Showing results by author "Bruce Holsinger"

Categories

All Categories

4 results
Sort by
    • A Burnable Book

    • A Novel
    • By: Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated by: Simon Vance
    • Length: 13 hrs and 59 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 260
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 236
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 237

    London, 1385: Surrounded by ruthless courtiers - including his powerful uncle, John of Gaunt, and Gaunt's artful mistress, Katherine Swynford - England's young king, Richard II, is in mortal peril. Songs are heard across London - catchy verses said to originate from an ancient book that prophesies the ends of England's kings - and among the book's predictions is Richard's assassination. Only a few powerful men know that the cryptic lines derive from a "burnable book", a seditious work that threatens the stability of the realm.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Couldn't Be Better!

    • By Patrick M. Dennis on 03-14-14

    Regular price: $31.93

    • The Invention of Fire

    • A Novel
    • By: Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated by: Simon Vance
    • Length: 13 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 192
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 177
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 176

    Though he is one of England's most acclaimed intellectuals, John Gower is no stranger to London's wretched slums and dark corners, and he knows how to trade on the secrets of the kingdom's most powerful men. When the bodies of 16 unknown men are found in a privy, the sheriff of London seeks Gower's help. The men's wounds - ragged holes created by an unknown object - are unlike anything the sheriff's men have ever seen. Tossed into the sewer, the bodies were meant to be found.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Wonderful

    • By Lovisa on 05-14-15

    Regular price: $31.93

    • The Invention of Fire

    • By: Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated by: Simon Vance
    • Length: 13 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    The richly atmospheric new historical thriller featuring John Gower, poet and trader of secrets. Set in the turbulent 14th century, this is perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom. London, 1386: Young King Richard II faces the double threat of a French invasion and growing unrest amongst his barons - and now there's evil afoot in the city. Sixteen corpses have been discovered in a sewer, their wounds like none ever seen before. One thing is clear: Whoever threw the bodies into the sewer knew they would be found - and was powerful enough not to care.

    Regular price: $14.97

    • A Burnable Book

    • By: Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated by: Tim Bruce
    • Length: 14 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 2

    London, 1385: A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidante and fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse.The request is simple: Track down a missing book....

    Regular price: $18.70