Your audiobook is waiting…

To the Eastern Seas

Thomas Kydd 22
Narrated by: Christian Rodska
Series: Thomas Kydd, Book 22
Length: 10 hrs

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: To the Eastern Seas is the 22nd novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series. With Bonaparte held to a stalemate in Europe, the race to empire is now resumed. Britain's ambitions turn to the Spice Islands, the Dutch East Indies, where Admiral Pellew has been sent to confront the enemy's vastly rich holdings in these tropical islands. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd joins reinforcements to snatch these for the British Crown.

The two colonial masters of India and the East Indies face each other in mortal striving for the region - there can be only one victor to hold all the spoils. The colonial genius, Stamford Raffles, believes Britain should strike at the very centre of Dutch spice production, the Moluccas, rather than the fortresses one by one but is fiercely opposed. Kydd, allying himself to this cause, conspires to lead a tiny force to a triumphant conclusion - however the Dutch, stung by this loss, claim vengeance from the French. A battle for Java and an empire in the East stretches Kydd and Tyger's company to their very limits.

©2019 Julian Stockwin (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Julian Stockwin's Kydd series: "Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line." (Daily Express)

"This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail." (Nautical Magazine)

"Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book." (Historical Naval Society)

What members say