We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1 | [Darynda Jones]

First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Publisher's Summary

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left.

Keep chilled: spend some more time with Charley Davidson.

©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (3532 )
5 star
 (1625)
4 star
 (1117)
3 star
 (473)
2 star
 (174)
1 star
 (143)
Overall
4.1 (2862 )
5 star
 (1352)
4 star
 (855)
3 star
 (399)
2 star
 (135)
1 star
 (121)
Story
4.4 (2874 )
5 star
 (1671)
4 star
 (777)
3 star
 (265)
2 star
 (93)
1 star
 (68)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amanda Riverside, CA, United States 02-25-11
    Amanda Riverside, CA, United States 02-25-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Couldn't Finish It"

    I was so excited by the wonderful reviews but couldn't figure out what all the fuss was about. I didn't think it was funny of witty at all. I really don't understand the point of the book. I have 2 hours left of the book and I'm giving up. I do like the narrator though.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tracy T Jacksonville, FL USA 05-12-12
    Tracy T Jacksonville, FL USA 05-12-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    235
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    268
    223
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    45
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too many random characters popping."

    This book was a bit boring, Suprised I finished it, every chapter there seemed to be different characters popping up and throwing the plot totally off. I wont be reading the next book in this series. The narrator was not good at all. Dont waste your credit or dollars on this.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy San Juan Capistrano, CA, United States 03-02-12
    Nancy San Juan Capistrano, CA, United States 03-02-12

    nssjc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It's OK"
    Would you try another book from Darynda Jones and/or Lorelei King?

    Probably not the author but I think I kept listening because Lorelei King did a good job.


    Which character – as performed by Lorelei King – was your favorite?

    Lorelei King did a great job with all the characters. She was really good.


    Did First Grave on the Right inspire you to do anything?

    NO


    Any additional comments?

    A bit to slap sticky for me and I'm not a romance fan but I did listen to the whole book so what does that say about me.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kelly Simcoe, ON, Canada 03-23-11
    Kelly Simcoe, ON, Canada 03-23-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    305
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "another great 1st"

    Ms. Jones is quite the find, can't wait for Aug to get my ears on 2nd grave on the left. very funny, sarcastic humor and narrated very well. all in all a very fun read. B.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vanessa Kreimer 03-23-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "New Author to Watch"

    This was a fantastic book. I stumbled upon it and loved it from the start. I can't wait until the next one is published; however, looking at the author???s website, I see she has two more installment ready to go, but with no release date. I am definitely going to keep an eye out for her next book. I highly recommend this book. As a matter of fact, I already have!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Beth Maschner 03-15-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    362
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "What fun!!"

    I loved it, from start to finish! She is quite witty, very entertaining and original. Very different from anything I've read before. I laughed all the way through. The reader was also fantastic. Can't wait for the next book!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dalmania 03-15-11
    Dalmania 03-15-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    825
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "A Must Buy"

    Funny. Sometimes laugh out loud humour.
    All characters have depth and unique personalities.
    Charlie is an original. This would or will make a great start to a series.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alissa Atco, NJ, United States 03-12-11
    Alissa Atco, NJ, United States 03-12-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "LOVE IT"

    I purchased this book.. while it was a featured book.. and I DON'T regret it! I highly recommend this book and hope there is a book 2! I want to know what happens to Charley Davidson! Last chapter was HOT! Drool

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. New Haven, CT, United States 03-08-11
    R. New Haven, CT, United States 03-08-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    170
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "funny and only occasionally silly"

    I enjoyed this book a lot more than I initially thought I would. I find that in funny/paranormal books, humor often comes at the expense of a decent plot, and the book tends to degenerate into plodding, outright silliness which isn't that entertaining (I'm lookin' at you, Argeneau Vampires). So after the first few minutes I was all set to hate this book, but the story was actually really entertaining and fast-paced. I'm looking forward to the next book in this series - this one did leave a lot of loose ends and room for development.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Connie Shawnee, KS, United States 03-06-11
    Connie Shawnee, KS, United States 03-06-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    126
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    225
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "LOVED IT"

    What a great story this author has given us and of coure, Lorelei King's narration is always perfect. I loved this book and look forward to more from this author!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 321-330 of 331 results PREVIOUS1323334NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.