Showing results by author "Jonathan Dee"

Categories

All Categories

4 results
Sort by
    • The Privileges

    • A Novel
    • By: Jonathan Dee
    • Narrated by: David Aaron Baker
    • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 80
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 56
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 55

    Jonathan Dee is the critically acclaimed author of Palladio. With The Privileges, Dee crafts a “suspenseful, melancholy, and acidly funny tale” ( Booklist). In it, ambitious couple Adam and Cynthia Morey marry straight out of college and have two children. Then Adam, unfulfilled with his job at a private investment firm, becomes involved in insider trading and gains excessive wealth for his family. But as Adam and Cynthia discover, money can’t buy happiness.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • A little boring

    • By Pat on 03-11-13

    Regular price: $27.99

    • The Locals

    • A Novel
    • By: Jonathan Dee
    • Narrated by: George Newbern, Ray Porter
    • Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 81
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 76
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 75

    A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times - fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan. Here are the dramas of 21st-century America - rising inequality, working class decline, a new authoritarianism - played out in the classic setting of some of our greatest novels: the small town. The Locals is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • A LONG Boring Journey That Ultimately Goes Nowhere.

    • By Kimberly on 08-17-17

    Regular price: $31.50

    • Ten North Frederick

    • By: John O'Hara, Jonathan Dee (introduction)
    • Narrated by: Scott Aiello
    • Length: 17 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 32
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 31
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 31

    Joe Chapin led a storybook life. A successful small-town lawyer with a beautiful wife, two over-achieving children, and aspirations to be president, he seemed to have it all. But as his daughter looks back on his life, a different man emerges: one in conflict with his ambitious and shrewish wife, terrified that the misdeeds of his children will dash his political dreams, and in love with a model half his age.

    Regular price: $24.50

    • A Thousand Pardons

    • A Novel
    • By: Jonathan Dee
    • Narrated by: Mark Deakins
    • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 40
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 35
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 35

    Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home - a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben’s recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan.

    Regular price: $24.50