Sample
  • Total Blackout

  • A Jack Tate SAS Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Alex Shaw
  • Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
  • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (48 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Total Blackout  By  cover art

Total Blackout

By: Alex Shaw
Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $26.13

Buy for $26.13

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 WILBUR SMITH ADVENTURE WRITING PRIZE

The start of a gripping new crime thriller series introducing ex-SAS trooper Jack Tate!

Perfect for fans of James Deegan, Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney.

Don’t miss the explosive start to the Jack Tate series.

When lights go out....

British M16 Agent and former SAS trooper Jack Tate is trying to escape his past when he witnesses a terrorist attack of unthinkable scale. An electro-magnetic pulse knocks out the US power grid, killing anything with a computer processor, throwing the whole country into darkness.

You have to escape the past.

Under the cover of the blackout, a clandestine operation aims to assassinate prominent public figures on US soil. Looting and violence spreads across the country. And Jack Tate’s past comes back to haunt him. As the only intelligence operative on the ground, he is hurled into a mission that will put him - and the people he loves - in immediate danger.

You have to defeat the enemy.

With the fate of the United States on the line, only he can prevent the horror of a new world war.

This is an explosive action thriller you won’t be able to pause.

©2020 Alex Shaw (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Looking for breakneck pace and a relentless hero? Alex Shaw has you covered." (James Swallow)

"Alex Shaw is one of the best thriller writers around! Fast paced, Total Blackout gripped from page one and didn’t let go...as fast as a Hollywood movie." (Stephen Leather)

What listeners say about Total Blackout

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

just ok

I finished it because I paid for it. if it was a free book I would have stopped early on.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but not great narration..

Jack and his brother Hunter were good characters. When the Russians and the Chinese got together an EMP surrounded the United States and it was mostly up to Jack to find out what had happened and who did it. And there was a lot of killing going on

There was no romance really and no swearing to speak of.

As for the narration: Leighton Pugh is really not very good. The women sounded like women but so did some of the men. THAT was terrible. And when he read his emotions were decent but not when someone spoke. His expressions were awful at times. Unfortunately, I want to listen to the next book and will have to suffer with his reading AGAIN, unless he got better.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Female voices are hard

A lot of different accents and voices were happening in this story. Russian seemed plausible. The American ones were ok. But the female characters all sounded so whiny! Almost unbearable to listen to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!