (I know that Lou was younger, but I feel like they have the same heart and spirit). I hope I’m right, but even if it’s not told from her POV, I’m interested in how much her story will remind me of Lous. Except instead of Battle meeting her and becoming an adoptive fatherlike figure – it’ll be a reunion.

Overall, I’m happy to have more PA books from Abrahams to read. Especially with Kevin Pierce narrating them. This was a really good introduction to Beck and this unknown world. I’m excited to get to know him more and find out exactly what happened to the US in the coming books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Left scratching my head.

I’m a big fan of Tom Abrahams and I’ve listened to several of his books on Audible. But about 3 hours into this one and I had to hit the stop button for good. Long story short, the details in the book are terrible. Especially when dealing with an apocalyptic event. I think it was around chapter 8 when the tanker ship docked, the main character and 2 of his buddies just strolled for an undetermined distance to his house with no resistance. Loaded up supplies, walked to another characters home with no resistance. Fired up an older Chevy truck and drove and hour down a interstate riddled with broken down vehicles and guess what…….no resistance. Hard to imagine that after multiple EMP’s detonated over American soil. Oh well, on to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaun52
  • Shaun52
  • 11-29-21

Tom Abrahams and Kevin Pierce..great combination..

Just started this yesterday and finished it today. First impressions, similar storyline to the Traveller series.
The traveller series was/is in my top 5 audible series I've ever listened to. Marcus Battle is my all-time favourite.

Best laid plans start off with Beck the main character managing to escape the initial attack which is part of the first few days.
Then we jump 4 years which threw me, I was expecting the storyline to go much the same as the traveller series.
The main part of the book is the time after this, he is searching for his daughter going from town to town along the way helping people who are in trouble.

Beck reminds me of Battle but as a long way to go to get to his level.
Looking forward to the next one in the series if it gets anywhere near the greatness of the Traveller series I will be one happy man. we will see.
Just a few words about Kevin Pierce without him the books wouldn't be the same he is perfect for this.

1 person found this helpful