adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.08

Buy for $25.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An absolutely gripping Templar conspiracy thriller, perfect for fans of Mario Reading, Dan Brown and Scott Mariani.

An ancient sect. A modern mystery. The most dangerous secret ever unearthed.

Antiquarian bookseller Robin Jessop has acquired a strange medieval volume. What appears to be a book is a cleverly disguised safe, in which she finds a single rolled parchment, written in code. For encryption expert David Mallory, the text is impenetrable. Until an invaluable clue opens the door to a conspiracy, stretching back seven centuries. Now Jessop and Mallory find themselves on a desperate hunt that could change history, topple an empire and bury them both alive. Because soon they’re not only the hunters. They’re also the hunted.

©2016 James Becker (P)2016 W. F. Howes

Critic Reviews

“A thrilling historical mystery full of ingenious clues and unexpected twists.” (Good Book Guide

What listeners say about The Lost Treasure of the Templars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Plot over character

The plot and history of the Templars were interesting but there was little character development.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I bought this because of all the good reviews, and I was sadly disappointed by it. I liked the archaeological mystery very much, but I hated having to wade through oceans of stupid to get to it. I could have done without the bad guys all together, they have to be the stupidest crew of villians I've run across in ages and there was absolutely no point to them except to drag the length of the story out. More words, more dollars, I guess. Why were they so intent on killing the main characters? What was the point? Why didn't they just grab the artifact and be on their way? Bleah. I realize evil is accurately described as stupid, repetative and pointlessly violent, but I'm not looking for acurate villians in my fiction, I read the news for that.
Plus, there were odd dashes of really graphic violence of a truely disgusting variety sprinkled through, even though this is supposed (I thought) to be a historical mystery. TRIGGER WARNING; if rape disturbes you, particularly child rape/torture and/or gang rape, you might want to avoid this. The situation with the child in particular is something I really did not need in my head and it added NOTHING to the story.
I was interested enough in the actual Templar mystery, which is cool and interesting and has a lot of historical detail, that I bought the second book, but I have now returned it after just barely starting because it's just as stupid as the first one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me glued on

I listened to this book in one night. Couldn't stop, lots of action. If you like the Templars you will like this book. Narrator versatile.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

I could not stop listening great narrative interesting story that moved quick and kept me interested

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much detail

The underlying story is ok, but the book is overloaded with so many detailed descriptions of minor and inconsequential events that it makes it an unenjoyable listen. Also character reactions to the situations they were in where hard to believe. I won’t be bothering with the next books in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Johnny
  • Johnny
  • 10-28-20

What!

No this is a cross between a history teacher and a computer nerd wet dream

If you like school with a bit of Kung fu it’s for you

Not me

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-28-20

On a level with the best of scooby doo

Daft and implausible. Narrator was OK but he had a thankless task reading this stuff

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CHRIS C
  • CHRIS C
  • 05-22-21

My own fault

Thought it was regarding factual, history based material,. Was a fiction novel. My own fault

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JulieP
  • JulieP
  • 02-05-21

Disappointing

This book reminded me of a Dan Brown novel but lacked his realism and excitement. The history of the Templars interests me but this book didn’t with it’s totally unbelievable characters and scenarios.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-01-21

bit of a stretch

the relatability of these characters are not great. every new chapter it seems they are an expert in something the James Becker's other series the characters feel limited and its experts in certain fields. I don't think there is one area these to don't have a diploma in