adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"A romantic comedy that's fun and flirty, young and fresh." (Popsugar) (22 of the Best Books This Winter Has to Offer)

One of Oprah Magazine's 22 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020

Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch...she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials. 

Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning - absolutely off-limits - ex-fiancée. And she loathes him. If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own. 

Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again....

©2020 Mia Sosa (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about The Worst Best Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    342
  • 4 Stars
    172
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    272
  • 4 Stars
    156
  • 3 Stars
    72
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    15
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    303
  • 4 Stars
    154
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t finish

I’m going to buy the book and read it. I liked the story okay but got distracted every time the male narrator read a woman’s lines. He has a very attractive voice but used a grating falsetto for every woman’s voice. Even Lina’s voice was like a caricature. I couldn’t finish it.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Somewhat disappointed

I have rarely completed one of these reviews but I did feel compelled to do so this time. I think my greatest disappointment is due to having read multiple reviews regarding this book as one of the best Rom-Coms of 2020, so perhaps I expected too much. The story line isn’t bad, but definitely not the best I have read. However, I think that I was just disappointed by the almost “porn-like” descriptions of the sex scenes in the book. They served no literary value within the story itself. The performances were actually ok.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What was I listening to?

Though the beginning was promising, I felt the direction of both characters was quite juvenile with no real plot development. It was quite painful to listen to. The story went from something interesting, to an x-rated fan fiction, to a low budget Hallmark movie. Nope, not Lifetime - Hallmark. Extremely disappointed.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved

I loved this series the only thing I didn’t like was how the male reader did his voice for when a woman was speaking other than that it was great

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Worst Best Man Turns to Be the Right Man

Left at the Altair and being the badass woman she is, Carolina Santos, Wedding Planner continued with her life like nothing happened. However, when an opportunity for her to expand her Wedding Services into a Hotel project, she has to face her worst nightmare, Meeting her former fiancée and the brother who convinced him not to marry her. Through a lying plan not to relate her acquaintance to the jackass brothers, Carolina fooled the CEO of the project and somehow she ended teaming up with the brother of his former fiancée, Max. In a journey of payback and discovery, Carolina met a man she was unaware and Max at each circumstance met a woman with feelings and vulnerability. At the end, Love was not far to enter the mist of mysteries between the two. Though he has always been in competition with his brother, Max managed to pass it and realize he is the right and only choice of Carolina.

From the beginning to the end, The author presents us with two characters who have been shaped with events connecting their past and their present. With a Portuguese origin to the Big Apple in Manhattan City, the story covers challenges, daily demands, and expectations of real professionals. Accidents and Unexpecting predictions are part of Life. Family as well as friends bring their part in the equation. This book brings touch to all these part of life and more.

The story is sound and concrete. The voice of the actors are efficient and the plot remains on track. Suspense Drama, Excitement, and laughs connect us to the author desire to share this particular story with us. We live the story through the characters and their successive alteration give him the dose of intrigues.

Though I am relief that the book did not focus on the drama the different origin can cause in a relationship as much as the path the two personas chose, not base on their parents' choice. The freedom of choice and the pride of knowing your own desire is respected is a good note in this book.

I will recommend this book if you feel you need a dose of knowing what a woman can do to protect herself and know when to let go. Hearing a story that presents the strength of a woman and the union of a great family, the desire to know that men can be as vulnerable as women do, and sometimes they can be more concerning about a subject than women. I guarantee you will find all these and more.

Enjoy with open heart and open mind.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrating

The male narrator was not good at all. I can’t even finish this audio book because his voice is so distracting ESPECIALLY when he does a female’s voice. This story is so good, but I’ll buy the kindle edition because I can’t listen to the guy. Female narrator is amazing.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Male narrator is awful

I really wanted to love this. I don't let reviews sway me when it comes to books, however, I wish I had listened to them this time. When the male narrator did a female voice, it was awful. Horribly distracting. I couldn't finish the book and got my credit back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worst Best Man

Loved it but didn't like the male narrator's voice for women, men other than the main male character and black people.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Left me wanting more

The story was great but I want to know what happens with them......feel like I was left hanging.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT

I love love loved Rebecca’s narration! Especially when she spoke Spanish. Wayne was VERY good with the male voices.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca
  • Rebecca
  • 02-07-21

Really good except...

The male narrator had the weirdest voices for every character except Max. I kind of got used to them, but I can see them being super grating on someone a little more sensitive.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-13-21

I loved it!!

The story was so beautiful and yet realistic. Both narrators did a wonderful job. Well done!! Money well spent

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-25-21

pretty terrible rom com

previous reviews were right, the male narrator was terrible and the story was clichéd and cheesy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shewana
  • Shewana
  • 09-18-20

loved it

Genuinely surprised at how much I loved this book. Wasn't expecting much, so what I got was brilliant. Both narrators built their characters really well. Fabulous book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debs
  • Debs
  • 03-31-20

Great book! Loved the style, modern & well written

Both narrators were good, although it did takeme a while to get used to Max's voice but that might be because I'm British, I dont know.
Great story with a afro latina protagonist, who goes against the negative stereotypes out there.
I think I will listen to more from this author, thank you!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-24-20

A fresh and fun rom-com with all the steam!

The book switches between Lina and Max and it’s done so seamlessly. The voice actors were amazing as was the writing, obviously! An Afro-Latinx MC finally! I loved the dynamic between the main couple, learning about the beautiful culture and seeing the hilarious family dynamics and friendships was so entertaining. I know I’ll be back for a re-read for sure!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra C
  • Sandra C
  • 08-24-20

Meh

Rebecca Mozo is a great narrator, and so is Wayne Mitchell.... when he uses his own voice. His representation of female characters is weird and a bit like a Sesame Street muppet with hay fever. The voice he uses for Dean, his best friend, sounds a bit like a homeless muppet. I was a bit put off by the overexaggerated Latina accent he used for Natalia, especially because the same affectation was not used by the female narrator.
The story itself was a bit "meh". I didn't hate it, but I wouldn't drag myself through it again. It followed the tried and true template of enemies-to-lovers but it wasn't a home run for me.

3 people found this helpful