We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters | [Larry Correia, Peter Clines, Timothy W. Long, Howard Andrew Jones, Peter Rawlik, James Swallow, C. L. Werner, James Maxey]

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. The anthology opens with a foreword by Jeremy Robinson, author of Project Nemesis, the highest selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books - and perhaps even more than those. Then, from New York Times best sellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger-than-life stories.
Regular Price:$29.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. The anthology opens with a foreword by Jeremy Robinson, author of Project Nemesis, the highest-selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books - and perhaps even more than those. Then, from New York Times best sellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger-than-life stories, including: Peter Clines, Larry Correia, James Lovegrove, Gini Koch (as J. C. Koch), James Maxey, Jonathan Wood, C. L. Werner, Joshua Reynolds, David Annandale, Jaym Gates, Peter Rawlik, Shane Berryhill, Natania Barron, Paul Genesse & Patrick Tracy, Nathan Black, Mike MacLean, Timothy W. Long, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, Kane Gilmour, Peter Stenson, Erin Hoffman, Sean Sherman, Howard Andrew Jones (The Chronicles of Sword and Sand tie-in), Edward M. Erdelac (Dead West tie-in), and James Swallow (Colossal Kaiju Combat tie-in).

©2014 Ragnarok Publications (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (189 )
5 star
 (45)
4 star
 (63)
3 star
 (54)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (10)
Overall
3.6 (174 )
5 star
 (38)
4 star
 (59)
3 star
 (50)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.0 (171 )
5 star
 (57)
4 star
 (63)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Saud 12-29-14
    Saud 12-29-14

    Learn, understand, then decide whether you accept or reject.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    836
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    344
    277
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    69
    71
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a ride"

    This audiobook contains a collection of short stories regarding giant monsters, from different angles and with different, memorable characters. It fails to get five stars in my opinion because it suffers from a few weak stories that bring the quality of the collection down. Still, worth buying for the better stories.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jim "The Impatient" Springfield, MO, United States 06-21-15
    Jim "The Impatient" Springfield, MO, United States 06-21-15 Member Since 2015

    I will listen to NO boring book. Old Fav's,Card, King , Hobb. New Fav's, Hill, Scalzi, Sawyer, Interested in Lansdale, Crouch, Konrath

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1987
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    714
    686
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    154
    26
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "1,000 FINGERNAILS ON 1,000 CHALKBOARDS"

    MEAT SACKS
    The Summary says 23 stories, but there is really 25 plus an intro. Which means 26 different writers. Of the 26 I only recognized three authors Peter Clines, Larry Correia and Jeremy Robinson who did the intro. I like to think of myself as pretty knowledgeable in the Science Fiction Field, so was surprised at the number of unknowns. Lots of areas where covered. There was a Zombie Kaiju, steampunk, different times in history and in the future and different parts of the world. There were two stories from the perspective of the Monsters.

    YOU'D HAVE BETTER LUCK TRYING TO SINK AFRICA
    Overall this is one of the worst anthologies I have listened to. The number of bad or boring stories were way over the top. Over half were a waste of time.

    DON'T JUDGE A HORSE BY THE SADDLE HE WEARS
    Having said how bad the majority of stories are, there still were some good ones. James Lovegrove and Peter Stenson had the best stories. Day of the Demi Gods by Peter Stenson is funny and is about a Kaiju with self-esteem problems trying to make it big in Hollywood. I also liked Edward M. Erdelac, Sean Sherman, Peter Clines, James Maxey, and Larry Correia's stories. One great reason to read anthologies is to get introduced to new talent. Sherman's story Shaktarra was a great reminder of the stories of the past and could have been written 50 years ago. James Maxey's story, Fall of Babylon, is the one story that has bother most of the other reviewers. It is an interesting look at Revelations from the bible, but is anti-bible and can be disturbing to those who are sensitive in that area. I am preparing to go to church as I write this, but am able to question the bible and some set beliefs without the fear of losing my faith or being upset. I thought it was clever and brought out some subjects to be discussed. There are people at my church who do not appreciate my views.

    THE JAPANESE ALIEN ALLIES
    The narrators read like a who's who of narrators. With the exception of the last narrator for the last story, these guys really bring quality to this recording. I did not remember Dick Hill doing a story, but other then that there were some of my favorites here. Not sure how the last narrator got invited, she had the most irritating sing song narration I have ever heard.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-02-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "mankind gets smooshed"

    most of the stories were similar, not a lot hope for the human race. The Hollywood story was great!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandon 04-12-15
    Brandon 04-12-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic selection"

    This is a fantastic selection of stories that range from different times and locations, the readers helped give even more life to the selected stories. All and all very good

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Moshfists 10-05-14
    Moshfists 10-05-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as I had hoped"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Stories were boring.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Yes, boring.


    Do you think Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Not in my opinion. If a follow-up book was as plodding and boring as this collection, it would be a waste of time.


    Any additional comments?

    I would like to return this, please.

    4 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Morrilton, AR, United States 07-28-14
    Charles Morrilton, AR, United States 07-28-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Few stories are any good...most are crap"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    less stories, longer stories


    What could the authors have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Trying to integrate political correctness and making potshots at Christianity because the author is pathetic is totally not cool. I read books as an escape, not to listen to CNN news or the View in form of an author's poor attempt to talk about the Book of Revelation and rooting for the bad guys because God doesn't agree with Hollywood's sexual immorality. Total garbage. It angers me that while I listened to some of these crappy stories I couldn't change the story due to the fact I was in the middle of 5k or 10'ks. It just made me want to run faster to stay awake, or motivated to hurry and change to another story..hoping it was any good....


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    A lot of the narrators are top quality..but doesn't matter about their talent..there is only so much you can do to try save crappy stories.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters?

    I would of expounded about story 1, Story 19, and Story 21. I would of cut story 20..the narrator was great but the author needs to go back to flipping burgers. Total garbage.


    Any additional comments?

    Did I mention story 20 was king of garbage. Many of stories sucked, but few where really good. I wish they just made those longer.

    6 of 24 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jon 04-08-15
    Jon 04-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good short stories"

    Some of the stories where difficult to get through and some inappropriate stories to skip.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.