Your audiobook is waiting…

Where the Truth Lies: A Completely Gripping Crime Thriller

DI Ridpath Crime Thriller, Book 1
By: M J Lee
Narrated by: Dan Bottomley
Series: DI Ridpath Crime Thriller, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The case was closed. Until people started dying....

DI Thomas Ridpath was on the up in the Manchester CID: a promising detective who captured a notorious serial killer. But 10 years later, he’s recovering from a serious illness and on the brink of being forced out of the police. Then people start dying, in an uncanny echo of his first case.

As the murder count grows, old records, and bodies, go missing. Caught in a turf war between the police and the coroner’s office, Ridpath is in a race against time. A race to save his career, his marriage, and innocent lives.

When a detective disappears, everything is on the line. Can Ridpath solve the case and save his colleague?

A nail-biting crime thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James, and D. S. Butler.

©2018 MJ Lee (P)2019 MJ Lee

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TDJO
  • TDJO
  • 07-23-19

Don’t believe those 5star reviews

This is thin stuff at every level. The miscarriage of justice plot line is a cliché now and it’s obviously setting up the audible version of “Quincy MD” or even the audiobook of “Silent witness”. But it’s a rather feeble attempt as the research seems to be absent on the majority of issues. That makes me doubt the veracity of things where I have no knowledge at all. So without any significant story spoilers we all know that when you say over, you wait for a response rather than saying more and over again. Police procedure from crappy fly on the wall tv shows makes it very obvious when someone is making stuff up. I think the thing that irritates me unreasonably is the idea that someone signed off for full return to duty with many interviews with HR should be subject to 1) sideways posting/secondment, 2) threats of killing the protagonist’s career should not feel empowered to force fair treatment. The cancer stuff is similarly weak. First it’s “the Christie” hospital. Next anyone in remission is not still on an experimental drug which must be something novel as it’s an experimental treatment. All totally lacking in any feeling that this should be convincing. Like so many books and audiobooks, this would benefit from the input of a good editor to press for changes and pruning of the padding (unlikely for audible which seems to justify prices by length).
The author also needs to read up about formalin infusion. There’s a literature out there so why make stuff up. Do you not know the difference between volume and mass.
The performance is not good as the reader hasn’t taken the trouble to look up pronunciation of medical terms or many polysyllabic words. The one that I think is inexcusable is “detritus” which to me is in such common usage that scrambling it is just slack. Readers should do a bit of work for their fee!
So the author should sharpen up their act and get stuff right rather than this complacent hokum. For a long journey I might try one more but if it’s similarly lazy and slack that will be the last.
In summary not Simon Kernack bad but weak and in need of serious effort if the series isn’t to scrape the audible barrel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for john
  • john
  • 06-21-19

Excellent

Really enjoyed this a pleasure to read,very relatable fast paced and engaging,looking forward to next installment,

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Marea
  • Linda Marea
  • 07-14-19

Thrilling but a little clunky

It’s a great story but it feels like a number of scenes, characters and setups were borrowed from half a dozen other books and films. It’s a bit predictable however the actual crimes are uncomfortably gruesomely unique. Would I read subsequent books in this series? Not sure. The clunkiness I experienced was the predictable characters up against a breed of truly evil psychopath. Then there’s the overuse of phrases you’d expect to hear from your old grandad. For me it just didn’t feel polished. Loved the narration of Dan Bottomley.