Showing results by author "J. M. McDermott"

Categories

All Categories

3 results
Sort by
    • Never Knew Another

    • Dogsland, Book 1
    • By: J. M. McDermott
    • Narrated by: Eileen Stevens
    • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 7

    Fugitive Rachel Nolander is a newcomer to the city of Dogsland, where the rich throw parties and the poor just do whatever they can to scrape by. Supported by her brother Djoss, she hides out in their squalid apartment, living in fear that someday, someone will find out that she is the child of a demon. Corporal Jona Lord Joni is a demon's child too, but instead of living in fear, he keeps his secret and goes about his life as a cocky, self-assured man of the law. The first story in the Dogsland Trilogy, Never Knew Another is the story of how these two outcasts meet.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Dark...but something's still missing.

    • By Lyette on 02-03-16

    Regular price: $19.95

    • Last Dragon

    • By: J. M. McDermott
    • Narrated by: Cori Samuel
    • Length: 9 hrs and 32 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 14
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 10
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 11

    Zhan has been sent to find her grandfather, a man accused of killing not only Zhan’s family, but every man, woman, and child in their village. What she finds is a shell of a man, and a web of deceit that will test the very foundations of a world she thought she understood. A tale of revenge that grows into something more, Last Dragon is a literary fantasy novel in the tradition of Gene Wolf and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. J. M. McDermott brings the fantasy genre to new literary heights with his first novel.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Beautiful, melancholic literary fantasy

    • By Ryan on 07-17-14

    Regular price: $11.19

    • When We Were Executioners

    • Dogsland, Book 2
    • By: J. M. McDermott
    • Narrated by: Eileen Stevens
    • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 4

    Corporal Jona, the demon-stained Lord of Joni, died in the woods. His lover, the Senta Rachel Nolander, is a demon-tainted fugitive, running from the wolf skin-clad priest and priestess of Erin, who track her through the city based on dreams plucked from Jona’s crying skull, plotting to cleanse the world of the lovers’ demonic taint. Past and present collide as the tale of two ill-fated outcasts unfolds, and the executioners of Erin grow ever closer to their quarry.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • "Hands are what make us human."

    • By Jefferson on 08-20-17

    Regular price: $19.95