We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Temple Secrets Audiobook

Temple Secrets

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed writer, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews).

Every family has secrets, but the elite Temple family of Savannah has more than most. To maintain their influence, they've also been documenting the indiscretions of other prestigious southern families, dating as far back as the Civil War. When someone begins leaking these tantalizing tidbits to the newspaper, the entire city of Savannah, Georgia is rocking with secrets.

The current keeper of the secrets and matriarch of the Temple clan is Iris, a woman of unpredictable gastrointestinal illnesses and an extra streak of meanness that even the ghosts in the Temple mansion avoid. When Iris unexpectedly dies, the consequences are far flung and significant, not only to her family - who get in line to inherit the historic family mansion - but to Savannah itself.

At the heart of the story is Old Sally, an expert in Gullah folk magic, who some suspect cast a voodoo curse on Iris. At 100 years of age, Old Sally keeps a wise eye over the whole boisterous business of secrets and the settling of Iris's estate. In the Temple family, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a secret.

©2015 Susan Gabriel (P)2015 Susan Gabriel

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (37 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (35 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
2.9 (35 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (10)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Priscilla Wild 01-19-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story - Worst ever narrator"
    What did you like best about Temple Secrets? What did you like least?

    Plot and character devlopments through the plot were great. Kept me wanting more. Luckily I also had the ebook so I quit listening after 20 pages. Had I not had the book I would have asked Audible to take back.. Stilted narration.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Air of mystery and of the past


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Gabriel?

    Lorelei King, any other southern narrator


    Could you see Temple Secrets being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    not really...


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sue sims 12-12-15
    sue sims 12-12-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Susan Gabriel should fire her producer!"

    A really interesting and funny story, but the decision to have the author read was a very bad one. To capture an audiobook well takes talent and experience. SG is a good writer, but her read of the book is a big disappointment- probably for her, too.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    roni lockhart 03-11-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good but..."

    I really, really enjoyed the book & will look forward to more of her work. However, and I really don't want to be mean or over critical, but I would have preferred a different narrator. The story is great. Again, I would not hurt the authors feelings for anything, but next time a different narrator would be nice.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Watkins 11-22-15
    S. Watkins 11-22-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Southern Fiction at its Finest"

    This novel had me in its grasp from the very beginning to the very end. The characters came alive and almost felt like my own family. I was not always sure where the story was heading, and that made for an exciting read - never a dull moment. Anyone who likes Southern charm, quirky relatives, and a bit of the supernatural will love this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    carolyn 10-08-15
    carolyn 10-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to get through...................."
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I do like the story and plot - so far. What I am having such a hard time with is the reader. I realize the author is also the reader and I don't want to be rude. However, I have started several times to just "forget" it because I do not enjoy listening to her reading the story.

    So yes, I recommend the book - not the audible version.


    Would you recommend Temple Secrets to your friends? Why or why not?

    Again - the book but not read by the author.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Susan Gabriel’s performances?

    only if read by someone else


    Do you think Temple Secrets needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    possibly - I still haven't finished the book so I'll get back to you on that thought


    Any additional comments?

    Again, I do not intend to be rude or mean. However, the reader sounds both bored and tired. I have listened to many, many books being read and this is by far one of the worst reads (or listens) I have attempted. The irony is there is no "listening pleasure" - just curious how the story will unfold. I do want to know how the book ends - but it's almost a chore to get through it this way. There is no emotion, no voice, no inflection in any of the sentences or wording. It's flat and tired sounding. I have such a battle going on - listen to the rest of the story and "just get through the reading as it is" or forget it and maybe buy a copy of the book one day.............................or maybe just forget the whole thing and buy a totally different audible for my daily commute.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Wells Michigan 09-24-16
    C. Wells Michigan 09-24-16

    ceedub

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Probably better if read, not listened to."

    Unfortunately this was an author- read book. Very monotone , very hard to listen to. Story might have been better if the characters were developed, but only Queenie in the story felt like she had any depth. An interesting premise but an abrupt and tidy ending.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jill Johnston 09-12-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator weak but Story great"
    What did you like best about Temple Secrets? What did you like least?

    The characters and their quirks I really enjoyed. The ending I liked the least. I felt like the author threw the ending together at the last moment. I felt like some of the characters endings were out of character.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Temple Secrets?

    When Iris stops to eat fried chicken! I loved that!


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    It was hard to believe she wrote this book. Voice was drab, often mono tone no expression in her voice. I almost stopped listening after the first chapter but keep going. So glad I did. Great story.


    Do you think Temple Secrets needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    I was disappointed in the ending because the way the characters were rushed to conclusion. No follow up I think.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-11-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    Overall
    "Temple Secrets"

    I enjoyed this book with all of the twists and turns and secrets. Great book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joyce Baldassarre BROOKHAVEN, PA USA 10-07-15
    Joyce Baldassarre BROOKHAVEN, PA USA 10-07-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    165
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rich characters from the deep South!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Temple Secrets to be better than the print version?

    did not read the print version.


    What did you like best about this story?

    the character development.


    What aspect of Susan Gabriel’s performance would you have changed?

    Not sure if I liked the author's voice.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    yes


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. Alexander Brevard NC 09-29-15
    A. Alexander Brevard NC 09-29-15

    A bookworm for over 50 years!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny, rollicking, strong women, ghosts & more"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I love a meaty novel that gives me a great story - especially Southern Gothic! – and that is well written and teaches me a few things.This novel is narrated by four women: Queenie, Violet, Rose and Old Sally. These women, black and white, have a lot of shared family history and to varying extent, genes. Queenie is hilarious. Violet, her niece, has some psychic abilities inherited from Old Sally, her grandmother. Rose is the estranged daughter of Iris Temple, the matriarch of this entrenched, elite Savannah family. I don’t want to try to summarize the plot (hint: it has to do with secrets!). But this wonderful novel will leave you feeling satisfied.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Temple Secrets?

    The ghost scenes were fun and the scene around Iris' deathbed was powerful. I really enjoyed Old Sally, the wise keeper of the Gullah traditions.


    What about Susan Gabriel’s performance did you like?

    I enjoyed the author's rendition. Great voice. She captured the different characters well. Although most authors aren't trained performers, ultimately I think they make the best narrators because they know the story so well.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I tend to be one of those people who laugh silently, but I burst out with a few in this book! Really fun.


    Any additional comments?

    Nice long story. Great for a road trip or commuting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.