We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters Audiobook
Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters
Written by: 
Larry Correia, Peter Clines, Peter Rawlik, James Swallow, C. L. Werner, James Maxey
Narrated by: 
Jennifer Van Dyck, Jeff Woodman, Bronson Pinchot, Marc Vietor, Simon Vance, Ray Porter, Nicola Barber
Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters Audiobook

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters

Regular Price:$29.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. The anthology opens with a foreword by Jeremy Robinson, author of Project Nemesis, the highest-selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books - and perhaps even more than those.

Then, from New York Times best sellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger-than-life stories, including: Peter Clines, Larry Correia, James Lovegrove, Gini Koch (as J. C. Koch), James Maxey, Jonathan Wood, C. L. Werner, Joshua Reynolds, David Annandale, Jaym Gates, Peter Rawlik, Shane Berryhill, Natania Barron, Paul Genesse & Patrick Tracy, Nathan Black, Mike MacLean, Timothy W. Long, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, Kane Gilmour, Peter Stenson, Erin Hoffman, Sean Sherman, Howard Andrew Jones (The Chronicles of Sword and Sand tie-in), Edward M. Erdelac (Dead West tie-in), and James Swallow (Colossal Kaiju Combat tie-in).

The narrators include: Bronson Pinchot, Simon Vance, James Adams, Jay Snyder, Brian Nishii, Nicola Barber, Victor Bevine, Peter Ganim, Jonathan Davis, Marc Vietor, Jennifer Van Dyck, Gabra Zackman, Scott Aiello, Mark Boyett, Allison Hiroto, Katy Kellgren, Christian Rummel, Therese Plummer, Ray Porter, Sean Runnette, Jeff Woodman, Dina Pearlman, Suzy Jackson, Brian Nishii, RC Bray, and Susan Duerden.

©2014 Ragnarok Publications (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (264 )
5 star
 (62)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (75)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (13)
Overall
3.5 (241 )
5 star
 (54)
4 star
 (70)
3 star
 (74)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (12)
Story
3.9 (237 )
5 star
 (73)
4 star
 (87)
3 star
 (57)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Deep Reader 12-29-14
    Deep Reader 12-29-14

    Learn, understand, then decide whether you accept or reject.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1141
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    394
    324
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    108
    71
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a ride"

    This audiobook contains a collection of short stories regarding giant monsters, from different angles and with different, memorable characters. It fails to get five stars in my opinion because it suffers from a few weak stories that bring the quality of the collection down. Still, worth buying for the better stories.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martin NEWBERG, OR, United States 02-16-16
    Martin NEWBERG, OR, United States 02-16-16 Member Since 2012

    Hi my name is Marty, Im book worm from Portland Oregon. I work graveyard shifts and listen to books while I work and read comics in the day

    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    202
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Hold on too your butts..."

    You're going to want some popcorn for this anthology.
    Monsters? Check.
    Mass destruction? Check.
    Horror, Comedy and action? Check?
    Grandiose commentary on the frailty of humanity in a universe designed to f#!k us up? sure, but be warned this book is about one thing.
    Fun.
    So have it and give this book a try.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-02-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "mankind gets smooshed"

    most of the stories were similar, not a lot hope for the human race. The Hollywood story was great!

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 05-06-16
    Michael 05-06-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It's okay."
    Would you try another book from the authors and/or the narrators?

    I already have most of the books Larry Correia put out, and several from Peter Clines.


    Would you recommend Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters to your friends? Why or why not?

    I don't know. Some of the stories were good, others meh, and some were a little too sacrilegious for me.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by the narrators?

    Bronson Pinchot, yep, he's good. The rest are okay.


    Was Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters worth the listening time?

    I think the next time I listen to it, I may skip some of the stories.


    Any additional comments?

    I hate to sound like an a**hole, but overall, this was okay. Some stories were good, others not so much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Justin Perth, Australia 11-14-15
    Justin Perth, Australia 11-14-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "some were great ... most were shit"

    About 3 of the 25 had me wishing there was a full book or series I could keep reading .... most were average too shit

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carolyn Friendsville, PA, United States 07-17-15
    Carolyn Friendsville, PA, United States 07-17-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    202
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Grimm Bros. for New Age"
    What did you love best about Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters?

    Most of the stories were excellent. I liked that they were short.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Many were compelling. There were so many times I would yell.. "Don't do that!" as a character would take an action so obviously foolish. It took me back to the horror films where the main characters decided to explore the empty house or descend to the basement as eerie music played in the background.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I finished the book which says a lot. I often do not if annoyed or bored by a character.


    Any additional comments?

    This was a fun book. Godzilla and the Blob and all of those characters that make us look over our shoulder. Do not read if you cannot expand your mind into wild adventure. Not for the serious.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jim "The Impatient" Springfield, MO, United States 06-21-15
    Jim "The Impatient" Springfield, MO, United States 06-21-15 Member Since 2015

    I am brutally honest. Popular, love everything they read, reviewers are scared to go neg. and risk their ranking. It's your money!!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3241
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1014
    981
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    246
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "1,000 FINGERNAILS ON 1,000 CHALKBOARDS"

    MEAT SACKS
    The Summary says 23 stories, but there is really 25 plus an intro. Which means 26 different writers. Of the 26 I only recognized three authors Peter Clines, Larry Correia and Jeremy Robinson who did the intro. I like to think of myself as pretty knowledgeable in the Science Fiction Field, so was surprised at the number of unknowns. Lots of areas where covered. There was a Zombie Kaiju, steampunk, different times in history and in the future and different parts of the world. There were two stories from the perspective of the Monsters.

    YOU'D HAVE BETTER LUCK TRYING TO SINK AFRICA
    Overall this is one of the worst anthologies I have listened to. The number of bad or boring stories were way over the top. Over half were a waste of time.

    DON'T JUDGE A HORSE BY THE SADDLE HE WEARS
    Having said how bad the majority of stories are, there still were some good ones. James Lovegrove and Peter Stenson had the best stories. Day of the Demi Gods by Peter Stenson is funny and is about a Kaiju with self-esteem problems trying to make it big in Hollywood. I also liked Edward M. Erdelac, Sean Sherman, Peter Clines, James Maxey, and Larry Correia's stories. One great reason to read anthologies is to get introduced to new talent. Sherman's story Shaktarra was a great reminder of the stories of the past and could have been written 50 years ago. James Maxey's story, Fall of Babylon, is the one story that has bother most of the other reviewers. It is an interesting look at Revelations from the bible, but is anti-bible and can be disturbing to those who are sensitive in that area. I am preparing to go to church as I write this, but am able to question the bible and some set beliefs without the fear of losing my faith or being upset. I thought it was clever and brought out some subjects to be discussed. There are people at my church who do not appreciate my views.

    THE JAPANESE ALIEN ALLIES
    The narrators read like a who's who of narrators. With the exception of the last narrator for the last story, these guys really bring quality to this recording. I did not remember Dick Hill doing a story, but other then that there were some of my favorites here. Not sure how the last narrator got invited, she had the most irritating sing song narration I have ever heard.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandon 04-12-15
    Brandon 04-12-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic selection"

    This is a fantastic selection of stories that range from different times and locations, the readers helped give even more life to the selected stories. All and all very good

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ... 04-08-15
    ... 04-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good short stories"

    Some of the stories where difficult to get through and some inappropriate stories to skip.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Moshfists 10-05-14
    Moshfists 10-05-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as I had hoped"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Stories were boring.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Yes, boring.


    Do you think Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Not in my opinion. If a follow-up book was as plodding and boring as this collection, it would be a waste of time.


    Any additional comments?

    I would like to return this, please.

    4 of 12 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.