• With Shield and Ink and Bone

  • By: Casey Bond
  • Narrated by: Mackenzie Greer
  • Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The sharpest blades are forged in fury.

A hard-earned shield.

Days before she is to take her place as a shield maiden, like her mother before her, two deaths alter the course of Liv’s future. One belonged to a witch who called her by name, the other a chieftain from the north. Vengeance for the chieftain’s death comes in a wild fury that burns her village and slaughters her family. Left for dead, Liv pleads to Skuld - norn and weaver of the future - to spare her. A deal is struck that will endow her with the dark magic needed to claim her vengeance. But this power comes at an unfathomable price.... 

Ink made from the ashes of loved ones.

After his home is attacked, Calder races to warn neighboring villages. Little does he know he’s traveling the path of fate that will lead him straight to Liv. Despite being broken, angry, and overwhelmed by power she cannot contain, it’s her willingness to defend others that draws Calder to her. 

Armor forged from the bones of those held dear.

Together, Liv and Calder discover they are two sides of the same sharpened blade. Rising from the heartache and fury in their pasts, they see a future together worth fighting for. With their strengths and hearts combined, can they become a force powerful enough to defeat the fleet of darkness coming for them? Or will the thread of fate that binds them unravel?

With Shield and Ink and Bone is an Upper YA Viking Historical Romance perfect for fans of The First Girl Child by Amy Harmon, Sky in the Deep, and The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young, and Tricia Levenseller's Warrior of the Wild. There are violent scenes. 

©2020 Casey L. Bond (P)2021 Casey L. Bond

Critic Reviews

"An exhilarating Viking-inspired fantasy, With Shield and Ink and Bone by Casey L. Bond keeps your nerves teetering on the blade of an ax!" (Lani Forbes, award-winning author of the Age of the Seventh Sun series)

"With Shield and Ink and Bone is a fast-paced, vivid, and mesmerizing tale that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. If you love Vikings or strong heroines you’ll find lots to enjoy here! Casey L. Bond has woven together unexpected twists, high stakes, romance, and bargains with gods to create this original story for readers." (Victoria McCombs, author of The Storyteller’s Daughter)   

"Casey L. Bond has managed to take a classic genre and make it new and fresh. A page turner that kept me staying up late just to know what was going to happen next. Excellent writing, excellent story. Well done!" (Quinn Loftis, USA Today best-selling author of the Grey Wolves series and The Viking’s Chosen

More from the same

What listeners say about With Shield and Ink and Bone

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

There is Power in blood

What an epic Viking story. It was the perfect combination of Viking & Norse mythology.
Family bonds, Viking battles, terrible tragedy, and a vow to uphold.
What happens when you’re family is lost and the gods refuse to help? Would you reach out to the fates to avenge them?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Norse Gods, Goddesses, Heroes, and Heroines

When I started reading this book, I had no idea what to expect; I didn’t know the context or the setting. But I was drawn in to the story immediately, and the compelling characters lived and breathed and made themselves at home in my mind. Some of the Norse deities were familiar—Odin, Freya, Thor—but this story was my introduction to Skuld, the norn future weaver. Skuld’s magic gives our heroine Liv a chance at vengeance for unbearable losses. There’s a wee bit of romance, too. ;) I recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully Written

This is by far my favorite book written by Casey L Bond! I was in love with every single word and slid into Liv's world. The characters, the world, the relationships, and the emotion where perfectly written.

Loved the narrator!