Showing results by narrator "Andrus Nichols"

Categories

All Categories

3 results
Sort by
    • Last Night at the Blue Angel

    • A Novel
    • By: Rebecca Rotert
    • Narrated by: Andrus Nichols, Caitlin Davies
    • Length: 9 hrs and 42 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 13
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 12

    It is the early 1960s, and Chicago is teeming with the tensions of the day - segregation, sexual experimentation, the Cold War and Vietnam - but it is also home to some of the country's most influential jazz. Naomi Hill, a singer at the Blue Angel club, has been poised on the brink of stardom for nearly ten years. Sensual and magnetic, Naomi is a fiercely ambitious yet self-destructive woman whose charms tend to hurt those around her, and no one knows this better than her daughter, Sophia.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Dysfunctional parenting

    • By RueRue on 08-12-14

    Regular price: $28.51

    • The Home Place

    • A Novel
    • By: Carrie La Seur
    • Narrated by: Andrus Nichols
    • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 31
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 24
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 24

    Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family’s life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister’s death.

    Regular price: $28.51

    • A Permanent Member of the Family

    • By: Russell Banks
    • Narrated by: Danny Campbell, Andrus Nichols, Robin Miles
    • Length: 5 hrs and 58 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 15
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 15
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 15

    The New York Times lauds Russell Banks as "the most compassionate fiction writer working today," and hails him as a novelist who delivers, "wrenching, panoramic visions of American moral life." Long celebrated for his unflinching, empathetic works that explore the unspoken but hard realities of contemporary culture, Banks now turns his keen intelligence and emotional acuity on perhaps his most complex subject yet: the shape of family in its many forms.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Not the best collection...

    • By DJ on 01-29-15

    Regular price: $21.67