• Ancient Echoes

  • Ancient Secrets Series, Book 1
  • By: Joanne Pence
  • Narrated by: Tim Paige
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (510 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Ancient Echoes  By  cover art

Ancient Echoes

By: Joanne Pence
Narrated by: Tim Paige
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.99

Buy for $21.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Past and present collide in this spellbinding tale by USA Today best-selling author Joanne Pence.   

Over 200 years ago, a covert expedition shadowing Lewis and Clark disappeared into the wilderness of central Idaho. Now, seven anthropology students and their professor vanish in the same area. The key to finding them lies in an ancient secret, one involving alchemy, gold, and immortality...a secret that men throughout history have sought to unveil.  

Michael Rempart is a brilliant archeologist whose colorful and controversial career has earned him admiring fans and implacable foes, but he is plagued by a troubling sense of the supernatural and a mysterious spiritual intuitiveness. Joining Rempart in this adventure are a CIA consultant on paranormal phenomena, a washed-up local sheriff, and a former scholar of Egyptology. All must overcome their personal demons as they attempt to save the students and, ultimately, the world.  

From the journal of Francis Masterson, 1806 -

All hope is gone. Evil is victorious. 

In the time I have remaining I will, herewith, impart a tale so filled with Dread and Terror that my heart overflows with immeasurable Sorrow to tell it. It began with the highest of Good Will and Promise and, on my part, great Excitement. I can only trust to Providence that one day this small account which I leave in a land of unimaginable desolation and Wildness, may be discovered and that it will serve to warn others of the wickedness that may ensnare Good men. 

Ours was to be a Secret Expedition...  

Top 10 Idaho Book Award Winner

©2013 Joanne Pence (P)2018 Joanne Pence

What listeners say about Ancient Echoes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    146
  • 3 Stars
    108
  • 2 Stars
    48
  • 1 Stars
    19
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    197
  • 4 Stars
    139
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    25
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    94
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    26

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great first book in a promising series


Ancient Echoes is the first book in the Ancient Secrets series of adventures by award-winning and best-selling author Joanne Pence. I am a big fan of this kind of stories and, after spending a few hours daily this week with Ancient Echoes, I thought to post a review because I liked it a lot.

The book opens with a tour de force that introduces the main characters and, at the same time, moves the action swiftly from Mongolia, to Jerusalem, to Paris, back again through all locations so that in the end we stop in the United States. Here, all involved, a group of students with their teacher, two special agents, one with Immigration and US Customs Enforcement and one from the Central Inteligence Agency, a renowned archaeologist, like a younger version of Indiana Jones, a local sheriff and a group of special operators want to discover a secret buried for thousands of years. They all travel to a remote mountain range in Idaho where bad things start to happen.

The students get lost, the authorities alongside with the archaeologist are looking for them, but at the same time, the special ops team is up to no good, as their mission is very important to a powerful individual and they can use all means necessary to ensure success.

The novel is very well written, with strong characters, a vividly portrayed world and a story that manages to combine perfectly this exciting adventure with the thrilling supernatural aspect that will give you goosebumps... I won't say anything more, as I don't want to spoil any of this great plot for you, but I will add that I can't wait to listen to more audiobooks by Joanne Pence.

The audiobook version of Ancient Ecoes is narrated by Tim Paige, a voiceover artist that is relatively new to this industry, but he does an excellent job. This is the first time I experienced his narration and I can say that I liked it very much. He brings all the characters to life with ease, sounding natural, and keeps them differentiated in the listener's mind with different voices, accents and subtle tone modulations. He has a pleasant voice, reminds me of Vikas Adam, which I think is a good thing, as Vikas is a great narrator.

There are a few problems with the quality of the recording in the sense that sometimes, between chapters there are areas of white noise that can be annoying. I passed this on to the author and she assures me that it will be taken care of as soon as possible...

I hope to be able to bring you more reviews for books written by Joanne Pence and performed by Tim Paige as I enjoyed Ancient Echoes tremendously. Fans of Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child, Clive Cussler and James Rollins will find Ancient Echoes  very satisfying. Also, those who like the Uncharted series of video games or the Indiana Jones movies will feel right at home with this novel.

If you find this review helpful please vote below and find more of them here on audible and on theAudiobookBlog.
Thank you,

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

52 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars