Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Wife in the Attic  By  cover art

The Wife in the Attic

By: Rose Lerner
Narrated by: Elsa Lepecki Bean
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $39.95

Buy for $39.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

This daring Gothic thriller reinvents one of literature’s most twisted love triangles. Tensely romantic and deliciously suspenseful, The Wife in the Attic is perfect for fans of Jane Eyre, Rebecca, and Portrait of a Lady on Fire.

Goldengrove’s towers and twisted chimneys rose at the very edge of the peaceful Weald, a stone’s throw from the poisonous marshes and merciless waters of Rye Bay. Young Tabby Palethorp had been running wild there, ever since her mother grew too ill to leave her room.

I was the perfect choice to give Tabby a good English education: thoroughly respectable and far too plain to tempt her lonely father, Sir Kit, to indiscretion.

I knew better than to trust my new employer with the truth about my past. But knowing better couldn’t stop me from yearning for impossible things: to be Tabby’s mother, Sir Kit’s companion, Goldengrove’s new mistress.

All that belonged to poor Lady Palethorp. Most of all, I burned to finally catch a glimpse of her.

Surely she could tell me who cut the strings on my guitar, why all the doors inside the house were locked after dark, and whose footsteps I heard in the night....

With devious sophistication, Rose Lerner weaves a haunting tale full of secrets and sharp edges. Will the governess’ loyalties ultimately lie with the master of the house - or with the wife in the attic?

©2020 Susan Roth (P)2021 Audible Originals, LLC.
  • Original Recording Audiobook
  • Categories: LGBTQ+

"It gave me nightmares…a furious, tender, aching, incisive masterpiece of a book."

Olivia Waite, author of The Lady's Guide to Celestial Mechanics
.

About the Creator

Rose Lerner discovered historical romance when she was 12 and took her first stab at writing one a few years later. Her prose has improved since then, but her fascination with all things Regency hasn’t changed. When she's not writing and researching, you can find her reading, watching, cooking, doodling, rambling, and daydreaming in Philadelphia. Her critically acclaimed Lively St. Lemeston series has been featured in NPR’s Book Concierge and Publishers Weekly’s annual Best Books list.
Photo Credit: Joshua Huston

About the Performer

Elsa Lepecki Bean is a Brazilian/American actor based in NYC. She received her BFA in Theatre from New York University with a double major in Drama and Performance Studies. She has a long-standing love of audiobooks and as a child could only fall asleep by listening to Sir Ian McKellen narrate The Odyssey. Her work on stage has been recognized both nationally and internationally, and she holds the Performance Studies Emerging Scholar Award from Tisch School of the Arts.
Photo Credit: Rashidah De Vore

Featured Article: What Is Gothic Fiction? A Genre Explainer


Some of the most popular and enduring novels and short stories are works of Gothic fiction, including Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, and The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. These creepy, creaky literary classics have the power to transport listeners to foggy moors and crumbling estates, where wolves howl in the night and shadows lurk in the hallways. But Gothic fiction is more than just cobwebs and candelabras.

Enjoy the trailer for The Wife in the Attic!

0:00