The Lord of the Rings

6 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 132,575 ratings

The Silmarillion Publisher's Summary

The complete unabridged audiobook of J.R.R Tolkien's The Silmarillion.

The Silmarillion is an account of the Elder Days, of the First Age of Tolkien’s world. It is the ancient drama to which the characters in The Lord of the Rings look back, and in whose events some of them such as Elrond and Galadriel took part. The tales of The Silmarillion are set in an age when Morgoth, the first Dark Lord, dwelt in Middle-Earth, and the High Elves made war upon him for the recovery of the Silmarils, the jewels containing the pure light of Valinor.

Included in the book are several shorter works. 'The Ainulindale' is a myth of the Creation and in the Valaquenta the nature and powers of each of the gods is described. 'The Akallabeth' recounts the downfall of the great island kingdom of Númenor at the end of the Second Age and 'Of the Rings of Power' tells of the great events at the end of the Third Age, as narrated in The Lord of the Rings.

©2015 The Tolkien Estate and CR Tolkien (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less
Limited-time offer on Audible membership. Save 53% on your first 3 months. Get this deal.
  • Book 0

    Regular price: $18.54

  • Book 0.5

    Regular price: $27.99

  • Regular price: $16.77

  • Book 1

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 2

    • Book Two in the Lord of the Rings Trilogy
    • By: J. R. R. Tolkien
    • Narrated by: Rob Inglis
    • Length: 16 hrs and 40 mins
    • Release date: 10-09-12
    • Language: English
    • 5 out of 5 stars 28,149 ratings

    Regular price: $34.99

  • Book 3

    Regular price: $34.99

Quotes from The Lord of the Rings

Not all those who wander are lost.
J.R.R. Tolkien
The Fellowship of the Ring
Tags: motivational, encouragement, positive

See more quotes