The Worst Best Man

A Novel
By: Mia Sosa
Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
Categories: Romance, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (93 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"A romantic comedy that's fun and flirty, young and fresh." (Popsugar) (22 of the Best Books This Winter Has to Offer)

One of Oprah Magazine's 22 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020

Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch...she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials. 

Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning - absolutely off-limits - ex-fiancée. And she loathes him. If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own. 

Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again....

©2020 Mia Sosa (P)2020 HarperAudio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t finish

I’m going to buy the book and read it. I liked the story okay but got distracted every time the male narrator read a woman’s lines. He has a very attractive voice but used a grating falsetto for every woman’s voice. Even Lina’s voice was like a caricature. I couldn’t finish it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved

I loved this series the only thing I didn’t like was how the male reader did his voice for when a woman was speaking other than that it was great

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What was I listening to?

Though the beginning was promising, I felt the direction of both characters was quite juvenile with no real plot development. It was quite painful to listen to. The story went from something interesting, to an x-rated fan fiction, to a low budget Hallmark movie. Nope, not Lifetime - Hallmark. Extremely disappointed.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Swear words was a constant!

The language was horrible. Don’t understand why the author has to swear words constantly. Probably would have been ok. But no...

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

I saw this book on a couple top romance lists- including Oprah’s. Needless to say I expected it to be good. I’m sure may would enjoy it but I thought the main story dragged and was pretty tedious. I didn’t love the main characters either.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprised

I was really hesitant to listen to this book. I stumbled upon it after I went down a rabbit hole in search for a book and I am glad I did. Overall the story was original, funny, exciting. The male voice lol was great except when he switched to the female voice, haha funniest thing ever, its only a few parts so it's easy to move past. I loved it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debs
  • Debs
  • 03-31-20

Great book! Loved the style, modern & well written

Both narrators were good, although it did takeme a while to get used to Max's voice but that might be because I'm British, I dont know.
Great story with a afro latina protagonist, who goes against the negative stereotypes out there.
I think I will listen to more from this author, thank you!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-24-20

A fresh and fun rom-com with all the steam!

The book switches between Lina and Max and it’s done so seamlessly. The voice actors were amazing as was the writing, obviously! An Afro-Latinx MC finally! I loved the dynamic between the main couple, learning about the beautiful culture and seeing the hilarious family dynamics and friendships was so entertaining. I know I’ll be back for a re-read for sure!