• The Dane Maddock Adventures

  • Volume 1
  • By: David Wood
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
  • Length: 22 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (280 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Dane Maddock Adventures  By  cover art

The Dane Maddock Adventures

By: David Wood
Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Looking for a modern-day version of Indiana Jones? Dane Maddock is your man! This box set includes the first three books in the Dane Maddock Adventures series plus a bonus story.


A sunken treasure. An ancient Biblical artifact. A mystery as old as humankind.

In 1829, the Portuguese brig Dourado sank off the coast of Indonesia, losing its cargo of priceless treasures from the Holy Land. One of these lost relics holds the key to an ancient mystery. But someone does not want this treasure to come to light. When her father is murdered while searching for the Dourado, Kaylin Maxwell hires treasure hunter and former Navy Seal Dane Maddock and his partner Uriah "Bones" Bonebrake, to locate the wreckage and recover a lost Biblical artifact, the truth behind which could call into question the fundamentally held truths of human existence. Join Maddock and Bones on a perilous adventure that carries them from the depths of the Pacific to ancient cities of stone as they unravel the mystery of the Dourado.


Dane Maddock returns in another unforgettable adventure! When Maddock rescues beautiful archaeologist Jade Ihara, he joins her on asearch for the legendary Seven Cities of Cibola. Cibola takes the listener on a journey across the American southwest, where the ruins of the mysterious Anasazi hide deadly secrets, and foes lurk around every corner. Maddock and his partner "Bones" Bonebrake must decipher clues from the fabled Copper Scroll, outwit their enemies, and be the first to unlock the secret of Cibola.


Dane Maddock is back. Deep in the Amazon, a university group encounters a horror beyond their darkest nightmares and vanishes without a trace. Called upon to undertake a daring rescue mission, Maddock and Bones must trace the true path of Percy Fawcett's final expedition, but the secret that lies at the end of the search might be even deadlier than the enemies who seek it.

©2015 David Wood (P)2017 Gryphonwood Press

What listeners say about The Dane Maddock Adventures

Average customer ratings
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Need an Adventure Fix and on a Budget? Check...

Need an Adventure Fix and on a Budget? Check This Box Set Out!

Book One: Dourado

This is part of a bigger box set that I have out but I wanted to break the reviews up into book-by-book since that’s how I do all the other ones. I’ve read a few other books in this series and the other series related to Dane and Bones – but went back to the beginning with Dourado. It was cool to go this far back to see what Wood used to do as an author (how he’s improved and the “winning” moments that he’s kept in most of the books.

I usually call out the narrator later – but there was something that Kafer did in this book that I don’t think he does anymore.  When a phone call (or radio call, I believe) happened – he would distort the audio a little to make it sound like it was coming from a radio/phone. I absolutely loved that. I don’t know if everyone would – but in books like this, it was a really nice effect without going overboard.

Dourado was an interesting story.  I couldn’t really tell what the “treasure” part of it was going to be.  There was a part that I thought “okay, I think the book could end” but there was another couple of hours.  It was nice, and kept me on my toes! The lead up to the ending was perfectly thrilling without being overdone – a classic Wood tactic.

Overall, I thought that Dourado was enjoyable and definitely a great lead into this box set.

Book Two: Cibola

Cibola introduces us to Jade Ihara (a staple in later books) and it didn't go the way that I expected it to. Leave it to Wood to write me a story (especially since I'd read further books in this series) that just blew my mind when it came to Jade. This book did revolve around Jade quite a bit but it was still definitely the Dane and Bones show.

Their back and forth banter and